Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Dog/Cat travel requirements summary
Interstate transport of dogs
Rabies vaccination is required for dogs by all states.


Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (abbreviated CVI, sometimes incorrectly called a ´health certificate´) is required by all states, except California and Texas. Louisiana, Montana requires CVI only if there is a change in owner. North Dakota no CVI required when in state for less then 7 days.

Interstate transport of cats
Rabies vaccination is required for cats by all states, except Arizona, California, Illinois, Iowa, and Oklahoma.

Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (abbreviated CVI, sometimes incorrectly called a ´health certificate´) is required for cats by all states, except California, Illinois, Texas, and Vermont.  Montana requires a CVI only when there is a change in ownership.  North Dakota no CVI is required when in state for less then 7 days

Oregon entry requirements
Family Pets- (cats and dogs) When entering Oregon are required to have the following:

  • Certificate of Veterinary Inspection
  • animals four months and older rabies vaccination must be current. Rabies vaccination is required according to manufacturer´s instructions (1 or 3 years).
  • No permit number is required for entry within the United States

State summary requirements
Summary of interstate travel requirements for dogs & cats   This information is intended only as a guide. Regulations do change. We strongly recommend you call the State of Destination for current information. Annual rabies vaccination is required by many states, regardless of vaccine used.
Age for initial vaccination
 
The Compendium of Animal Rabies Control recommends initial rabies vaccination for dogs and cats at three months of age and revaccination ["booster"] one year later. Twelve weeks counts as three months. Please keep this in mind when reviewing vaccination records for dogs and cats traveling interstate.
In the table which follows, the columns labeled "1st R V @" provide the age at which initial rabies vaccination is required by each state, most often 3 months (or 12 weeks).
Revaccination ("booster") requirements In the table which follows, the columns labeled "WITHIN" provide vaccination frequency:
  • Annual means rabies vaccination is required within previous 12 months regardless of vaccine used
  • M R means rabies vaccination is required according to manufacturer´s instructions (1 or 3 years).
States with names in bold require annual vaccination, regardless of vaccine used. Check listing carefully.
R V =
rabies vaccination
DOGS
R V is required by all states.
CATS
R V is required by most states.
STATE 1st R V @ WITHIN 1st R V @ WITHIN
Alabama
3m
Annual
3 m
Annual
Alaska
3m
M R
3 m
M R
Arizona
3m
M R
3 m
M R
Arkansas
3m
Annual
3 m
Annual
California
4m
M R
Recommended, not required
Colorado
3m
Annual
3 m
Annual
Connecticut
3m
M R
3 m
M R
Delaware
6m
M R
6 m
M R
Florida
4m
M R
4 m
M R
Georgia
3m
M R
3 m
M R
Hawaii
Hawaii has strict requirements for dogs and cats. Call 808-483-7151.
Idaho
3m
M R
3 m
M R
Illinois
4m
M R
Recommended, not required
Indiana
90 days
MR
90 days
MR
Iowa
4m
M R
Recommended, not required
Kansas
4m
M R
3 m
M R
Kentucky
4m
M R
4 m
M R
Louisiana
3m
required 2 wk before entry
3 m
required 2 wk before entry
Maine
3m
M R - except 
3 year vaccine valid only 2 years in dogs
3 m
M R
3 year vaccine valid 3 years in cats
Maryland
4m
M R
4 m
M R
Massachusetts
3m
Annual
3 m
Annual
Michigan
3m
M R
3 m
 Recommended, not required
Minnesota
3m
M R
3 m
M R
Mississippi
3m
within 6 months prior to entry
3 m
within 6 months prior to entry
Missouri
4m
M R
4 m
M R
Montana3m
M R
3 m
M R
Nebraska
3m
M R
3 m
M R
Nevada
3m
M R
3 m
M R
New Hampshire
3m
M R
3 m
M R
New Jersey
4m
M R
Recommended, not required
New Mexico
3m
Annual
3 m
Annual
New York
3m
M R
3 m
M R
North Carolina
3m
Annual
3 m
Annual
North Dakota
3m
M R
3 m
M R
Ohio
3m
M R
3 m
M R
Oklahoma
4m
Annual
Recommended, not required
Oregon
4m
M R
4 m
M R
Pennsylvania
3m
M R
3 m
M R
Rhode Island
3m
Must be given more than 30 days & less than 12 months prior to entry.
3 m
Must be given more than 30 days & less than 12 months prior to entry.
South Carolina
4m
MR
4 m
MR
South Dakota
3m
Annual
3 m
Annual
Tennessee
3m
Annual
6 m
Annual
Texas   
4m
M R
4 m
M R
Utah
4m
Annual
4 m
Annual
Vermont
3m
Must use 3 year vaccine
3 m
Must use 3 year vaccine
Virginia
4m
M R, and examined within 10 days before entry & cert of rabies
4 m
M R, and examined within 10 days prior to entry & cert of rabies
Washington
3m
M R
3 m
M R
West Virginia
6m
Annual
6 m
Annual
Wisconsin
5m
M R
5 m
M R
Wyoming
3m
M R
3 m
M R


Traveling with pets outside US
Traveling with pets outside the US
Each country has its own health requirements for different kinds of animals. Call the USDA Veterinary Services Office (in Oregon 503-399-5871) for requirements for taking pets to foreign countries, including Canada and Mexico.
 
Check also with the Centers for Disease Control for disease concerns for animals returning to the US.