

Directors Office 635 Capitol St, NE, Salem, OR 97301-2532 503.986.4550 | Oregon.gov/ODA

Public Records Request Information

ODA will make public records available at cost, upon request, except those materials exempt from disclosure. The public records administrative rule, OAR 603-001-0125 through 0170, outlines our public records request process and allows us to recover costs incurred when responding to requests.

Requests should include contact information for the person making the request, including:

- name
- address
- e-mail address
- telephone number
- fax number (if applicable)

Requests should identify as specifically as possible the:

- type of record(s) requested
- subject matter
- approximate date(s)
- names of businesses and/or people involved

Request copies of a public record in writing, by e-mail, fax, or postal mail. An online form is also available at https://oda.direct/PublicRecordsRequest

Email:info@oda.oregon.govFax:(503) 986-4750Postal mail:Oregon Department of Agriculture
Directors' Office
635 Capitol St. NE
Salem, OR 97301-2532

Certain types of public records are exempt by law from being released and usually involve confidential information. These exemptions are listed under ORS 192.501.

Fees

If a request for records can be fulfilled using less than 30 minutes of staff time, there will be no charge for the service.

Reimbursable staff time includes time spent locating records, reviewing records to delete exempt material, supervising the inspection of records, copying records, certifying records, and mailing records. Please note that we may charge for the cost of searching for records, regardless of whether or not we are able to locate the requested records. If reimbursable staff time is estimated to be greater than 30 minutes, fees may be applied according to Oregon Administrative Rule 603-001-0145.

Charges are as follows:

- Records search by clerical staff @ \$20.00 per hour
- Records search by managerial staff @ \$32.00 per hour
- Records search by professional staff @ \$60.00 per hour
- Records search by legal staff @ \$75.00 per hour
- Copies @ current state printing & distribution price list
- Media @ statewide price agreement with Office Max
- Postage @ current postal rates

Please note: Fees will be charged for staff time required to redact exempt information from requested public records prior to release.



Public Records Request Information

When we receive your written request, we will respond with an estimate of expected charges. Our response will contain an acknowledgment of the request, an initial indication about whether the records may be disclosed, an estimate of the cost of meeting the request, and the anticipated date when the information will be provided (if the information will not be provided within 15 days).

Payment may be made:

- in person (check, money order, cash, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express)
- by way of the mail (check, money order, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express)
- by fax (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express)

We will provide the requested documents after payment is received.

Ordinarily there will be no charge for the following requests:

- When only one single copy of a public record is requested and the estimated staff time required is less than 30 minutes
- When material requested is distributed as part of a news release or public notice
- When requested material is distributed through mass mailing and readily available

Waivers

ODA will consider all fee waiver requests. To request a fee waiver, it is recommended that you complete and submit the Public Record Fee Waiver and Reduction Request form, even if you have stated a fee waiver or reduction request in your original public records request.

The completed waiver request form will help describe your ability to disseminate information and specifically identify the benefit to the public. This allows ODA to make a better determination in granting a fee wavier or reduction.

Send your completed Public Record Fee Waiver and Reduction Request form to:

Email:info@oda.oregon.govFax:(503) 986-4750Postal mail:Oregon Department of Agriculture
Directors' Office
635 Capitol St. NE
Salem, OR 97301-2532

Find the Public Record Fee Waiver and Reduction Request form online at: https://oda.direct/PRFeeChangeRequest or call ODA at 503-986-4550.