Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
County advisory group for forestry to meet July 9
Rod Nichols, (503) 945-7425,
The Forest Trust Land Advisory Committee (FTLAC) will hold its next meeting on Friday, July 9, in Salem. The FTLAC will receive an update from State Forester Marvin Brown on the budget coalition, a broadly based panel tasked with formulating ideas to achieve a sustainable funding base for the Oregon Department of Forestry (ODF).
Other agenda items to be taken up at the meeting include:
  • Ongoing discussion of proposed changes to the Greatest Permanent Value rule, the standard that is used to manage state forests for broad benefits.
  • Update on legislative initiatives and carbon markets
  • Update on the revision process for state forest implementation plans
The meeting will be held at the Oregon Department of Forestry (ODF) operations building (D), 2600 State St., in the Santiam Room (101) from 9:30 a.m. to noon.  FTLAC meetings are open to the public, and an opportunity for public comment will be provided at 10 a.m.
The FTLAC is a legally mandated committee of county commissioners representing counties that in the past deeded lands to the state. The committee advises the governing Board of Forestry (BOF) on matters where counties may have a responsibility related to forestland managed by ODF. Planning and policy decisions made by the BOF and ODF can affect the revenue levels received by the counties with forest trust lands managed by ODF.
Counties depend on revenue generated from management activities on these lands. The revenue is used primarily for local schools, and also helps fund county government and local taxing districts.
FTLAC is made up of seven members that represent the 15 counties that have state forest land within their county boundaries.  Counties with these state forest lands include Benton, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Douglas, Josephine, Klamath, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Polk, Tillamook and Washington.