Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
County advisory group for forestry to meet August 27
Contact: Rod Nichols
Phone: 503-945-7425
A group of commissioners from counties that in the past deeded forestland to the state for management will meet on Friday, Aug. 27, in Salem.
The Forest Trust Land Advisory Committee’s (FTLAC) agenda includes: Discussion of high-conservation areas. An update on the work of a broad-based coalition that is formulating ideas for a sustainable funding base for the Oregon Department of Forestry (ODF).
Additional agenda topics include:

• Update on Swiss Needle cast, a tree disease seen on state-owned forestlands very near the coast.
• State forest timber-sale revenue forecast.
• Ongoing discussion of proposed changes to the Greatest Permanent Value rule, the standard that is used to manage state forests for broad benefits.
• Update on legislative initiatives.
• Overview of topics for the Sept. 8, 2010 Oregon Board of Forestry meeting relating to the forest management planning rule and land exchanges.

The meeting will be held from 10:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. in the Santiam Room of the Department of Forestry’s operations building, 2600 State St. FTLAC meetings are open to the public, and an opportunity for public comment will be provided at 11 a.m.
The FTLAC is a legally mandated committee of county commissioners representing counties that deeded lands to the state. The committee advises the Board of Forestry on matters where counties may have a responsibility related to forestland managed by ODF. Planning and policy decisions made by the board and department can affect revenues received by the counties with forest trust lands managed by ODF, which are located in the Tillamook State Forest and elsewhere.
Counties depend on revenue generated from management activities on these lands. The revenue is used primarily for local schools, and also helps fund county government and local taxing districts.
FTLAC is made up of seven members that represent the 15 counties that have state forest land within their county boundaries.  The 15 trust counties are Benton, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Douglas, Josephine, Klamath, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Polk, Tillamook and Washington.

The schedule of upcoming meetings will be available in the near future.