Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
Forestry Advisory Group Meets October 29 in Forest Grove
For immediate release – October 25, 2010
Kevin Weeks, 503-945-7427
An advisory group to the Oregon Department of Forestry (ODF) regarding state-managed forestland in northwest Oregon will meet on Friday, October 29th in Forest Grove to discuss annual operations plans for ODF districts and discuss regional forest management plans.
The State Forests Advisory Committee will meet at the Forest Grove Community Auditorium, 1915 Main Street from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Members of the public are invited to attend and participate in the meeting.
The full agenda for the meeting is available on the ODF web site.
The meeting location is accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for an interpreter for the hearing impaired or other accommodations for persons with disabilities should be made at least 48 hours prior to the meeting. Questions about accessibility or special accommodations for the meeting can be directed to the Oregon Department of Forestry at 503-945-7427.
The committee was formed to provide a forum to discuss issues, opportunities and concerns, and offer advice and guidance to ODF on the implementation of the Northwest Oregon State Forests Management Plan approved in 2001. The plan provides guidance for managing 616,000 acres within the Tillamook, Clatsop and Santiam State Forests, and scattered state-owned forest tracts in Benton, Polk, Lincoln and Lane counties. The plan for northwest state forests calls for ODF to actively manage the state forestlands for economic, environmental and social resource benefits. The plan strives to provide a balanced approach to generate revenue while providing environmental and social values. Two-thirds of the revenue generated goes to the counties that deeded these lands to the state. ODF retains one-third of revenues to manage the forests and protect them from fire.
The Oregon Department of Forestry provides management of 848,000 acres of forestland within Oregon, concentrated in six large State Forests and numerous small forest tracts in 15 Oregon counties.