Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
Committee for Family Forestlands meets September 27, welcomes forest industry member
September 19, 2011
Kevin Weeks, ODF Public Affairs, (503) 945-7427
The Committee for Family Forestlands is scheduled to meet at 9:00 a.m. on Tuesday September 27, 2011 at the Oregon Department of Forestry (ODF) headquarters in Salem, 2600 State Street – Tillamook meeting room in ODF’s administration building. The Committee provides information to the Oregon Board of Forestry and the State Forester on ways to improve the vitality of Oregon’s family forestlands.
The agenda for the meeting is under development.
Scott Gray has been named to serve as a forest industry representative to the Committee. The Oregon Board of Forestry approved Gray’s nomination to the advisory group at the Board’s September 7 meeting in Lakeview.
Gray serves as Timberlands Manager for Stimson Lumber Company, overseeing all aspects of forest management and timber production on Stimson’s approximately 175,000 acres in Northwest Oregon.  Stimson timberlands are certified sustainable under the Sustainable Forestry Initiative (SFI) program and Gray is the current chair of the Oregon SFI Implementation Committee. 
Gray graduated from Humboldt State University in northern California with a B.S. in Forestry and a Masters degree in Business Administration.  He began his forestry career working for consulting firms in California and later for Stimson in both California and Oregon, the state he has resided in for ten years.
Members of the public are invited to attend and participate in the September 27 meeting. The meeting location is accessible to persons with disabilities. Requests for an interpreter for the hearing impaired or other accommodations for persons with disabilities should be made at least 48 hours prior to the meeting. Questions about accessibility or special accommodations for the meeting can be directed to the Oregon Department of Forestry at 503-945-7502.
Committee members serve three-year appointments. There are seven voting members, including four family forestland owners, one forest industry representative, one environmental community representative and one citizen-at-large.  The Committee has six ex-officio members representing Oregon State University, the State Forester, Oregon Forest Resources Institute, public land managers, forestry interest or consulting groups, and Oregon Small Woodlands Association.