IT COSTSTO DRIVE
DISTRACTED IN OREGON

Below we list the monetary costs of driving
distracted in Oregon — but when you aren’t paying
attention to driving, the costs could be even higher:
you could kill yourself or someone else... is it worth
a life for a text or call?

Oregon’s Updated Law

In Oregon, it is illegal to drive while holding or
using a mobile electronic device (e.g. cell phone,
tablet, GPS, laptop). This law does not apply to
the following:

* Using hands-free or built-in devices, if 18
years of age or older.

* Use of a single touch or swipe to activate
or deactivate the device or a function of the
device.

* Making a call to provide or summon medical
help and no one else is available.

*  When parked safely, i.e., stopped at the side
of the road or in a designated parking spot.

REMINDER: It is NOT legal to use the device when
stopped at a stop light, stop sign, in traffic, etc.

The fines

= First offense, not contributing to a crash:
Class B violation.
°  Fine up to $1,000.

» Second offense — or first offense — if it
contributed to a crash: Class A violation.
°  Fine up to $2,000.

+ Third offense in ten years: Class B
misdemeanor.
°  Fine up to $2,500.
o Could be six months in jail.



Course for first-time offenders

* For a first offense that does not contribute
to a crash, the court may offer to suspend
the fine if the driver completes and pays for
an approved Distracted Driving Avoidance
course and shows proof to the court within
four months.

«  Court may schedule a hearing to determine
if person successfully completed the course.
If the driver successfully completes the
course, the court must enter a sentence of
“discharge.” Only the fine is suspended —
the violation will still be recorded on the
driver’s driving record.

Eyes on the road.

Not on your phone.
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