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Wwelcome 
	 to the world of teen driving

As parents, we know you want to keep your children safe. Teens are much more 
at-risk than the rest of the population due to their inexperience in handling 
driving situations. The State of Oregon passed Graduated Driver Licensing laws 
in 2000 to keep teens safe and we know it’s working - the number of 16 year old 
drivers involved in fatal or injury crashes has decreased over 50%.

One of the best ways to ensure your teen is safe is to make sure they have 
had adequate instruction. Every hour of instruction keeps your child that 
much more safe on the road, especially as they pass through the later stages of 
graduated licensing when you’re not around. 

Research indicates that parents report more driving practice time than their 
teen. We know that parents mean well, but unless you are keeping track of 
practice time, your teen may not be completing all the hours they should. 
It might be tempting to not keep a log or report more driving practice than 
what you actually did, but don’t give in, even if your teen convinces you that 
they are ready to take their test. It’s extremely important to keep track of the 
hours because the more practice you give your teen, the safer they are. 

Did you know…?

It will take more than 15 minutes of practice time every day for 6 months to 
complete 50 hours of practice driving. 

It will take more than 30 minutes of practice time every day for 6 months to 
complete 100 hours of practice driving.

Use the driving log in the center of this book to help you track your teen’s 
practice driving time together and progress toward becoming a safe driver!

Teens are sometimes so focused on getting their license, they don’t have 
the restrictions fully in mind. Restrictions include not having friends in the 
car, no driving between midnight and 5 a.m. and no texting or talking on a 
cell phone while driving. To help you and your teen know the details, and 
keep the restrictions handy, we’ve included a cut-out in the back of this 
manual that you can put on the refrigerator so you both have them.
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It’s important for teens to know what will happen if they break the 
Graduated Licensing rules. With that in mind, we created another cut-out 

in the back of this manual that outlines some of the major things that can 
happen and what those things will do to their privileges to drive. As you 
already know, one of the best ways to teach teens responsibility is to outline 
the rules and the consequences if they break them. The cut-outs may help to 
reinforce what’s expected and the consequences for your teen.

We encourage you to consider formal driver education. A study completed 
in Oregon in January 2005 reviewed teen driving records, including 16, 17, 
18, and 19-year old drivers. It compared teens who took a formal driver 
education course to those who chose 100 hours of driving practice with their 
parents. For teens who took an approved driver education course:

•	 The crash rate was 11-21% LOWER
•	 The traffic conviction rate was 39-57% LOWER
•	 The driver license suspension rate was 51-53% LOWER

Please keep in mind, the best teacher is a good role model. Responsible 
driving is one of the best things you can do to keep your teen safe. We hope 
you and your teen will find this guide valuable in your learning experience. 

Organ, Eye, and Tissue Donation
It is important for you to know that at 15 years of age, your teen can request 
DMV to place a notation on their permit or license if they wish to be an 
anatomical donor. We encourage you to discuss this with your teen and be 
educated about the program. For more information about the program and 
becoming a donor, visit www.donatelifenw.org.

OREGON DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Transportation Safety Division and DMV

teen driving

http://www.donatelifenw.org
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What is the Parent’s Role  
in Teen Driving?
•	 Know Oregon’s Graduated Driver Licensing Laws
•	 Know Everything You Can About Teen Driving
•	 Supervise Your Teen’s Driving
•	 Establish Family Driving Rules and Limits

Fulfilling the parent role in teen driving is very  
important. Being a good role model will allow you to:

•	 Know that you are increasing the ability of your teen to drive safely.
•	 Know first hand how your teenager is progressing toward becoming a 

better driver.
•	 Know where your teen is and that she or he is not taking unnecessary risks.
•	 Talk to your teen about substance abuse. 

Oregon’s Graduated Driver Licensing Law
Oregon’s Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program is designed to increase 
the safety of teen drivers by giving young drivers more time to gain valuable 
driving experience before becoming fully licensed. Your teen’s license will be 
“provisional” until 18 years of age and there are restrictions on provisional drivers. 

Instruction Permit
•	 Must be at least 15.
•	 Must pass a written test. 
•	 May NOT drive unless supervised by a licensed driver at least 21 years 

old who is seated beside the permit holder.
•	 The supervising driver must have had their license for at least three years for the 

practice to count toward the 50 or 100 hour requirement to get a license.
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Provisional License
•	 Must be at least 16 years of age.
•	 Must hold an instruction permit for at least 6 months before applying.
•	 Must complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving and an approved traffic 

safety education course OR at least 100 hours of supervised driving.
•	 Must pass a safe driving practices knowledge test and a driving test.
•	 It is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle while using a mobile 

communication device. This includes texting or talking on a cell phone, 
even with a hands-free accessory. Once you turn 18, different restrictions 
may apply.

•	 For the first 6 months:
No passengers under 20 years of age unless they are a member of the 
driver’s immediate family, AND
No driving between midnight and 5 a.m. (see list of exceptions below)

•	 For the second 6 months:
No more than 3 passengers under 20 years of age unless they are a 
member of the driver’s immediate family, AND
No driving between midnight and 5 a.m. (see list of exceptions below)

•	 The passenger and night driving restrictions end after 1 year or at age 18, 
whichever comes first.

Exceptions to driving between midnight and 5 a.m. for the first year:
–	 Driving between home and work
–	 Driving between home and a school event for which there is no other 

transportation available
–	 Driving for employment purposes
–	 When accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 25 years of age

Withdrawal of Parental Consent 
Consent of a parent or legal guardian is required for a minor to get a permit 
or a license. The parent or legal guardian who signed the driver license 
application for an applicant under the age of 18 may withdraw their consent 
for the child to have a permit or license at any time, until the child turns 
18. DMV will cancel the child’s license or permit until the child turns 18, 
marries, becomes emancipated or reapplies and submits a driver license 
application with a parent or legal guardian’s signature. A withdrawal of 
consent must be requested in writing. 
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School Attendance
Oregon law allows a school superintendent or the board to ask DMV to 
suspend the driving privileges of those students who have withdrawn from 
school. Withdrawn is defined as having unexcused absences for more than 10 
consecutive school days or 15 school days during a single semester. When 
DMV receives the suspension request, driving privileges are suspended until 
the person is 18 years of age or until they comply with the law. Check with 
your school board or superintendent for information about their policy.

What Parents Need to Know 

Driving Risks 
Driving can be a potentially dangerous endeavor for everyone; however, it is 
more dangerous for young drivers. Novice teen drivers crash more than any 
other age group. There are many reasons for this, including:

Young Age/Lack of Maturity: Teenagers can make more errors in judgment 
than other age groups. Be aware your teen is likely to drive differently and 
take more risks when you are not in the vehicle. 

Brain Development: Teens should be the world’s best drivers. Their 
muscles are well toned, their reaction time quick, their eye-hand 
coordination at a peak. Yet car crashes kill more of them than any other 
cause — a problem, some researchers believe, that is rooted in the 
adolescent brain. A National Institutes of Health study suggests that the 
region of the brain that inhibits risky behavior is not fully formed until age 25. 

Risky Driving Behaviors: Teenagers may engage in risky driving behaviors. 
These include speeding, running red and yellow lights, running stop signs, 
tailgating, weaving in and out of traffic, not keeping a safe distance for 
merging or changing lanes, misjudging gaps in traffic, and misjudging the 
capability of their vehicle.

Distractions: Any new or inexperienced driver is challenged when faced 
with driving distractions. Music, cell phones, pets, and passengers are best 
left at home while your teen is learning to drive. 

Driving Inexperience: Teenagers lack driving experience. It takes a LOT of 
practice to be able to safely maneuver in everyday situations and unexpected 
circumstances. Teens show the greatest improvement within the first year 
and 1,000 miles of driving. They continue to improve through their first 
5,000 miles of driving.
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High-Risk Driving Conditions 
•	Driving under the influences of alcohol or drugs: Drinking any — 

yes, any — amount of alcohol produces impairment. Not only is the use 
of alcohol and illicit drugs illegal, the combination of alcohol or drugs 
and driving can be deadly. 

•	High speeds: For teen drivers (especially males), most severe crashes 
occur at high speeds. Crash risk, severity, and force all increase as  
speed increases. 

•	Passengers: For teen drivers, as the number of passengers increase, 
teen crashes increase. Driving is a “new skill” for teens, and they need 
to pay close attention. Teen passengers can be a major distraction. Teen 
passengers may intentionally or unintentionally encourage friends to 
speed, show off, or not pay enough attention to driving.

•	Nighttime driving: For teen drivers, the most severe crashes occur at 
night and on weekends. Night driving is challenging for all drivers, but 
novice teen drivers do not have the experience to anticipate and react 
to nighttime conditions when visibility is reduced. Make sure your teen 
gets extensive nighttime practice driving with you in varied types of 
weather. Be aware that teenagers driving at night usually include a lack of 
adult supervision, carrying passengers, and driving at high speeds, all of 
which increase risk exponentially. 

•	Safety belt non-use: Safety belt non-use is a problem for both drivers 
and passengers. Safety belts are important because they keep the driver 
and passengers inside the vehicle where they are the safest. 
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Driver education is the beginning of the process of 

learning to drive, but teens need many, many hours 

of practice to become safer drivers. 

Tips for Supervising Teen Driving
PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!! Practice as much as possible, even 
after your teen gets their license.

•	Who: Practice with only you and your teen in the vehicle. Other people, 
pets, etc. can distract both of you and increase stress. Remember: remain 
calm and focused; making mistakes is part of learning, and practice driving 
is serious, but it should also be interesting and engaging.

•	What: Practice the driving skills yourself that your teen is learning. Begin 
with basic skills such as turning, parking, and backing up. Then, practice 
more complex skills such as changing lanes and merging.

•	When: In the beginning, practice during daylight hours with good 
weather. As your teen’s skills increase, gradually expose them to different 
roads, weather conditions, and times of day.

•	Where: In the beginning, practice in safe, low-risk driving areas. Start 
out in empty parking lots or on remote roads. As your teen’s skills 
increase, progress to quiet neighborhood streets and later to busier roads 
and highways.

•	Why: Learning to drive is a complex, ongoing process requiring 
responsibility and dedication from both parents and teens. New drivers 
need a lot of practice to handle daily driving hazards and unexpected 
situations. Teens will show the greatest improvement in the first 1,000 to 
5,000 miles of driving.

The leading cause of death among 15-20 year olds in Oregon is due to motor vehicle crashes
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Use a Practice Driving Log
Use the driving log in the center fold of this book to track your teen’s 
practice driving and progress toward becoming a safe driver!

Driver Education

Formal driver education may be the most important class teenagers take. 
Driver education promotes critical life-long skills, proper safety belt usage, 
driving alcohol and drug free, respect, courtesy and cooperation, healthy 
behaviors, and choices. The Oregon Driver Education program is saving 
lives, reducing injuries, dramatically reducing the impact of teen driving and 
is making our newest drivers better and safer. 

Parents, educators, state officials, students, and community members 
need to create powerful partnerships to support teaching and learning in 
every community. We need to guarantee young drivers acquire preventive 
behavior habits to manage risk. Remember, driving is a life-long skill and it’s 
important to establish good habits early on. Check with your local school 
and ask if they offer a driver education course. If not, there are commercial 
providers available. If you choose a commercial provider, be sure to ask 
if they teach an ODOT-approved course. When your teen applies for a 
license, an ODOT completion certificate satisfies 50 hours of the practice 
driving time requirement. Your teen will still need to complete 50 hours of 
practice driving with you or another licensed driver over 21 years of age 
with at least three years of driving experience. However, if you opt not to 
take advantage of driver education, your teen will need to complete a total 
of 100 hours of practice driving.



Do These Each Time You Practice:
•	 Be in the “practicing mood”. Practice when both of you are ready, in 

good moods, have sufficient time, and are well rested.
•	 Adjust mirrors, safety belts, seats, and steering wheel position before 

starting the vehicle. 
•	 Always wear your safety belts and use your headlights day and night! 
•	 Come to a complete stop at stop signs and for right turns at red lights.
•	 When proceeding from a stop look left, then front (straight ahead), then 

right before proceeding.
•	 Keep your eyes moving. Use your mirrors to check around and behind 

the vehicle every 6-8 seconds.
•	 Keep at least a 2-4 second space between your vehicle and others in 

traffic flow. Try to stay centered in your lane of travel. 
•	 Avoid the “No-Zone” 

with trucks or buses. This 
is about 15 feet on all sides 
of the truck. If you cannot 
see truck drivers in their 
mirrors, they cannot see 
you either.

•	 Be aware—Speed 
increases braking distance. 
Doubling your speed will 
quadruple your braking 
distance. The faster you’re going the longer it takes to stop.

•	 Be aware—Vehicle weight increases braking distance. Doubling your 
vehicle weight will double your braking distance. If you are driving a large 
vehicle or towing a trailer it takes longer to stop.
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Oregon law sets requirements for teen driving, but families 

need to determine other rules and limits for their teen drivers. 

Make sure that family rules are very clear from the beginning. 

Talk to your teen about driving every chance you get. 

Use a Parent-Teen Driving Agreement
Use a Parent-Teen Driving Agreement to determine appropriate rules and 
guidelines for your teen driver, and to make sure everyone is clear about them! 
A sample agreement can be found on the internet at www.oregondmv.com.

Driving Rules/Guidelines for Your Family

•	 Require Safety Belt Use: This applies to your teen and all passengers at 
all times.

•	 Prohibit Alcohol and/or Drug Use: This applies to your teen as the 
driver of any vehicle.

•	 Prohibit Riding with Someone who has Used Alcohol or Drugs: 
This applies to your teen as the passenger in another vehicle. 

•	 Require Compliance with Speed Limits: Stress that this applies to all 
roads at all times because crash forces at higher speeds kill. 

•	 Prohibit Distractions while Driving: Prohibit cell phone use, eating, 
drinking, pets or changing radio or CDs while driving. 

•	 Limit Teen Passengers: According to Oregon’s GDL laws, with a 
provisional license, your teen can have no passengers under age 20 who 
aren’t immediate family members for the first 6 months, and no more 
than 3 passengers under age 20 who aren’t immediate family members for 
the second 6 months. Limiting passengers reduces distractions and the 
temptation for risky behavior.



set family rules and  guidelines for driving

THE OREGON PARENT GUIDE TO TEEN DRIVING  I  9

•	 Limit Unsupervised Night Driving: According to Oregon’s GDL law, 
with a provisional license, your teen cannot drive between midnight and 
5:00 a.m. for the first year unless they are accompanied by a licensed 
driver 25 or older or driving between home and work or school. Statistics 
show that teens have a higher crash rate during these hours. Consider 
setting an additional (earlier) driving curfew — especially on the 
weekends for the first 6 months your teen drives unsupervised.

•	 Require a Full Report: Require information about each trip before 
leaving, including where your teen is going, with whom, and when they 
will return so that you know where they are. 

Provide a Safe, Reliable Vehicle for Your Teen 
•	 Mid- to full-size sedans and station wagons with smaller engines and 

airbags are safest for teen drivers.
•	 Under certain conditions, small trucks and SUVs may be more prone to 

roll-overs than other types of vehicles.
•	 High-performance cars may encourage teens to drive beyond their 

experience level.

Impose Consequences for Violating Rules/Guidelines
•	 Make consequences relate to losing driving privileges: For a day, 

weekend, week, month, etc., depending on the violation. 
•	 Consequences not related to losing driving privileges will not be as 

effective in sending the messages: “You must be a responsible driver” and 
“I am serious about your following the rules and limits for driving.”

•	 Consider requiring your teen to complete additional supervised practice. 

Make consequences known: Set consequences for common violations before 
they occur so that your teen knows what to expect.

•	 Getting a speeding ticket.
•	 Coming home less than 30 minutes after curfew.
•	 Coming home more than 30 minutes after curfew.
•	 Lying about their whereabouts.
•	 Violating passenger restrictions.
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In 2008, Oregon drivers age 20 and under were involved in 

fatal and injury crashes at twice the rate of the population 

as a whole. So, before you ever get into the car, make sure 

that both you and your teen understand the basics.

Teen Driver Training Orientation
Before you begin training, make sure you know common teen driving errors 
and ways you can help your teen be a better driver. 

Top 11 Driving Errors
•	 Not attending to the path of travel
•	 Driving five or more miles per hour too fast for conditions
•	 Driving too fast through a curve
•	 Inadequate search at an intersection and failing to yield to cross traffic
•	 Lack of attention at an intersection and being struck by another driver
•	 Improper evasive action — quick turn not executed properly
•	 Failure to maintain visual lead
•	 Failure to see action developing at side of the roadway
•	 Following too closely
•	 Willfully taking right-of-way
•	 Distracted

Aggressive Driving
Drivers who routinely speed, run red lights and stop signs, tailgate, and 
otherwise disregard the safety of other motorists are turning streets and 
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highways into high-risk arenas. Aggressive driving can easily escalate into 
road rage. We’re all too familiar with stories of motorists who’ve killed or 
injured other drivers for seemingly trivial reasons.

When is it Aggressive Driving? 
The following attitudes and behaviors indicate that problem driving 
behaviors are related to aggression rather than inexperience:

•	 Constant rushing, lane jumping, and the need to “get ahead.”
•	 Ignoring road signs and regulations.
•	 Constantly ridiculing and criticizing other drivers.
•	 Denying entry into your lane or preventing passing.
•	 Speeding past another car, revving engine.
•	 Tailgating a driver to go faster or get out of your way.
•	 Honking, yelling or making visible insulting gestures.

When Confronted by Aggressive Drivers:
•	 First and foremost, make every attempt to get out of their way.
•	 Put your pride in the back seat. Do not challenge them by speeding up or 

attempting to “hold-your-own” in your travel lane.
•	 Wear your safety belt. It will hold you in your seat and behind the wheel 

in case you need to make an abrupt driving maneuver and it will protect 
you in a crash.

•	 Avoid eye contact.
•	 Ignore gestures and refuse to return them.
•	 Report aggressive drivers to the appropriate authorities by providing 

a vehicle description, license plate number, location, and if possible, 
direction of travel.

•	 If it is an emergency and you can do it safely, call 911.
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Parent Tips for Training Your Teen Driver

Set a Good Example
You should always model correct, legal driving behavior for your teen 
driver. Also, make sure you and your teen are familiar with all controls 
and safety devices in each of the family vehicles.

Expect that Your Teen Will Make Mistakes
Making mistakes is part of learning so be positive and calm.  
Try to separate physical errors (like turning the wheel too soon) from 
mental errors (like not detecting a problem) and coach your teen 
accordingly. Always praise correct driving behaviors. 

Give Directions Clearly, Calmly, and Well in Advance 
Explain why and how to do things in a soft, steady voice.  
DO NOT assume your teenager knows what you want them to do.

Stay Focused and Ready
Remember, you are the responsible driver of the car so constantly scan 
the driving scene and be ready to react to any driving situation. 

•	 Make sure that you verbally guide your teen through situations well in 
advance of trouble.

•	 If necessary, be ready to react to any driving situation and assist with 
verbal or physical steering guidance.

Vehicle Safety Features
It is important that you and your teen understand the safety features in each 
of your vehicles. Together, read your vehicle manuals for information on, 
and proper usage of, vehicle safety features.

Safety Belts 
In 2008, 416 people were killed in traffic crashes in Oregon. More than 1 in 2 
victims were not wearing safety belts.

Oregon law requires that all motor vehicle occupants “properly” use safety 
restraints. For adults and children over age eight or taller than 4’9”, this 
means using a safety belt or safety harness system.
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Restraint requirements for small children differ according to the age and size 
of the child.

•	 Children weighing less than 40 pounds must be restrained in a child 
safety seat. This type of seat is secured to the car with a safety belt system 
and has a built-in harness which must be fastened around the child.

•	 A child under one year of age or weighing twenty pounds or less must be 
restrained in a rear-facing child safety seat.

•	 A child over forty pounds but under age eight or less than 4’9” tall must 
be restrained in a booster seat that elevates them so the lap/shoulder belts 
fit correctly.

•	 It is highly recommended that children aged twelve and under ride in the 
back seat. Under no circumstances can a rear-facing infant ride in a front 
seat equipped with an active air bag system.

Each of the following can significantly reduce injuries in the event of a crash. 
Practice each of these with your teen:

•	 Read the manufacturer’s instructions for the proper use of safety belts and 
car seats. 

•	 Wear safety belts.
•	 Have children age 12 and younger sit in the back seat.
•	 Place children correctly in appropriate child restraints.

Air Bags
Air bags and safety belts are designed to be used together. Air bags and 
safety belts keep you in the safest positions during a crash. Depending on 
your vehicle, you may have front and/or side air bags. 

Air bags can deploy at speeds of up to 200 mph and temperatures of almost 
500 degrees. The deployment and deflation happens faster than the eye can 
see. Front and side impacts will activate appropriate air bags.

Proper Procedures for Use

•	 Read your vehicle manual to learn where air bags are located and when 
and how they deploy. 

•	 Sit 10-12 inches from the steering wheel. 

Does your Vehicle have Antilock Brake Systems (ABS)?
Most vehicles manufactured in the last 10 years have antilock brake systems. 
ABS is designed to help a driver maintain control during emergency braking 
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situations by keeping the tires from locking up. However, it does not make 
a vehicle stop more quickly. In fact, the rolling traction may produce longer 
stopping distances on some dry or limited traction surfaces such as loose 
gravel or fresh snow.

Some vehicles are equipped with ABS on all 4 wheels. Others, such as 
light pickup trucks only have ABS on the rear wheels. Check your vehicle 
manuals to determine if you have ABS and on which wheels.

How Do You Use ABS?
Vehicles with ABS require the foot to remain firmly on the brake pedal when 
braking hard. This allows the system to automatically pump the brakes faster 
than you can. The system usually activates at speeds above 10 mph.

•	 With ABS on all 4 wheels, do not pump the brakes. Maintain firm 
pressure on the brake, and if needed, steer away from the hazard using a 
minimum amount of steering.

•	 With ABS on the rear wheels only, the front wheels can lock up. 
Pump the brakes to avoid lock-up.

Vehicle Functioning
In addition to safety features, you and your teen need to be familiar with all 
vehicle controls and other indications that the vehicle is functional.

Vehicle Controls
In each of your vehicles, have your teen practice and then demonstrate the 
ability to operate each of the following without looking at the controls: 

•	 Gear selector
•	 Turn signals
•	 Headlights, low and high beams 
•	 Climate controls
•	 Defrost, front and back
•	 Door locks
•	 Window controls
•	 Parking brake, set and release levers

•	 Brake and gas pedals
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Vehicle Readiness
In each of your vehicles, have your teen practice and then demonstrate the 
ability to determine the readiness of each of the following: 

•	 Windows and headlights clear
•	 Tires properly inflated
•	 Mechanical condition checked regularly
•	 Loose objects secured in trunk
•	 Parking brake works
•	 Signal lights and brake lights work

Blind Spots
Coach your teen to regularly monitor and be aware of blind spots. They should: 

1.	Check to the rear with the inside rearview mirror. 
2.	Check to the sides with the side view mirrors.
3.	Make a blind spot check in the area slightly beyond the driver’s 

peripheral field of vision.
4.	Look out of the rear side windows, not the back window, when checking 

the mirror blind spot areas. (See the red areas beside and to the rear of 
the car in the example.)

New drivers have a tendency to move the steering wheel in the direction 
they move their head. Watch for this movement and correct if necessary.
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An Exercise to Become Familiar with Blind Spots

The following exercise illustrates the area around the car the driver cannot see:

•	 While your teen is sitting in the driver’s seat with the engine off, 
get out of the car and stand close to the front bumper facing  
the driver. 

•	 Begin taking steps backward and have your teen tap the horn when 
he or she can see your feet. 

•	 Place a cone or cup in that spot. This is the pavement area in front 
of the vehicle that cannot be seen when looking out of  
the windshield. 

•	 Ask the driver to use the inside mirror and/or to look over the 
right shoulder, and repeat this process to the rear of the vehicle. 

•	 Walk backwards from the passenger doors on the left and right 
sides of the vehicle and place cups or cones to mark the side areas 
visible to the driver. 

•	 Have your teen measure these distances and record them.
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The basic driving skills in this section are the cornerstone to safe 

and responsible driving. Make sure your teen learns, practices, 

and can demonstrate these basic driving skills. 

Automatic or Manual Transmission
A new driver should first learn the basic controls in a car with automatic 
transmission and then transfer to a standard shift vehicle.

Steering Control
Modern vehicles require very little steering to turn. Look at the steering 
wheel as a clock face and place your hands at 9 o’clock and 3 o’clock or 
slightly lower at 8 and 4. These are the desired hand positions that reduce 
the possibility of turning the wheel too sharply. 

To reduce forearm and hand injuries, hands should be placed on the 
lower half of the steering wheel, with knuckles on the outside and thumbs 
stretched along the rim of the steering wheel.

Make sure your teen learns, practices, and can demonstrate the following 
three steering techniques:

Pull-Push Steering
Use pull-push steering for most turning maneuvers. Put your hands in the 
8 and 4 o’clock positions. Pull down with one hand and push up with the 
other. This results in smooth steering and reduces the potential for too 
much steering, which can lead to loss of control. Keep the hands and thumbs 
on the outside of the wheel.
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Hand-Over-Hand Steering
Use hand-over-hand steering when steering movements are critical, such 
as when (a) parking, (b) performing sharp right turns, and (c) for skid 
correction. Use quick movements on entry to the maneuver, and then use 
slow, smooth movements when straightening the wheel. Steering errors are 
directly related to vision errors.

One-Hand Steering
Use one-hand steering for backing maneuvers that do not require full left or 
right turns.

Speed Control
Speed control techniques are used to make smooth starts, stops, and turns. 
These techniques increase comfort in the vehicle as well as fuel efficiency. 
They also keep the vehicle balanced, which increases the controllability 
of the vehicle and decreases risk to yourself and others. Cruise control is not 
recommended for the beginning driver.

Make sure your teen learns, practices, and can demonstrate the following 
acceleration and braking techniques:

Light Acceleration 
Light acceleration is light pressure on the gas 
pedal. It is used to (a) make smooth starts and 
(b) begin turns that require a stop.
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Progressive Acceleration 
Progressive acceleration is a steady increase in pressure on the gas pedal. It 
is used to get your speed up to the limit. Continue to apply the gas until you 
have reached your desired speed, then use steady even pressure to maintain it.

Cover Brake
Cover brake is when the ball of your right foot is “hovering” over the brake. 
It is used in anticipation and/or preparation for a braking application. 

Controlled Brake 
Controlled brake is firm, steady, even pressure on the brake pedal. It is used 
in non-emergency situations. Apply the brake to the point of resistance, 
then use steady even pressure. 

Trail Brake 
Trail brake is a slight decrease of pressure on the brake pedal. It is used (a) 
during the last two seconds of a stop in order to avoid any jerky sensations, 
(b) to back up, (c) to inch forward, (d) to “creep” or move at a walking pace, 
and (e) to begin a moving turn.

Threshold Brake 
Threshold brake is applying maximum force to the brake pedal without 
locking the wheels. It is used in emergency situations.
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Lane Positions
Lane positions refer to where your vehicle 
is in the lane (it does not refer to changing 
lanes). Lane positions are used to (a) 
communicate your intentions to other 
drivers, and (b) best position your vehicle for 
a driving maneuver. 

Make sure your teen learns, practices, and can 
demonstrate the following three lane positions: 

Lane Position 1
Lane Position 1 is in the center of the lane. 
This position allows for the best separation 
and distance from obstacles (such as cars, 
curbs, etc.) to the right and to the left. 

Use Lane Position 1 for normal driving 
conditions if you have no plan to change 
driving maneuvers. 

Lane Position 2
Lane Position 2 is the left side of the lane. 
This position allows for the best separation 
from obstacles on the right and helps to 
improve your line of sight. 

Use Lane Position 2 for left turns and parking 
on the left.

Lane Position 3
Lane Position 3 is the right side of the lane. 
This position allows for the best separation 
from obstacles on the left and helps to 
improve your line of sight. 

Use Lane Position 3 for parking on the right.



Line of Sight: what you can 

see in any area you are looking. 

If you are going forward it is the 

area you can see in the front of 

the car. If you are backing it is 

the area you see behind the car.

Definitions
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Following Time
Following time is important for 
many reasons. You need adequate 
distance between vehicles so you 
can (a) see beyond the vehicle in 
front of you, and (b) have enough 
time to make adjustments to 
changing driving conditions ahead 
of you.

Make sure your teenager learns, practices, and can demonstrate the ability to 
judge speed and distance by using the proper following time.

Determine Following Time
To determine following time, watch as the car in front of you passes a 
stationary object, such as a road sign. Then, start counting “one-one-thousand, 
two-one-thousand, three-one-thousand, etc.,” until you reach the same object. 
“One-one-thousand” is approximately one second.

Maintain 2-4 Seconds of Following Time 
Follow at 2 or more seconds when 
traveling at speeds up to 30 mph. 

Follow at 4 or more seconds when 
traveling under the following conditions:
•	 At speeds over 30 mph
•	 In congested traffic
•	 In adverse weather conditions
•	 When behind a motorcycle, truck, or bus

Make Speed and Space Adjustments
•	 Anytime the driver in front of you 

reduces speed, adjust your following time so you can see at least 12-15 
seconds ahead.

•	 When traffic or environmental conditions warrant, increase following time. 
•	 Change position within the lane to increase line of sight. 

2 OR 
MORE
SEC. 4 OR 

MORE
SEC.

35
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Searching Skills 
A common cause of poor driving and crashes is not seeing the problem. Make 
sure your teen learns, practices, and can demonstrate searching skills including: 
searching intersections – (1/3 of all crashes happen at intersections); reading 
signs, signals, and markings; reading the dash (speedometer).

See a Clear Path
BEFORE you step on the gas, always (a) determine what your path of 
travel will be, and (b) that your path of travel is clear before moving the 
vehicle in that direction. 

Turn Your Head 
BEFORE turning the steering wheel, turn your head in the direction you 
intend to travel. When you look to see what is in your path of travel 
before you move the car in that direction, there will be no surprises or quick, 
unplanned maneuvers such as slamming on your brakes or sudden lane changes.

Check Your Blind Spot
Do a chin-to-shoulder-turn of your head in the direction you plan to move 
before you (a) pull into traffic, (b) make lane changes, or (c) make any 
lateral movements.

Do a 360 Degree Search
Physically turn your head and body to look all the way around your car 
before you (a) back the car or (b) parallel park.

Search Area for Potential Problems
Look for any changes or obstacles. Search 20-30 seconds ahead of the vehicle to 
gather information about your path of travel. Search 12-15 seconds ahead of 
the vehicle to plan your path of travel and keep 2-4 seconds of following time. 

Check the Rearview Mirror
Check the rearview mirror (a) after seeing a change to conditions ahead 
of you, (b) before and after braking action, (c) while stopped in traffic, (d) 
before and after making turns, and (e) before and after making a lane change. 



Path of Travel: the area you want 

the car to go. 

Blind Spot: the area that is not 

visible to the driver without turning 

their head and looking.

Definitions
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Communication with 
Other Drivers
Always communicate your 
intentions to other drivers. 
Make sure your teen knows the 
communication options and when 
to use them.

Turn Signals: Use turn signals to 
communicate in which direction 
you plan to travel.

Lane Positions: Use lane positions to communicate your plans to change 
driving maneuvers.

Headlights: Use headlights to be more visible to other drivers DAY 
& NIGHT. 

Horn: Use the horn to alert others to you or to emergency situations. Do 
not use it in anger.

2.	 Solve problems 
15-30 seconds away

3.	 Make sure your 
solutions still work 
while 4 seconds 
away! You are  
about to occupy  
that space!

1.	 Search to the target 
area for problems
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Use of Headlights
A good practice is to ALWAYS use your low-beam headlights 
during the DAY so that you are more visible to other drivers. 
The decision to use low or high beam headlights at other times 
depends on the circumstances. Make sure your teen understands 
when to use low beam and high beam headlights. Oregon law 
requires headlights to be on from sunset to sunrise or any time 
conditions make it difficult to see 1,000 feet ahead.

Low Beam Headlights 
Use low beam headlights when traveling:

•	 During the day, especially at dawn or dusk
•	 On heavily traveled roads with traffic going in both directions
•	 At night in well-lit areas
•	 In fog, rainy, snowy or misty conditions



Lane Position 3: the right side of 

the lane.

Definition
Lane Position 3: the right side of 

the lane.

Definition

High Beam Headlights 
Use high beam headlights when traveling at night in dimly lit areas.

Switch From High to Low Beams 
Switch from high to low beams when a vehicle approaches you in 
the opposite direction at night. Oregon law requires you to dim 
or lower your high beams when an oncoming vehicle is within 500 
feet. You must also turn off any auxiliary lights such as fog lights.

Switch from high to low beams when you are following another 
vehicle. Oregon law requires you to dim or lower your high beams 
when you are following another vehicle within 350 feet.

If the other driver fails to switch to low beams, you need to (a) 
slow down, (b) use Lane Position 3, and (c) move your eyes 
to the right edge of the road until the vehicle passes. DO NOT 
look into oncoming headlights or flash high beam lights at 
others. Headlight glare can 
temporarily blind you.
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The step-by-step maneuvers in this section 

are similar to those taught in formal driver 

education courses in Oregon. 

First Things First
It is important to start at the beginning with proper procedures for 
entering the vehicle, making adjustments, starting the car, and securing 
the car. Make sure your teen learns, practices, and can demonstrate these 
driver behaviors before you start practice driving.

Entering the Vehicle 

Be Well Rested and Alert
NEVER drive a vehicle when you are tired or sleepy, emotionally upset, 
or under the influence of alcohol or drugs (including prescription and 
over-the-counter medicines).

Have Key In Hand 
When you know you are going to your car, have your key out in your 
hand. For your personal safety, NEVER search for your keys through your 
clothes or purse at your car. The goal is to have your keys in a location 
where you can retrieve them quickly and spend as little time as possible 
trying to open your car.

Approach with Awareness
As you approach your car, check around and inside the vehicle. Look 
inside to ensure no one has entered your car and is waiting for you. You 
should park in well lit areas away from places where someone could be 
hiding (bushes, vans, etc.). Your personal safety could be at risk!
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Lock All Doors 
Immediately after entering the vehicle, lock all doors before you insert 
the key into the ignition. Someone can easily jump into an unlocked car.

Insert the Key into the Ignition But Do Not Start the Car Yet!

Making Adjustments

Adjust Seat Position 
1.	Place the seat to where your torso is 10-12 inches from the steering 

wheel and your arms are bent less than 90 degrees at  
the elbow.

2.	Put the ball of your right foot on the brake pedal. From your foot 
position, make sure you (a) have full range of motion in your ankle, (b) 
can fully depress the brake without your heel coming off the floor and 
(c) can pivot on your heel to put the ball of your foot on the gas pedal.

3.	Make adjustments for best vehicle control and personal comfort.

Adjust Safety Belts
•	 Put the seat back up straight. Move the seat to where you are at least 

10 inches from the steering wheel.
•	 Sit up straight with your hips and back against the seat back. 
•	 Adjust the lap portion of the safety belt low across your hips and pelvis 

— NEVER across your stomach. 
•	 Adjust the shoulder portion across your chest and collarbone – 

NEVER across the front of your neck or face, behind your back, or 
under your arm. 

•	 Make sure the lap and shoulder belts are snug. 

Adjust Wheel Tilt 
If you have an adjustable steering wheel, tilt it down so that the top of the 
wheel is no higher than the top of your shoulders.
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The Road to Getting 
a License is...

Practice!
Practice! 
Practice!

Do the Log!
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when you see stopped  
emergency vehicles.

Slow Down. The Way to Go.  Transportation Safety — ODOT

It’s  
the law!

Protect those 
who protect you.
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Adjust Head Restraint 
To correctly adjust a head restraint, the top of the head restraint should 
reach at least as high as the top of your ear and be set back no more than 
3 inches from your head. Close head restraints can be twice as effective in 
preventing injuries as those which are set back too far.

Adjust the Mirrors 
This technique significantly reduces the size of typical blind spots. This 
setting is great for eliminating headlight glare too!

•	 To adjust the driver side mirror, place your head against the driver’s side 
window and adjust the mirror out until you can just see down the left side 
of your vehicle.

•	 To adjust the passenger side mirror, lean your head to the right and in 
line with the inside rearview mirror. Then adjust the right outside mirror 
out until you can just see down the right side of the vehicle. 

•	 To adjust the rearview mirror get the best, clear, full view out the back 
window while in the proper sitting position — sitting straight up with 
your hips and back against the seat back. 

NOTE: Mirrors do not 
completely eliminate blind 
spots. Always do a chin-to-
shoulder turn of your head to 
check blind spots before ever 
making a lateral maneuver.

Starting the Car
1.	Make sure the transmission is in “PARK” and the parking brake is set.
2.	Place your right foot on the brake and hold it down.
3.	Turn the key halfway to the “ON” position and allow the onboard 

computer to boot up.
4.	Check gauges and warning lights.
5.	Then turn the key the rest of the way to the “START” position and 

release immediately.

Blind Spot: the area that is not 

visible to the driver without turning 

their head and looking.

Definition
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6.	Turn your headlights on.

7.	Turn on other necessary accessories – climate control, wipers, etc.

8.	Before entering traffic, release park brake and signal. Check mirrors, look 
over the shoulder to check blind spot, and go when clear.

Secure the Car After Driving
1.	Place your right foot on the brake and hold it down.
2.	Set the parking brake.
3.	Shift the transmission to “PARK.” 
4.	Turn off all accessories – lights, wipers, climate control, etc.
5.	Turn off the vehicle and remove your key from the ignition.

Backing
Backing increases the risk for crash because it is much more difficult to 
see obstacles behind us. In addition, backing up requires more space to 
maneuver because your back tires do not turn. When given the choice, 
position the car so you can pull forward instead. 

Make sure your teen learns, practices, 
and can demonstrate proper backing 
procedures.

Common Errors 
•	 Improper body position
•	 Speed too fast
•	 Failure to determine that 

path of travel is clear
•	 Failure to look  

back during the  
whole maneuver  
until the vehicle is 
completely stopped

•	 Incorrect steering 
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Backing Up Straight
1.	Put your right foot firmly on the brake pedal.
2.	 Shift to “REVERSE” and release the parking brake.
3.	Do a 360 degree search to make sure it is 

ALL CLEAR!
4.	Yield to ALL pedestrians, bicyclists, and vehicles. 
5.	Hold the steering wheel at the 12 o’clock position.
6.	Twist your body and look over your right shoulder 

continuously while backing with occasional side to 
front glances.

7.	  Trail brake (do not accelerate using the gas pedal) 
at a walking pace or even slower when you are near 
obstacles, cars, bicyclists, and pedestrians.

NOTE: You should never back up long distances on 
common roadways (forward movement is the law!).

Backing Turns
1.	Put one hand at the 12 o’clock position and turn 

your head in the direction you intend the rear of the 
vehicle to travel. 
•	 When turning the rear of the car to the 

right, look back over your right shoulder. 
•	 When turning the rear of the car to the left, 

look back over your left shoulder. 
2.	Continue to look over your shoulder and trail 

brake (do not accelerate using the gas pedal) while 
moving at a walking pace. 

3.	Begin the turn when the center of the rear tire is 
aligned with the curb or edge of the road.



THE OREGON PARENT GUIDE TO TEEN DRIVING  I  33

Backing into a Driveway
1.	Signal once you’ve identified a 

location to pull over.
2.	Check your rearview mirror and blind 

spots for traffic and pedestrians.
3.	Leave the traffic lane and stop within 

18 inches of the curb.
4.	Shift to “REVERSE” and complete a 

360 degree search to make sure it is 
ALL CLEAR. 

5.	 Look over your shoulder and trail brake 
(do not accelerate using the gas pedal) move at a walking pace. 

6.	Begin the turn when the center of the rear tire is aligned with 
the curb.

Backing Out of a Driveway
1.	With your right foot on the brake pedal, shift to “REVERSE.”
2.	Do a 360 degree search to make sure it is ALL CLEAR.
3.	Look over your shoulder and trail brake (do not accelerate 

using the gas pedal) at a walking pace. 
4.	 Stop short of your intended path of travel (for example, 

before a sidewalk or the roadway). Stop before entering the 
roadway and make sure you yield to all traffic, bicyclists,  
and pedestrians.

5.	Do another 360 degree search and when clear, continue 
to look over your shoulder and trail brake.

6.	Begin the turn when the center of the rear tire is aligned with 
the curb or edge of the road.

7.	Complete the turn in the smallest amount of space.
8.	Step on the brake and shift to “DRIVE.”

360 Degree Search: physically 

turn your head and body to look 

all the way around your car. 

Trail Brake: a slight decrease of 

pressure on the brake pedal.

Blind Spot: the area that is 

not visible to the driver without 

turning their head and looking.

Path of Travel: the area you want 

the car to go. 

Definitions
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Blind Spot: the area that is not 

visible to the driver without turning 

their head and looking.

Definition
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Parking
Make sure your teen learns, practices, and can 
demonstrate parking in different situations. 

NOTE: Parking is ALWAYS prohibited in the 
following situations:

•	 In front of driveways
•	 Within 10 feet of fire hydrants
•	 In or near intersections
•	 Close to crosswalks or stop signs

Entering Angle Parking

Common Errors for Entering Angle Parking
•	 Failure to signal
•	 The vehicle is too 

close to parking space 
on the side

•	 Failure to see traffic in 
the rear

•	 Speed too fast
•	 Failure to target to the 

center of space

Proper Procedures for 
Entering Angle Parking

1.	Signal.
2.	 Slow or stop the vehicle at least 6-8 feet  

from the parking space.
3.	Check your blind spot on the side of the 

parking space for traffic and pedestrians.
4.	Begin turning when you can see the center of 

the parking space without your line of sight 
(or view) cutting across the parking line. 

5.	Creep (move very slowly) and turn the wheel 
sharply toward the center of the space.



360 Degree Search: physically 

turn your head and body to look 

all the way around your car. 

Trail Brake: a slight decrease of 

pressure on the brake pedal.

Definitions
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6.	Once you enter the 
space, straighten the 
wheels and center the 
vehicle in the space.

7.	 Stop even with the curb 
or parking line.

8.	 Secure your vehicle.

Exiting Angle Parking

Common Errors for Exiting Angle Parking 
•	 Fails to check rear
•	 Fails to signal
•	 Speed too fast
•	 Fails to look back while backing
•	 Starts turning before bumper is cleared

Proper Procedures for Exiting  
Angle Parking
1.	Signal.

2.	With your foot on the brake, shift to 
“REVERSE.”

3.	Do a 360 degree search and yield to all 
traffic and pedestrians.

4.	Look over your shoulder and trail brake 
(do not accelerate using the gas pedal) at a 
walking pace. 

5.	Check your front swing for clearance.

6.	Begin turning when your front bumper is 
even with the rear bumper of the parked car 
to your left or the dash of your car appears 
to clear the car to the side. 

7.	Continue to look to the rear while backing 
into the nearest lane.

8.	Stop smoothly and shift to “DRIVE.”
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Pulling into Perpendicular  
Parking Space

Common High Risk Errors

•	 Fails to approach and align to  
space correctly 

•	 Fails to search for, communicate with, or 
yield to other traffic 

•	 Speed too fast 
•	 Fails to straighten wheels and align in 

middle of space

Proper Procedures for Pulling into 
Perpendicular Parking

1.	Signal and get 6-8 feet from the parked cars 
or as far to the left of the lane as possible.

2.	Check traffic behind you.
3.	Creep and turn the wheel sharp to the right 

of the space.
4.	Check your right rear fender for clearance.
5.	Straighten the wheel when you are centered 

in the space.
6.	 If necessary, shift to “REVERSE” and creep 

back slightly turning the wheel to the left.
7.	Use a forward reference point to avoid 

hitting a curb.

Consider Backing into the Space

•	 It’s safer to drive out of a space 
•	 Requires less time and space
•	 Better view when leaving the space
•	 Avoids backing out into traffic
•	 Others are more likely to let you out
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Backing into Perpendicular  
Parking Space

Common High Risk Errors

•	 Fails to approach and align to space 
correctly 

•	 Fails to search for, communicate with or 
yield to other traffic 

•	 Speed too fast when turning to 45 degree 
angle or backing

•	 Forgets to shift to ”REVERSE”
•	 Fails to straighten wheels and align in 

middle of space

Proper Procedures for Backing into 
Perpendicular Parking
1.	 Signal to the right.

2.	 Slow the vehicle and approach the space  
3 feet away from the parking space.

3.	 Stop when the driver’s body appears to be 
aligned in the center of the parking space.

4.	 Signal to the left and check for traffic  
and pedestrians.

5.	 Creep (move very slowly) and turn the 
wheel fast to the left and move to a  
45-degree angle to the space.

6.	 Stop. Shift to reverse. 
7.	 Look over right shoulder to check 

alignment into space.
8.	 Creep and turn the wheel sharp toward 

the center of the space. 
9.	 Once you enter the space, straighten the 

wheels and center the vehicle in the space.
10.	 Stop even with the curb or parking line.
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Advantages of Backing into the Space
•	 It’s safer to drive out of a space.
•	 Requires less time and space.
•	 Better line of sight while leaving the space.
•	 Avoids backing out into traffic.
•	 Others are more likely to let you out into traffic flow.

Parallel Parking

Entering a parallel parking space
1.	Check the rearview mirror and signal. 
2.	 Stop 2-3 feet beside the front vehicle and line up 

rear bumpers.
3.	Shift to “REVERSE.”
4.	Look over your shoulder and trail brake (do not 

accelerate using the gas pedal) at a walking pace. 
5.	Look back while creeping back and turn wheel fully 

toward the curb. 
6.	 When the vehicle is 45 degrees to the curb, and your 

front wheels align with the back wheels of the other car, 
straighten the tires and slowly back up in a straight line.

7.	Check the front of your car to make sure it clears. 
8.	When your left rear bumper is even with the rear 

vehicle left front bumper, turn wheels sharply left 
and continue to inch back.

9.	When parallel to the curb, straighten wheels and 
center your vehicle in the space. 

Exiting a Parallel Parking Space
1.	Reverse and inch back until you can see the front 

car’s rear tires.
2.	Check your blind spot for bicyclists, pedestrians, 

and traffic.
3.	Signal and yield to other traffic.
4.	Search your intended path of travel and enter the 

nearest travel lane when clear.



Trail Brake: a slight decrease of 

pressure on the brake pedal.

Blind Spot: the area that is 

not visible to the driver without 

turning their head and looking.

Path of Travel: the area you want 

the car to go.

Definitions
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5.	Cancel signal and check 
rearview mirror.

Common Parallel  
Parking Errors
•	 Approaches too close or too fast
•	 Fails to shift to REVERSE
•	 Fails to look back while  

moving back
•	 Begins turning too early
•	 Fails to check front swing for clearance

Parking on Hills

Common Errors for Parking on Hills

•	 Fails to search for, communicate with, or yield to other traffic, 
bicyclists, and pedestrians when entering or exiting the roadway

•	 Excessive speed on approach
•	 Fails to set parking brake when securing the vehicle

Good Habits/Proper Procedures for Parking on Hills
1.	Choose a legal space and signal.
2.	Check your rearview mirror and blind spots.
3.	Apply the brake and approach parallel to and 

12 inches from the curb.
4.	Make a smooth stop and shift into “NEUTRAL.”
5.	Turn the wheels in the proper direction. 

•	 If facing up hill with curb, turn wheels left, toward the 
roadway (FIG 1.)

•	 If facing down hill with curb, turn wheel right, away 
from the roadway (FIG 2.)

•	 If there is no curb, turn wheels right, away from the 
roadway (FIG 3.)

6.	Secure vehicle by shifting to “PARK” and setting 
your parking brake.
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Turns
Make sure your teen practices and can demonstrate precision right and left 
turns. As you practice, remember:
•	 Stop at intersections at the legal stop line. If there is no line, then stop at 

the crosswalk/sidewalk. If there is no crosswalk/sidewalk, then stop before 
the imaginary line extending from the curb line or edge of roadway.

•	 ALWAYS look to the left, to the front, to the right, and then to the left 
again before entering any intersection.

•	 Make ALL turns from the nearest legal lane into the nearest legal lane!

Right Turns With a Required Stop
Common Errors for Right Turns With a Required Stop 
•	 Fails to check for bicyclists or pedestrians before 

starting forward motion
•	 Stops over legal stop area 
•	 Fails to turn head before turning wheel
•	 Turns wheel before starting forward motion
•	 Turns into wrong lane
•	 Travels in or cuts across the bike lane 

marked with a solid white line
•	 Travels in on-street parking spaces

Proper Procedures for Right  
Turns With a Required Stop
1.	Signal, check mirrors and blind spot. 

Check the right blind spot to move right and the left blind spot to move left.

2.	Use controlled braking and allow sufficient space on the right to avoid 
hitting the curb when turning, approximately 3 feet from the right edge 
of the roadway. Be careful not to drive in parking spaces or bike lanes.

3.	Stop at the legal stop area and search the intersection for vehicles, 
pedestrians, bicyclists, and potential hazards. Be careful not to stop in a 
bike lane or parking space.

4.	 BEFORE turning the wheel, turn your head in the direction you intend to travel.

5.	Use light acceleration and begin to turn when the dashboard is aligned 
with the curb.

Blind Spot: the area that is not 

visible to the driver without  

turning their head and looking.

Controlled Brake: firm, steady, 

even pressure on the brake pedal

Light Acceleration: light 

pressure on the gas pedal.

Definitions
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6.	Straighten and use progressive 
acceleration to reach your targeted speed.

7.	Check rearview mirror.

Right Turns Without a Required Stop

Common Errors for Right Turns 
Without a Required Stop
•	 Late or no signal
•	 Confusion on right–of–way, fails to yield
•	 Fails to search intersection in all directions
•	 Fails to search before turning wheel
•	 Turns into incorrect lane
•	 Accelerates prematurely

•	 Fails to yield to bicyclists going straight

Proper Procedures for Right Turn 
Without a Required Stop

1.	Signal, check mirrors and blind spots. Check 
the right blind spot to move right. 

2.	Use controlled braking in a position 
approximately 3 feet from curb, parked car, 
parking space or bike lane. 

3.	 Search intersection in all directions for vehicles, 
pedestrians, bicyclists, and potential hazards.

4.	BEFORE turning the wheel, turn your head to 
the right. Yield to pedestrians and bicyclists.

5.	Begin the turn when the dashboard is aligned 
with the curb line.

6.	  Trail brake until halfway through the turn.
7.	Straighten and use progressive acceleration 

to reach your targeted speed.
8.	Check rearview mirror.

Definitions
Progressive Acceleration: 

a steady increase in pressure 

on the gas pedal.

Trail Brake: a slight 

decrease of pressure on the 

brake pedal.
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Left Turns With a Required Stop

Common Errors for Left Turns With a Required Stop 
•	 Fails to make a complete stop
•	 Stops over the legal stop point
•	 Stops too close to vehicle ahead
•	 Fails to yield to pedestrians and bicyclists
•	 Cuts across the center yellow line when beginning or negotiating a left turn

Proper Procedures for Left Turns With a Required Stop
1.	Use controlled braking and approach in Lane Position 2.
2.	 Stop at the legal stop area, which is the stop line, pedestrian cross walk, or 

imaginary line extending from stop sign.
3.	 Search the intersection for vehicles, pedestrians, bikes, and potential hazards.
4.	 Before turning the steering wheel, turn your head in the direction of the turn.
5.	Begin turn when your line of sight (or view) to the center of your 

intended lane does not cut across the curb line.
6.	Use light acceleration and turn the steering wheel simultaneously.
7.	Straighten and use progressive acceleration to reach your 

targeted speed. 
8.	Check rearview mirror. 

Left Turns Without a Required Stop

Common Errors for Left Turns Without a Required Stop
•	 Confusion on right of way
•	 Late or no signal
•	 Fails to check blind areas
•	 Forgets to search intersection for traffic, bicyclists, and pedestrians
•	 Too much steering
•	 Late steering recovery
•	 Turns into incorrect lane
•	 Brakes too hard
•	 Accelerates too soon or too much
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Proper Procedures for 
Left Turns Without a 
Required Stop
1.	Signal, check mirrors and 

blind spot.
2.	Use controlled braking 

and use Lane Position 2.
3.	 Search the intersection for 

vehicles, pedestrians, bicyclists, 
and potential hazards.

4.	BEFORE turning the wheel, 
turn your head in the direction 
you intend to travel.

5.	Begin turning when the front 
bumper is even with the curb line.

6.	Turn into the nearest legal lane of travel.
7.	  Trail brake until halfway through 

the turn.
8.	Straighten and use progressive 

acceleration to reach your targeted 
appropriate speed.

9.	Check rearview mirror.

Controlled Braking: firm, steady, even 

pressure on the brake pedal.

Lane Position 2: the left side of the lane.

Light Acceleration: light pressure on 

the gas pedal.

Progressive Acceleration: a steady 

increase in pressure on the gas pedal.

Blind Spot: the area that is not visible to 

the driver without turning their head and 

looking.

Trail Brake: a slight decrease of 

pressure on the brake pedal.

Definitions

Bicycles on the Roadway
•	 Obey speed limits. Excessive speed is a factor in a high number of 

crashes involving cyclists.
•	 Be aware of how wide your car is and pass cyclists carefully. If you 

pass a cyclist who is traveling in your lane of traffic and you are going 
over 35 mph, Oregon law requires that you pass at a distance that is 
sufficient to prevent contact if the cyclist were to fall.

•	 Do not move your car into a bike lane to make a right turn. Check for 
bicyclists before making a turn across a bike lane.

•	 Cyclists can travel at high speeds, often as fast as other traffic. Don’t as-
sume there is more time to turn in front of a cyclist than in front of a car. 
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RIGHT TURNS ACROSS A BIKE LANE
•	 Get as close as is practical to the right curb or edge of the road without 

interfering with pedestrians or bicyclists. A bicycle lane is considered the 
edge of the roadway. Do not move into a bicycle lane in preparation for a 
right turn. Always check for bicycles going straight in a bike lane before 
making a right turn.

	 CORRECT	 INCORRECT

THE BIKE BOX
•	 Stop for the traffic signal behind 

the bike box. 
•	 Don’t stop on top of the bike box. 
•	 No right turns on red at  

these intersections. 
•	 If turning right on a green light, 

signal and check for and yield to 
cyclists to the right.

•	 (The color of the bike box may vary.)
Graphic provided by  
City of Portland Bureau of Transportation
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complex 
driving skills

AFTER your teen masters starting and stopping the vehicle, 

backing, parking, and turns, THEN practice more complex 

driving skills. Make sure your teen learns, practices, and can 

demonstrate advanced driving skills to your satisfaction.

Changing Lanes

Common Errors When Changing Lanes
•	 Fails to check front, rear, and sides for a stable gap
•	 Insufficient space or time to 

move into the new lane
•	 Fails to signal
•	 Steers too quickly, too much or 

not smooth and gradual into the 
new lane

•	 Unnecessary slowing
•	 Fails to cancel signal
•	 Exceeds speed limit
•	 Crosses multiple lanes at one time
•	 Drifts while checking blind spot

Proper Procedures for Changing Lanes
1.	Check (a) mirrors, (b) to the front,  

(c) to the back, (d) to the side, and 
(e) blind spot for a stable gap.

2.	Signal and use the proper 
lane position.

Blind Spot: the area that is 

not visible to the driver without 

turning their head and looking.

Definition
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Blind Spot: the area that is not 

visible to the driver without turning 

their head and looking.

Path of Travel: the area you want 

the car to go.

Definitions
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3.	Check your blind spot again.
4.	Maintain your speed or increase speed if necessary — NEVER 

slow unnecessarily.
5.	Move to the new lane purposefully and gradually at a slight angle. 
6.	Adjust speed to surrounding traffic.
7.	Cancel turn signal.
8.	Check rearview mirror.
9.	Create separation or “open space” to the front, rear, and sides of  

your vehicle.

Passing

Common Errors When Passing 
•	 Not looking ahead for a clear path
•	 Fails to signal
•	 Accelerates too soon 
•	 Tailgates vehicle to be passed
•	 Speed too slow while passing
•	 Steers too quickly or too much 

into the passing lane
•	 Returns to lane too soon
•	 Fails to cancel signal
•	 Exceeds speed limit
•	 Passes unnecessarily
•	 Passes in a no passing zone

Proper Procedures for Passing

1.	 FIRST, ask yourself if passing  
at the time is necessary, legal,  
and safe.

2.	 Search your intended path of 
travel far ahead to determine 
any obstacles.
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3.	 Check mirrors and blind spot.
4.	 Signal in the direction of the pass. 
5.	 Increase speed to at least 10 mph faster than the car 

you are passing, but stay within the legal speed limit.
6.	 Move smoothly into the passing lane.
7.	 Change signal to the opposite direction. 
8.	 Check the blind spot.
9.	 Return to the lane when you can see 

the headlights of the vehicle you 
passed in your rearview mirror.

10.	Cancel signal and resume 
safe and legal speed.

11.	Check rearview 
mirror.
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Blind Spot: the area that is 

not visible to the driver without 

turning their head and looking.

Path of Travel: the area you 

want the car to go. 

Controlled Braking: firm, steady, 

even pressure on the brake pedal.

Velocitation: the effect that 

you are going faster than you 

think you are when you exit 

the freeway. Make sure you do 

frequent speedometer checks to 

help adjust your speed.

Definitions
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Entering the Freeway

Common Errors When Entering the Freeway
•	 Speed too slow
•	 Fails to signal
•	 Fails to yield to 

other vehicles 
already on freeway

•	 Fails to check traffic 
to front and rear

•	 Drifts while 
checking traffic

•	 Poor gap judgment
•	 Turns steering 

wheel too sharply
•	 Fails to cancel signal

Proper Procedures 
for Acceleration Lane
1.	 Check ALL mirrors.
2.	 Keep 4+ seconds of space to the front of you.
3.	 Accelerate smoothly and briskly to match the 

flow of traffic. 

Proper Procedures for Merging
4.	 Communicate your intentions with signal and 

lane position.
5.	 Check front, rear, and blind spot for a stable gap 

in traffic in your intended path of travel.

6.	 Merge smoothly into the gap in traffic.

7.	 Adjust speed to surrounding traffic.
8.	 Cancel turn signal.
9.	 Check rearview mirror.
10.	Create separation or “open space” to the 

front, rear, and sides of your vehicle.
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Exiting the Freeway

Common Errors When Exiting  
the Freeway
•	 Fails to see exit ramp in advance
•	 Reduces speed before exit ramp
•	 Fails to signal
•	 Fails to check rearview mirror
•	 Fails to reduce speed on exit ramp
•	 Fails to cancel signal
•	 Cuts over from left lane at the last minute

Proper Procedures for Exiting  
the Freeway
1.	Plan for the exit – read the signs.
2.	Move to the appropriate lane well  

in advance.
3.	Signal and check rearview mirror.
4.	Maintain speed until you enter the  

exit lane.
5.	Enter the exit ramp and use controlled 

braking. Reduce speed to posted speed 
or less.

6.	Beware of velocitation and adjust your 
speed and lane position in preparation for 
stopping and/or turning. 

7.	Check rearview mirror.

NOTE: Adjust procedures for the following: 

•	 Traffic stopped on the exit ramp
•	 Short deceleration lane
•	 Very slow ramp speed
•	 Other drivers following you at high speed 

or close distance
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Railroad Grade Crossings

Common Errors for Railroad Crossing 
•	 Does not take railroad crossing seriously
•	 Fails to LOOK and LISTEN for oncoming trains
•	 Fails to ensure ALL tracks are clear
•	 Stops too close to the tracks
•	 Races to beat crossing arms when lights flash

Proper Procedures for Railroad Crossing
8.	 Slow down, whether the lights are blinking or not, and check the 

rearview mirror for traffic behind you.
9.	 LOOK and LISTEN for oncoming trains.
10.	 Determine the number of tracks and check EACH track in both 

directions.
11.	 If a train is approaching or the crossing lights are blinking, STOP at 

least 15 feet from the tracks or at the stop line.
12.	 When the tracks are clear as far as you can see in both directions, cross 

the tracks. 
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School Zones
•	 Stop and remain stopped when a traffic patrol member (school crossing 

guard) signals you to stop.
•	 Be alert at all times for children, bicyclists, and pedestrians in a school zone.
•	 Follow the signs or flashing lights that warn you that you are approaching 

a school or school crossing.
•	 Obey the slower speed limits.
•	 Signs may be posted in school zones notifying drivers that traffic fines are 

higher in a school zone.

These Signs Mean School Zone or Crossing Ahead:
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Crosswalks
Pedestrians are vulnerable users of the roadway and drivers must use 
responsible driving behavior at all crosswalks. There is a crosswalk at every 
intersection, even if it is not marked by painted lines (unmarked). Drivers 
must not stop with any portion of their vehicle overhanging the crosswalk 
and must not block the crosswalk when stopped at a red light or stop sign.

Never pass another car that is slowing or stopped at a crosswalk. The driver 
may be waiting for a pedestrian to cross the road. This is a frequent cause of 
death to pedestrians.

Stop and remain stopped for a pedestrian crossing a crosswalk when the 
pedestrian is:

•	 Crossing where a traffic patrol member (school crossing guard) signals 
you to stop,

•	 In your lane of travel,
•	 In a lane next to your lane of travel, or
•	 In the lane you are turning into.
AND

•	 If you are turning at an intersection that has a traffic signal, the pedestrian 
must be six feet or more past the lane you are turning into before you 
begin your turn.

•	 If you are turning at an intersection that doesn’t have a traffic signal, the 
pedestrian must be past the lane you are turning into, plus the next lane, 
before you begin your turn.

A “lane” includes a bicycle lane and the part of the roadway where a vehicle 
stops, stands or parks that is next to that lane.
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Night Driving

Preparation
Give your teen planned and practical night driving experience. Set up a time when 
you and your teen will be free from other obligations. Night driving should be 
undertaken in a relaxed atmosphere. Select a local route that your beginning driver 
has driven before. Have in mind those experiences that need to be covered.

Night Driving and Headlights
Understand the limitations of the high and low beam headlights and how those 
limitations affect ones ability to gather critical information, make the best 
speed choices and understand the space and time required to stop the vehicle.

Switch to low beam when approaching another vehicle. If the other driver 
fails to switch to low beam, slow and move to lane position 3. Don’t look 
directly into the headlights and look to the right edge of the road until the 
vehicle passes.

You need 2-4 seconds to stop. If you can’t see beyond your vehicle’s 
headlights during this range, slow down. You may be “driving blind”.

High beam headlights in good condition illuminate approximately 350 feet.

Low beam headlights in good condition illuminate approximately 182 feet.

•	Traveling at 50 mph with low beam  
headlights a driver is able to see approximately 
2½ seconds of illuminated roadway (182 feet) 
and needs a total of 190 feet to stop the vehicle. 

•	At 30 mph a driver is able to see a little more 
than 4 seconds ahead with low beam headlights 
and 8 seconds ahead with high beam headlights. 

•	Traveling at 60 mph with high beam headlights a 
driver is able to see only 4 seconds ahead. 

•	To gather critical information drivers need to 
see 12 to 15 seconds ahead. Look well beyond 
the headlights in illuminated areas. In rural 
areas choose speeds that afford you the best 
opportunity to get the information you need to 
make critical decisions. 
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Path of Travel: the area you want 

the car to go.

 Target Area: the actual space 

you intend the vehicle to travel on 

the roadway.

Definition
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Skid Recovery
Skidding can happen at any time, on any surface, during braking, 
accelerating or steering. Drivers are no longer supposed to “steer in the 
direction of the skid.” New drivers are taught to “steer toward the target 
area.” This allows you to focus on the front of the vehicle and the path that 
you want your vehicle to travel. 

Proper Procedures for Skid Recovery
1.	As you drive, you should always 

focus on the target area. 
2.	The instant you detect the 

vehicle skid, turn the steering 
wheel back toward the target 
area without hesitation. 

NOTE: It is important to get the 
vehicle back on its path of travel 
before it gets 15-25° off. That is your 
point of no return. Once the skid reaches that angle, the vehicle is going to 
keep going in the direction of the skid.

Don’t give up — stay off the pedals, keep your eyes on the target area, and 
keep working to get the car back under control. 
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Driving in Bad Weather
•	 Drive at reduced speeds
•	 Leave more space between your vehicle and those ahead
•	 Drive with your headlights on
•	 Don’t use cruise control
Check weather conditions on your travel route. Use Oregon’s Trip Check 
www.tripcheck.com or dial 5-1-1 to check current weather and 
road conditions.

Be sure to carry chains or have traction tires on your vehicle.
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Hood Flies Up:
1.	  Look through the space at the bottom of your windshield to 

maintain an open line of sight.
2.	  Steer to the side of the road.
3.	  Secure the hood.

Engine Fails:
This could happen when the engine quits running completely, becomes 
flooded, overheats or is simply out of gas. In the event of an engine failure:

1.	  Stay off the brake – you may need the momentum to pull off the 
road – steer firmly.

2.	  Keep eyes on open target area.
3.	  Use an open palm to shift to neutral and attempt to restart – if that 

fails take an open escape path.
4.	  Turn off ignition.

Accelerator Sticks:
This could be caused by a broken spring, or the pedal being stuck in 
the down position. In either case:

1.	  Shift to neutral – use an open palm. 
2.	  Search for an escape path.
3.	  Steer smoothly. 
4.	  Brake gently.
5.	  Pull off the roadway.
6.	  Turn off the ignition.

EEmergencies
			        — How to Handle Them

Vehicle Malfunctions
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Brakes Fail:
A brake failure can be a complete loss of brakes or only the power brakes 
fail. If the brakes quit working:

1.	  Keep eyes on target area.
2.	  Control steering.
3.	  Rapidly pump the brakes.
4.	  Shift to a lower gear.
5.	  Use the parking brake to slow or stop.
6.	  Find a soft crash area if necessary.

Tire Blowout
Blowouts can cause serious damage to vehicles and injury or death to occupants. 

1.	  Aim to the target area — where you want the car to go.
2.	  Reduce speed gradually:

•	 Maintain balance 
•	 Stay off brake

3.	  Control steering.
4.	  Find a safe place to pull off the road.

Engine Fire
If the car catches on fire, 

1.	  Steer the vehicle out of traffic and away from buildings and people. 
2.	  Have all occupants leave the vehicle immediately and move away.
3.	  Do not open the hood.

Vehicle Malfunctions cont.
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If You have a Crash:

•	Stop immediately without needlessly blocking or 
endangering other traffic. Do not leave your vehicle where it can 
block traffic unless it’s so damaged it can’t be moved. 

•	Turn off the ignition to avoid the possibility of a fire.

•	Aid the injured and give first aid if necessary. Never move an injured 
person unless there is danger of fire or another collision.

•	Prevent further damage by warning oncoming traffic with 
flares or reflectors.

•	If an emergency, call 911.

•	Exchange information. Be sure to get:
•	 Names and addresses
•	 Driver license numbers
•	 License plate numbers
•	 Insurance company name, address, and policy number

•	Note the names of passengers and their position in  
the car.

•	Record witnesses’ names and addresses.

•	File an accident report. Oregon requires an accident report 
be filed with DMV anytime there is:
•	 Damage to the vehicle you were driving  

over $1,500. 
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•	 Damage to any vehicle over $1,500 and any vehicle is towed 
from the scene as a result of damages from this accident.

•	 Injury or death resulted from this accident.
•	 Damages to any one person’s property, other than a vehicle 

involved in this accident, is over $1,500.

If You’re Stopped by Law Enforcement:

•	Be prepared to show:
•	 Instruction permit or driver license
•	 Vehicle registration
•	 Proof of insurance

•	Wait for the officer to ask you for these documents before you 
reach for them.

•	Communicate with the officer where you are retrieving the 
items: “My registration is in the glove box, may I get it now?”
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What happens if you mess up?
You may lose driving privileges under the Provisional Driver Improvement Program.

If you get two driver improvement violations or are in two preventable crashes 
or a combination of either totaling two, your driving privileges will be restricted 
for 90 days. During the restriction, you are ONLY allowed to drive to and from work. Driver 
improvement violations include, but are not limited to, speeding, running a red 
light, not wearing a safety belt, and violating any of the Graduated Licensing 
restrictions such as driving with friends or late at night when you’re not supposed 
to or talking on a cell phone or texting while driving. 

If you get three driver improvement violations or are in three preventable crashes or a 
combination of either totaling three, your driving privileges will be suspended for six 
months. The suspension will continue even if you turn 18 during the suspension period.

One conviction for a serious offense, such as reckless driving, driving under the 
influence of intoxicants or attempting to elude a police officer, will result in a one-
year suspension.

Under Oregon’s implied consent law, if you are under 21, any amount of alcohol in 
the blood while operating a vehicle is considered Driving Under the Influence of 
Intoxicants (DUII). If you are arrested for DUII and:
•	 You take a breath test and fail it – Your license will be suspended for 90 days. If you’ve 

had any prior alcohol-related offenses, your license will be suspended for one year. 
•	 You refuse to take a breath test – Your license will be suspended for one year. If 

you’ve had any prior alcohol-related offenses your license will be suspended for 
three years.

The above suspensions will be imposed in addition to a one-year suspension if 
you are convicted for a DUII.

If you are convicted of delivery, manufacture or possession of a controlled 
substance or if you are convicted or determined by a juvenile court of being in 
possession or use or abuse of alcohol, the court can order a denial of your driving 
privileges for one year or more. This includes having consumed the alcohol, 
holding the alcohol or attempting to purchase alcohol. You will be fined and/or 
required to perform community service and may be sent by the court to receive an 
alcohol assessment and/or complete treatment at your own expense. The offense 
does not have to involve a motor vehicle.
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To qualify for a license you must:
Have an instruction permit for at least six months, AND

Complete an approved traffic safety education course AND at least 50 hours of 
supervised driving practice; OR

Complete 100 hours of supervised driving practice.

The supervising driver must be someone who is at least 21 years old and has had a valid driver license for 
at least three years.

After you get your license, there are restrictions on driving:

It is unlawful to operate a motor vehicle while using a mobile communication 
device. This includes texting or talking on your cell phone, even with a hands-free 
accessory. Once you turn 18, different restrictions may apply.

For the first 6 months:
No passengers under 20 years of age unless they are a member of your immediate 
family, AND no driving between midnight and 5 a.m. unless for a reason in the 
list of exceptions below.

For the second 6 months:
No more than 3 passengers under 20 years of age unless they are a member of 
your immediate family AND no driving between midnight and 5 a.m. unless for 
a reason in the list of exceptions below.

Exceptions to driving between midnight and 5 a.m. for the first year: 
•	 Driving between home and work
•	 Driving between home and a school event for which there is no other  

transportation available
•	 Driving for employment purposes
•	 When accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 25 years of age

The passenger and night driving restrictions apply until you turn 18, or have a 
license for one year, whichever comes first.

The first 6 months of restrictions will end on ______________ (date). 

The second 6 months of restrictions will end on ______________(date). 

If you don’t follow these rules you could get a ticket, pay fines, your insurance rates 
can go up or your license could be suspended. Driving comes with responsibility. 
Remember, driving is a privilege – not a right.
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Initials

Practice Driving Log
Use this log to keep track of your teen’s behind-the-wheel practice and their progress 
toward becoming a safe driver!  Keep this log in your vehicle and write down every 
time you and your teen practice driving. Under state law you need at least 50 
hours of driving practice if you pass an approved ODOT–TSD traffic safety education 
course. Otherwise, you need at least 100 hours of supervised driving practice. 
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Continue to use this log to keep track of your teen’s behind-the-wheel practice and their 
progress toward safe driving.
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progress toward safe driving.



Date Session Topic Time 
(hrs/min) 

Cumulative 
Hours

Driver 
Initials

Adult’s 
Initials

Practice Driving Log
Continue to use this log to keep track of your teen’s behind-the-wheel practice and their 
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