Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

U.S. Flag Information
The Flag of the United States of America

         I pledge Allegiance to the flag of the United States

 of America and to the Republic
for which it stands,
one nation,
under God, indivisible,
with Liberty and
Justice for all. 
When to Display the Flag
Flying the U.S. flag is appropriate every day.  The customary days to display the flag, according to the Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW) and the U.S. Army, are listed below. 
New Years Day
January 1
Martin Luther King Day
January 19
Inauguration Day
January 20 (2017)
President's Day
February 16
Mother's Day 
May 10
Armed Forces Day
May 16
Memorial Day (observed)
May 25
Flag Day
June 14
Father's Day
June 21
Independence Day
July 4
Spirit of '45 Day (recognizing WWII veterans)​ ​August 11
Labor Day
September 7
Patriot Day
September 11
POW/MIA Recognition Day
September 18
Gold Star Mother's Day
September 27
Veterans Day
November 11
Thanksgiving Day
November 26
National Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day 
December 7
Christmas Day
December 25
Half-Staff until sunset
Half-Staff until noon
See the full story of the Star Spangled Banner, click here.
1775 and beyond
1775 - The United States Navy originated as the Continental Navy, by a Continental Congress resolution on Oct. 13, 1775.  The first flag had the image of a rattlesnake stretched out across it with the motto "Don't Tread on Me."
1777 - The Flag Resolution of June 14, 1777 states: "Resolved: that the flag of the United States be made of 13 stripes, alternate red and white; that the union be thirteen stars, white in a blue field, representing a new Constellation."
1794 - Provided 15 stripes and 15 stars after May 1795. Act of Jan. 13, 1794.
1818 - Provided 13 stripes and one star for each state, to be added to the flag on July 4th following the admission of each new state. Act of April 4, 1818.
1912 - Executive Order of President William Howard Taft dated June 24, 1912, established proportions of the flag and provided for arrangement of the stars in six horizonatal rows of eight each, a single point of each star to be upward.
1959 - Executive Order of President Dwight D. Eisenhower, dated Jan. 3, 1959, provided for the arrangement of the stars in seven rows of seven stars each, staggered horizontally and vertically.
1959 - Executive Order of President Dwight D. Eisenhower, dated Aug. 21, 1959, provided for the arrangement of nine rows of stars staggered horizontally and 11 rows of stars staggered vertically.
Red, White and Blue
"The flag is the emblem of our unity, our power, our thought and purpose as a nation. It has no other character than that which we give it from generation to generation."
                                                                            -- President Woodrow Wilson, 1917
& Justice
Guidelines for Flag Use and Display
Use and display of the U.S. flag by civilians, civilian groups, and organizations are governed by 36 USC 173. Go to "How to Honor and Display the American Flag."
Guidelines for Displaying - Public Law 94-344
Public Law 94-344, known as the Federal Flag Code, contains rules for handling and displaying the U.S. Flag. While the federal code contains no penalties for misusing the flag, states have their own flag codes and may impose penalties. The language of the federal code makes clear that the flag is a living symbol. In response to a Supreme Court decision, which held that a state law prohibiting flag burning was unconstitutional, Congress enacted the Flag Protection Act in 1989.  It provides that anyone who knowingly desecrates the flag may be fined and/or imprisoned for up to one year. 
Disposal of Flag Disposal
When the flag is worn out or otherwise no longer a fitting emblem for display, it should be destroyed in a dignified way, preferably by burning. Proper flag disposal is one of the patriotic duties that VFW Posts conduct nationwide