Several changes made by the Oregon Legislature to the state's lobbying laws will be forthcoming. If you have any specific questions please call 503-378-5105.
2013 Legislative Changes to Lobby Law
HB 3528 (effective July 1, 2013 with sunset of June 30, 2015)
· Amends 171.745 to exclude the reporting of amounts expended by a lobbyist on lobbying another lobbyist or on lobbying a lobbyist’s client. The exclusion does not apply if the person lobbied is a legislative official, an executive official or a member of a state board or commission.
HB 2078 (effective January 1, 2014):
· Adds agreement to provide personal services for money or other consideration for the purpose of lobbying to 171.735(4), which describes who must register as a lobbyist.
· Amends 171.740(1) to allow 10 business days rather than 3 for lobbyists to file a lobbying registration after meeting the initial time or money registration threshold. It further provides that a registration must be filed within 10 days of a lobbyist agreeing to provide personal services for the purpose of lobbying.
· Clarifies in 171.740(5) that a lobbyist registration expires on December 31 of each odd-numbered year and that if a lobbyist renews a registration by January 31 of the following even-numbered year, then the renewed registration shall be considered to be effective as of the prior December 31. This ensures registrations are in effect before the even-numbered year’s February legislative session.
· Removes 171.745(4), which allows a group of associated lobbyists to file one combined report for the group rather than individually as is required of all other lobbyists.
· Removes 171.992(4)(a) and (b), which requires submission of a periodic report to the Legislative Assembly regarding violations of lobby law and associated penalties imposed for same. Information will now be available on agency’s website.
Please call the Oregon Government Ethics Commission office at 503-378-5105 if you need clarification or have other questions.