Skip to main content
Oregon.gov Homepage

Vital Records Fees

On this page:


New fees coming January 1, 2018

On January 1, 2018 the next phase of the 2016 fee increase will take effect. The change in fee is part of existing rule and does not require another rule update. The fees for the first copy of a vital record will remain the same. The fee for each additional copy will be $25.00. You can find more information at our 2018 Fee Increase webpage.


Fees for Services through December 31, 2017

Mail Orders First Copy Additional Copies
Mail order for one certificate (or one record search) $25.00 $20.00
Mail order for full image birth certificate (1903-2007) $30.00 $30.00
   
In Person Orders
Walk-in order for one certificate (or one record search) $28.25 $20.00
Walk-in order for full image birth certificate (1903-2007) $33.25 $30.00
Adding a different record to a group order (to add full image birth record add $5) $25.00 $20.00
   
Telephone & Internet Orders
Telephone order for one record - includes $7 expedite fee, and  $12.95 VitalChek vendor fee and security fee for applicant identity verification and ID review $44.95 $20.00
Telephone order for one full image birth record (1903-2007) $49.95 $30.00
Internet order for one record - includes $7 expedite fee and $11 VitalChek vendor fee and security fee for applicant identity verification and ID review $43.00 $20.00
Internet order for one full image birth record (1903-2007) $48.00 $30.00
Adding a different record to a group order (to add full image birth record add $5) $25.00 $20.00
Optional service: UPS Next Day Air - Continental United States $20.00 N/A
Optional service: UPS Next Day Air - Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico $23.00 N/A
Optional service: UPS Next Day Air - Canada, Mexico $24.00 N/A
Optional service: UPS Worldwide Express (not all countries or locations available - confirm destination at ups.com) $34.50 N/A
 
Record Corrections, Amendments, and Registration Fees
Correction or amendment fee - birth and death records $35.00 N/A
Delayed registration of birth fee - does not include cost of certificate $35.00 N/A
Correction or amendment expedite fee (by prior arrangement)Orders must be shipped by certified mail or overnight delivery to get expedited processing $30.00 N/A
Commemorative Stillbirth Certificate $25.00 $25.00
Preadoption Birth Certificate $30.00 $30.00
Certified No Record of Marriage (5 year search) $25.00 $20.00
NOTE: If records are ordered at the walk-in counter, by telephone, or on the internet, additional fees apply.
 
Archive Searches
Extended search for death, marriage, or divorce records - add $1 for every additional year to be searched. The basic fee covers a five year search. $1 per year N/A

NSF Checks

A penalty not to exceed $35 may be assessed for NSF (non-sufficient fund) checks per ORS 30.701 (5). In the event that your check is returned unpaid for insufficient or uncollected funds, we may present your check electronically. In the ordinary course of business, your check will not be provided to you with your bank statement but a copy can be retrieved by other means.


Refund Policy

Oregon charges a search fee for records. Once an order is received and processed, the record fees are not refundable. If you order multiple copies and the record cannot be found, the fees for the first record search will be retained but the fees for the extra copies will be refunded. If your order makes it clear the record is filed in another state, or that it is not available because the event occurred prior to when birth, death, marriage or divorce records were filed, the record search will not be completed and the fee will be automatically refunded. If you contact us to cancel an order, fees will be refunded only if the record search has not been started. If you place an order at the public counter, by telephone, or on the internet, you will be charged for additional services such as the VitalChek vendor fee, the security fee to check the applicant's identity and the order expedite fee. These fees will not be refunded once a search for the record has been started.

If you are charged fees by any internet company other than the VitalChek Network, the Oregon Vital Records office will not be able to assist you with canceling the order, locating the vendor, or refunding the fees. You must contact the vendor directly or work directly with your credit card company to dispute any charges to your card.


Why Fees Must Be Charged

Oregon has chosen to fund its Center for Health Statistics with fees. Fees for records cover approximately 68 percent of the cost of staff, systems, equipment, services and supplies to:

  • Register approximately 128,000 birth, death, fetal death, marriage, dissolution of marriage, Oregon registered domestic partner and dissolution of Oregon registered domestic partner records that are filed each year;
  • Continue to collect and analyze data to produce quality reports for use by public and private agencies;
  • Continue to maintain more than five million vital records filed since 1903 and develop improved registration, storage, data analysis, retrieval, issuance and archiving systems for the future;
  • Improve speed and processing of orders while screening applicants to prevent identity theft. Oregon uses the VitalChek Network to take and process orders placed on the internet, by telephone and in person to screen the identity of applicants and provide faster processing of orders for records;
  • Complete and track all changes to vital records to add missing data, correct errors, and complete amendments according to laws related to adoption, establishing paternity, court ordered changes and delayed and court registration of records.

Twenty-two percent of our budget is provided by agencies across Oregon state government that use vital records information to serve Oregon residents. The remaining ten percent of funds that support the Oregon Center for Health Statistics come from contracts and grants.


Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×