

Hours: Mon & Wed – Fri: 8:00 am – 4:30 pm Tues: 9:00 am – 4:30 pm

We're open during the lunch hour to serve our customers.





HEALTH LICENSING OFFICE

Board of Cosmetology

You've just graduated from an Oregon cosmetology career school, or completed the training modules for natural hair care...

> Now, how do you get certified to practice?

Congratulations from the **Health Licensing Office (HLO)** and **Board of Cosmetology** on your recent graduation from one of Oregon's cosmetology career schools, or successful completion of the natural hair care training modules.



Before Taking the Written Examination

- Applicants graduating from an Oregon career school must submit transcripts: Confirm with the HLO that your school transcripts have been submitted to the HLO by your school. Your school must submit your transcripts directly to the HLO.
- Applicants for Natural Hair Care certification (NHC): Must submit a copy of the certificate of completion showing proof of having completed the natural hair care training module.
- □ All applicants must submit a completed practitioner application: Fillable application and other forms are available at www.oregon.gov/OHLA/COS/forms.shtml.
- All applicants must pay required fee(s): See application for required fees. Cash, check or credit card for payment of fees is accepted. No third-party checks, please.

□ All applicants must provide required Identification:



Submit two forms of acceptable original identification issued by a federal, state or local government agency of the United States. **One form must be photographic. For example:** US passport, driver's license, Social Security card, original or certified copy of birth certificate.

Taking the Written Examination

Conducted on a walk-in basis: We recommend you arrive at 9:00 am if you will be taking examinations for two or more fields of practice. Applicants are allowed 1½ hours per examination section and for the Oregon Laws & Rules section.



Receive same-day certification at the HLO in Salem: When you take and pass the written examination at the Office in Salem, you'll receive same-day certification. You'll be able to work the same day!

After Passing the Written Examination

- Go to front counter
- □ Pay certification fee(s)
- □ Now you're certified and ready to practice!

If at First You Don't Succeed: Examination Retake Policy

All fields of practice except natural hair care:

If you fail the written examination, you must wait seven days before retaking the examination (on the first and second attempts).

After the third and sixth failed attempts, you must wait 30 days before retaking the examination. Prior to the fourth attempt, you must complete an additional 100 hours of training.

Natural hair care:

First two failed attempts may be retaken on the same day. After the second and subsequent failed attempt you must wait seven days.