House Bill 3100
In 2011, the Oregon Legislature passed HB 3100 (ORS 161.309) which provided for the certification of licensed psychiatrists and psychologists. The Oregon Health Authority (OHA) was given the responsibility to determine the process of this certification. As of January 1st, 2012, however, a court is not allowed to accept reports, under ORS 161.295 and 419C.411, for guilty except for insanity (aka criminal responsibility) from an uncertified evaluator. Courts are also not allowed to appoint and uncertified evaluator to perform and evaluation for fitness to proceed (aka adjudicative competency) under 161.365 or 419C.524.
OHA convened a rule advisory committee which determined certification criteria, training requirements, and temporary rule language. Psychiatrists and Licensed Psychologists who have applied and met the initial criteria have been granted temporary certification until 6/30/2012, to allow for attendance at the Oregon Forensic Evaluator training and a review of three redacted forensic evaluations by a peer review panel.
For additional information or to complete the required application, please contact:
How to Gain Forensic Evaluator Certification
Types of Certification and Requirements
A psychiatrist must have a current license to practice in Oregon, participate in and successfully complete the Oregon Forensic Evaluator Training, and submit for peer review three redacted forensic evaluations completed within the previous 24 months. If the applicant desires to perform criminal responsibility evaluations, at least one redacted sample shall be an evaluation of criminal responsibility.
A licensed psychologist must have a current Oregon license to practice, participate in and successfully complete the Oregon Forensic Evaluator Training, and submit for peer review three redacted forensic evaluations completed within the previous 24 months. If the applicant desires to perform criminal responsibility evaluations, at least one redacted sample shall be an evaluation of criminal responsibility, or
If no redacted forensic evaluations are available an applicant may perform evaluations of those charged with crimes other than aggravated murder, murder or ballot measure 11 offenses for the purpose of generating reports to the Authority for peer review. The applicant must notify the Authority at the time of application that they will be doing evaluations for this purpose and a Temporary Certification will be issued.
Psychiatrists and Licensed Psychologists meeting the above criteria for full certification who desire to perform competency and criminal responsibility evaluations for juveniles shall participate in the specialized segment of the Oregon Forensic Evaluator Training and at least one of the three required redacted forensic evaluations shall be for juvenile competency or criminal responsibility.
Full Certification has a maximum duration of 24 months from certification date.
Psychiatrists and licensed psychologists who submit an application for Forensic Evaluator Certification will be granted a Temporary Certification, valid January 1, 2012 through on June 30, 2012, for the purpose of allowing applicants to participate in and successfully complete the Oregon Forensic Evaluator Training Program. Applicants shall provide three redacted forensic evaluations, completed within the previous 24 months. If the applicant desires to perform criminal responsibility evaluations, at least one redacted sample shall be an evaluation of criminal responsibility, for the purposes of peer review prior to 6/1/2012. Applicants who successfully complete the training and provide the required documents will be granted a full certification based on the requirements above;
Psychiatrists and licensed psychologists who submit application for Forensic Evaluator Certification on or after July 1, 2012 will be granted a Temporary Certification until participation in and successful completion of the Oregon Forensic Evaluator Training and submission of three redacted forensic evaluations. If the applicant desires to perform criminal responsibility evaluations, at least one redacted sample shall be an evaluation of criminal responsibility for peer review. Applicants must attend at the next regularly scheduled training date. Applicants who successfully complete the training will be granted a full certification based on the requirements above.
Temporary certification has a maximum duration of 6 months. An extension of an additional 6 months may be granted by the Authority upon a showing of good cause.
A psychiatrist or licensed psychologist may be granted conditional certification by the court if not meeting the requirements of Full Certification or Temporary Certification, if exigent circumstances exist such as an out of state expert evaluation being sought, or an unusual expertise is required. The court will notify the Authority of the granting of a conditional certification. Conditional Certification ends at the disposition of the particular case for which the conditional certification was granted.
Forensic Mental Evaluators and Evaluations Rule (Final)
Applying for Certification
To obtain certification as a Forensic Evaluator an applicant must complete and submit an application.
Certified Provider List
List of forensic evaluators - 5/15/2013
Oregon Certified Forensic Evaluator Training Announcement
Oregon Health Authority-Addictions and Mental Health Division is sponsoring the required training for individuals to become Certified Forensic Evaluators. There is no additional cost for attending the training for currently certified evaluators or individuals who have applied for forensic certification. CE and CME credit will be available. Evaluators who have already attended the training are welcome to attend however the Oregon Board of Psychologist Examiners should be consulted before using CE from a repeat training to satisfy licensing requirements.
The initial Oregon Certified Forensic Evaluator Training has two components: The first two full days of training will cover the Initial Certified Forensic Evaluator Training. The final half day is optional for individuals wanting to perform competency and criminal responsibility evaluations for juveniles.
The training is being offered on June 6-8, 2013 at the Pacific University School of Professional Psychology, 190 SE 8th Ave. Hillsboro, OR 97123. Please note that this is a date change from previous announcements. Parking is available at the Intermodal Parking Facility on 8th and Baseline Rd. The campus is easily accessible by MAX.
The training is presented by Genevieve Arnaut, PhD; Michelle Guyton, PhD; Catherine Miller, PhD; Alex Millkey, PsyD; Stephanie Maya Lopez, MD; and Alex Bassos, J.D.
Please send an email to Forensic.Certification@state.or.us if you are interested in attending an upcoming session of training.