Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image



Gary Allen, DMD, MS, is board certified in Oral Pathology and Oral Medicine and is Dental Director for Advantage Dental. He held a variety of clinical, academic, research, advisory and command positions during a 26-year career with the U.S. Army, retiring as a Colonel in 1999. He is on the board of the Oregon Oral Health Coalition.
Term: 10/1/2015-12/31/2017

Wiley Chan, MD, an internal medicine physician from Portland, who retired from Kaiser Permanente Northwest after 30 years as a general internist and 12 years as Director of Guidelines and Evidence-based Medicine, but continues to serve as a locum tenens.
Term: 1/1/12-12/31/18

Irene Croswell, RPh, is a retail pharmacist for Haggen Pharmacy in Tualatin and is President of the Oregon State Pharmacy Association.
Pharmacy Representative
Term: 1/1/12-12/31/17

Leda Garside, RN, BSN, MBA, is the Clinical Nurse Manager for the ¡Salud! Program, an outreach program of the Tuality Healthcare Foundation in Hillsboro. Her 25-year nursing career includes acute care, occupational health services and, in the last 10 years, community and public health.
Public Health Nurse
Term: 1/1/12-12/31/16

Mark Gibson is the Director of the OHSU Center for Evidence-based Policy in Portland and a Program Officer for Millbank Memorial Fund. A former fire fighter, he has also served as Health Policy Advisor to the Oregon Governor’s Office.
Consumer Representative
Term: 1/1/12-12/31/19

Holly Jo Hodges, MD, is a board certified Family Medicine Physician from Eugene. Dr. Hodges is Medical Director for WVP Health Authority, working with the Willamette Community Health Coordinated Care Organization, in Salem. She is on the board of directors of Lane County Medical Society. Her more than 20 year career includes 13 years in full-spectrum Family Medicine in rural Central Oregon, 8 years of working in Public Health in 2 Oregon Counties and 3 years of urban Urgent Care experience.
Physician/Industry Representative
Term: 1/1/15–12/31/18

Chris Labhart, Grant County Commissioner, presently chair of the Eastern Oregon Coordinated Care Organization Community Advisory Council. Retired educator.
Consumer Representative
Term: 12/12/14–12/31/16

Kevin Olson, MD
Term: 2/17/16-2/16/20

Som Saha, MD, MPH, Chair, currently practices as a general internist at the Portland VA Medical Center and is an Associate Professor of Medicine and Public Health & Preventive Medicine at OHSU. He is an active member of the Oregon Evidence-based Practice Center and has served as Chair of the Health Services Commission.
Term: 1/1/12-12/31/17

Derrick Sorweide, DO, is a Board Certified Family Medicine physician who was in practice in Grants Pass, OR for 13 years and now teaches full time at the College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific- Northwest in Lebanon, OR.  He is also President of the Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons of Oregon.
Osteopathic Physician
Term: 5/22/2015-12/31/19

Kimberly Tippens, ND, MSAOM, MPH, is a naturopathic physician-researcher and Associate Professor of Research and Graduate Studies at the National University of Natural Medicine (NUNM). She is trained in acupuncture and traditional Chinese medicine as well as public health epidemiology and directs community-partnered research at the Helfgott Research Institute at NUNM.  
Alternative & Complementary Medicine Provider
Term: 2/17/16-2/16/20

Beth Kaplan Westbrook, PsyD, is a practicing clinical psychologist from Portland with over 30 years of experience in both inpatient and outpatient settings. She is certified in Child and Adolescent Psychotherapy, Group Work Training and Crisis Intervention and is Past President of the Oregon Psychological Association.
Behavioral Health Representative
Term: 1/1/12-12/31/17

Susan Williams, MD, is a board certified orthopedic surgeon in Roseburg.  She is in private practice of general orthopedics and spine surgery.  She is on the board of Oregon Association of Orthopedists, and Board of Councilors for the American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons.
Term: 5/1/13-12/31/18

Subcommittee Members:

EbGS, HTAS & VbBS Subcommittee Members (pdf)


Director Darren Coffman
Office: (503) 373-1616
email: darren.d.coffman@state.or.us ​

Medical Director

Ariel Smits, MD, MPH
Office: (503) 528-6538
email: ariel.smits@state.or.us

Associate Medical Director

Cat Livingston, MD, MPH
Office: (503) 373-1985
email: catherine.livingston@state.or.us

Policy Analyst

Jason Gingerich
Office: (503) 373-1771
email: jason.d.gingerich@state.or.us

Communications Specialist

Daphne Peck
Office: (503) 373-1985
email: daphne.peck@state.or.us