in the matter of
Brenda Holcombe
#0618961382

BEFORE THE HEALTH LICENSING OFFICE
OF THE STATE OF OREGON
BOARD OF DIRECT ENTRY MIDWIFERY

Proposed/Final Order
Assessing Civil Penalty
Notice of Right to
Request a Hearing

Licensee File No. 02-10

The Health Licensing Office in consultation with the Oregon Board of

Direct Entry Midwifery Hereby assesses a civil penalty against you in the amount
of $9,000 on the following grounds
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L.
FACTUAL ALLEGATIONS

During October 5 and 6, 2002, you failed to identify absolute and non-
absolute risks during the birthing process. (four counts) ($4,000)

Absolute and Non-absolute Risk:

-0 a) Birth mother failed o progress in active phase of labor with
_ presence of strong contractions.
.- & b) Fetus failed to descend within the expected time during active
pushing.

L - c) Birth mother retained placenta with suspected placenta accerta

\
J and retention time greater than three (3) hours.

¢ d) Apgarless than seven (7) at ten (10) minutes and hypotonia,

During the above mentioned birth you failed to take appropriate action to
ensure the Health and well being of the mother and the newborn. ($1,000)

During the above mentioned birth you failed to require your client to be
transported to a hospital for the birth. ($1,000)

During the above mentioned birth you failed to contact emergency medical
assistance for transport to hospital. ($1,000)



5) During the above mentioned birth you failed to consult with a licensed
o health care provider with hospital privileges. ($1,000)

6) During the above mentioned birth you failed to document consultation in
o client record and failing to document written informed choice. ($1,000)

The Board has designated its files on the subject of this matter as the
record in this case for purpose of proving a prima facie case upon defaulit.

II.
STATUTES AND RULES

The above conduct is a violation of Oregon Laws 1983, Chapter 362
and/or Oregon Laws 1999, Chapter 990, which states in relevant part:

OAR 332-025-0021
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(1) “Absolute Risk” as defined in OAR 332-015-000(31)(a) and indicators
referenced in the following subsections, means that clients presenting
these conditions or clinical situations are felt to be at extreme obstetrical
consideration appropriate candidates for out-of-hospital birth. Clients must
plan for an in hospital birth if risk factors are present in the antepartum,
intrapartum or postpartum periods, [f a risk factor first develops when birth
is imminent, the individual midwife must use judgment taking into account
the health and condition of the mother and baby to determine which is the
most safe for the mother and baby.
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(b) INTRAPARTUM ABSOLUTE RISK CRITERIA: suspected uterine
rupture; active herpes lesion in an unprotectable area; prolapsed cord or
cord presentation; abnormal bleeding; persistent fever of 202 degrees
Fahrenheit (38 degrees Centigrade) or above, taken orally; pre-eclampsia
/ eclampsia; amniotic fluid with thick or moderate/thick meconium and birth
not imminent; evidence of fetal distress or abnormal fetal heart rate
pattern unresponsive to treatment or inability to auscultate fetal heart
tones; excessive vomiting, dehydration, acidosis or exhaustion
unresponsive to treatment; blood pressure greater than or equal to
150/100 which persist or rises, and birth is not imminent; failure to
progress in active phase of labor with presence of strong contractions;
failure to descend within the expected time during active pushing,
generally 2 hours of primip and thour for multip; current substance abuse.



(c) POSTPARTUM ABSOLUTE RISK CRITERIA: retained placenta with
bleeding; retained placenta with suspected placenta accreta; retained
placenta greater than 3 hours; retained placenta greater than 30 minutes
with abnormal or significant bleeding;laceration requiring hospital repair;
uncontrolled postpartum bleeding; increasingly painful or enlarging
hematoma; development of pre-eclampsia; and signs or symptoms of
shock unresponsive fo treatment.

(d) INFANT ABSOLUTE RISK CRITERIA: Apgar less than 7 at 10
minutes of age; respiration rate greater than 80 in the first 2 hours
postpartum and greater than 60 thereafter, accompanied by any of the
following lasting more than one hour without improvement: nasal flaring,
grunting or retraction; cardiac irregularities, heart rate less than 80 or
greater than 160 (at rest) or any other abnormal or questionable cardiac
findings; seizures; temperature less than 97 degrees Fahrenheit (36.1
degrees Centigrade) or greater than 100.7 degrees Fahrenheit (38.2
degrees Centigrade) when taken rectally or any other evidence of
infectious process, apnea;central cyanosis; large or distended abdomen;
any infant which has required intubation; any infant where meconium has
been visualized at the level of the cords; any condition requiring more than
12 hour of observation postbirth; gestational age under 36 weeks;
persistent poor suck, hypotonia or a weak or high pitched cry; persistent
projectile vomiting or emesis of fresh blood; any infant with active AIDS;
and signs and symptoms of infection in the newborn.

(2) “Non-absolute” risk as defined in OAR 332-015-0000 (31)(b) and
“indicators referenced in the following subsections, includes situations that
sometimes place a client at increased obstetric or neonatal risk. Some of
the factors to consider regarding these non-absolute criteria would include
the specific midwife’s experience and expertise, the particular birth setting,
and the ease and time involved in assessing emergency transport/back-up -
systems. In order to allow for the individualization of these situations, the
non-absolute risk criteria do not automatically exclude a dlient from out-of-
hospital birth. Instead, they require careful consideration and consuitation
shall be with a licensed health care provider with hospital privileges and
may be conducted by telephone depending on the clinical and
geographical situation. Consultation shall be documented in the client
records as well as documentation of written client informed choice.

The Bdard has the authority tb impose a civil penalty under ORS 687.450
(2), which state in relevant part:

ORS 687.450
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(2) When the board finds any person has violated any grounds set forth in
subsection (1) of this section, the board may take one or more of the
following disciplinary actions:
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(c) Impose a civil penalty not to exceed $1,000 for each count or separate
offense.

ORS 183.090
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(1) A civil penalty imposed under this section shall become due and
payable 10 days after the order imposing the civil penalty becomes
final by operation of law or on appeal.
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(6) When an order assessing a civil penalty under this section becomes
final by operation of law or on appeal, and the amount of penalty is
not paid within 10 days after the order becomes final, the order may
be recorded with the county clerk in any county of this state. The clerk
shall thereupon record the name of the person incurring the penalty
and the amount of the penalty in the County Clerk Lien Record.

CONCLUSION

The foregoing is grounds for a civil penalty of $9,000

NOTICE OF RIGHT TO REQUEST A HEARING

You have the right to a hearing to contest this order. The hearing, if
requested, will be conducted according to the Administrative Procedures Act,
ORS chapter 183. A request for hearing must be in writing and must be received
by the Board of Direct Entry Midwifery within 30 days from the date this Order
Imposing Civil Penalty was mailed to you. The written request for a hearing must
be sent to the Board of Direct Entry Midwifery, 700 Summer St. NE, Suite 320,
Salem, Oregon 97301-1287. If you request a hearing, you will be notified of the
date, time and place of the hearing. If you request a hearing you may be
represented by an attorney at hearing and you may subpoena and cross-
examine witnesses. If you request a hearing, you will also be given information
on the procedures, right of representation and other rights relating to the conduct
of the hearing before the commencement of the hearing.




If you do not file a timely request for hearing, this order becomes final by
default 31 days after the date this Order Assessing Civil Penalty and Notice of
Right to Request a Hearing was mailed to you. If the order becomes final by
default, you may petition for judicial review of a final order to the Court of Appeals
as provided by ORS 183.482. To appeal you must file a petition for judicial
review with the Court of Appeals within 60 days from the day this order was
mailed. If you do not file a petition for judicial review within the 60-day time
period, you will lose your right to appeal. When the order becomes final, the
amount of the civil penalty must be paid within 10 days. If it is not paid within 10
days, the order may be recorded with the county clerk in any county of this state
in the county lien records.

DATED  APR 21 2003

Susan K. Wilson, Director
Health Licensing Office
Board of Direct Entry Midwifery

Bob Gruchalla
Chief Enforcement Officer
Regulatory Operations Division

Enclosures: Option form
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