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DIRECT ENTRY MIDWIFERY PRACTITIONER LICENSE APPLICATION 

1. Applicant Information  
APPLICANT NAME: LAST FIRST MIDDLE INTIAL 

        

RESIDENTIAL PHYSICAL ADDRESS (REQUIRED) 
      

CITY 
      

STATE 
   

ZIP 
      

MAILING ADDRESS (IF DIFFERENT FROM RESIDENTIAL ADDRESS) 
      

CITY 
      

STATE 
   

ZIP 
      

PHONE:  HOME  CELL  
      

BUSINESS TELEPHONE 
      

EMAIL 
       

GENDER 

 Female    Male 
BIRTHDATE 
      

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (REQUIRED) 
      

 Have you ever been known under any other name?   
 No   Yes – If yes, list full name(s):       

 Do you hold or have you previously held licensure, certification or registration with the Health Licensing Office or any 
other state?   No   Yes - If yes, please list information below. 

State:   Lic./Cert./Reg.#       Expiration:      

State:   Lic./Cert./Reg.#       Expiration:      

State:   Lic./Cert./Reg.#       Expiration:      

2.   ***(Complete This Section Only If Submitting Payment By Mail)*** 

Method Of Payment For Application Fee = $150; License Fee = $800 - Note: (As of July 1, 2015 

an applicant applying for an original license totaling $800 may be granted a $350 license fee discount for a total cost for the license 
$450 until July 1, 2019.  An application fee of $150 must be paid in order to grant the $350 license fee discount.  The license fee 
discount is available to individuals who meet all application requirements for direct entry midwifery licensure under OAR 332-015-
0030 and reside in Oregon. Only applicants who have not held a direct entry midwifery license in Oregon qualify for the discount.) 

Please check one:   Cash   Check   Money order   Purchase order  Credit card (see below) 

Type of Credit Card:  Visa   MasterCard   Discover (Cardholder must either be the applicant or be present at the 
time application is submitted)  Do Not Fax or Email Credit Card Information 

Name on card:        

Card number:      Exp:       Authorized amount: $       

Cardholder signature:    

(Do not write in this section – Official use only) 
License #:  Initials        OTC     Verified ID     Type:  

 

HEALTH LICENSING OFFICE 
Board of Direct Entry Midwifery 

 

1430 Tandem Ave. NE, Suite 180, Salem OR 97301 
  Phone: 503-378-8667 | Fax: 503-370-9004 

healthoregon.org/hlo | Email: hlo.info@state.or.us   



Return All Pages of this Application and Keep a Copy for Your Records 

 

3.  Individual Records Questions: Please accurately answer all of the questions below. The Office 
may review your information through the Law Enforcement Data System, other governmental agencies, and 
private vendors to confirm the accuracy of the information. Any misrepresentation or failure to disclose 
information may result in disciplinary action. 

 Are you now, or have you ever been, the subject of any active or inactive disciplinary action or voluntary 
resignation of a professional license, certificate, registration or permit imposed by a licensing or regulatory authority 
in this or any other state? Disciplinary action includes, but is not limited to, probation, suspension, civil penalty, or 
any other sanction limiting, in any way, a license, certificate, registration or permit.   Yes    No   If yes, please 
explain (attach additional pages if necessary):       

 Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?    Yes    No If yes, please list 
all  convictions, including the charges as stated in the court documents and year convicted (attach 
 additional pages if necessary). Year Convicted 

           

           

           

           

 As of today are you on probation or parole?    Yes    No   If yes, you must provide a letter of release from your 
probation or parole officer authorizing you to obtain an authorization to practice. If you are on bench probation, or 
probation with the court, you must provide documentation of your conditions of the probation.  

As part of your application for initial or renewed occupational or professional license, certification, or registration issued 
by the Health Licensing Office, you are required to provide your Social Security number (SSN) to the Office. This is 
mandatory. The authority for this requirement is ORS 25.785, ORS 305.385, 42 USC §405(c)(2)(C)(i), 42 USC § 
666(a)(13), and 41 CFR 61.7. Failure to provide your SSN will be a basis to refuse to issue or renew the license, 
certification, or registration you seek. This record of your SSN is used for child support enforcement and tax 
administration purposes (including identification). The HLO will use your SSN for these purposes only, unless you 
authorize other uses of the number. Your SSN will remain on file with the Office.  

I have examined this application and certify that it is true, correct, and complete. I understand that knowingly making a 
false statement on this application will be cause for denial, suspension, or revocation of my license, certification or 
registration. I have enclosed the required fees and documentation. 

Applicant Signature:  Date:  

ORS 181.534, 670.280, 676.608, and 676.612 authorize the Health Licensing Office to conduct criminal background 
checks and the office requests that you voluntarily provide your Social Security number for this purpose. I understand 
my application may be subject to a criminal background check.  

Before issuing a default final order, the Health Licensing Office must determine the military status of a Respondent, 
under 50 USC App § 521(b) (Supp. 2005).  Your Social Security Number may be used in order to verify your military 
status (or lack thereof).  

If any disciplinary action is taken against your license, certification, or registration, your Social Security Number may be 
reported to the federal Health Care Integrity and Protection Data Bank (NPDB) under Title IV of Public Law 99-660, the 
Health Care Quality Improvement Act of 1986 (Title IV); Section 1921 of the Social Security Act (Section 1921); Section 
1128E of the Social Security Act (Section 1128E); and their implementing regulations found at 45 CFR Part 60. 

I hereby voluntarily consent to disclose my Social Security number to the HLO for criminal background checks, 
verification of military status, and reports to the Health Care Integrity and Protection Data Bank.  Failure to provide your 
Social Security number for these purposes will not be used as a basis to deny your application, or to deny you any 
right, benefit or privilege provided by law. If you consent to the use of your Social Security number by the HLO for these 
purposes, it may be used only for these purposes. 

Applicant Signature:  Date:  



Return All Pages of this Application and Keep a Copy for Your Records 

 

4. Affirmative Action – Voluntary Question 

The State of Oregon has an Affirmative Action Policy.  If you choose to provide this information, it will help us evaluate 
the effectiveness of our affirmative action programs. This information will also be used in the aggregate (i.e. as a whole, 
not individually) for research and statistical purposes.  It will not be tied specifically or directly to your licensing 
information. 

Ethnic Background (check only one) 

 (A) Asian or Pacific Islander:  Persons having origins in any of the peoples of the Far East, Southeast Asia, the 
Indian subcontinent, or the Pacific Islands.  This area includes, for example, China, Japan, Korea, the Philippine 
Islands and Samoa. 

 (B) African American (not of Hispanic origin):  Persons having origins in any of the Black racial groups of Africa. 

 (H) Hispanic:  Persons of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, Central or South American or other Spanish cultures 
or origin, regardless of race. 

 (I) American Indian or Alaskan Native:  Persons having origins in any of the original peoples of North America, 
and who maintain cultural identification through tribal affiliation or community recognition. 

 (W) Caucasian (not of Hispanic origin): Persons having origins in any of the original peoples of Europe, North 
Africa or the Middle East. 



Return All Pages of this Application and Keep a Copy for Your Records 

REQUIREMENTS FOR DIRECT ENTRY MIDWIFERY LICENSE APPLICATION 
Applicant Must: 

  Submit a completed application form prescribed by the HLO, which must contain the information listed in 
OAR 331-030-0000 and be accompanied by payment of the required application fee = $150 and license 
fee = $800 (see method of payment section above).  Note: (As of July 1, 2015 an applicant applying for 
an original license totaling $800 may be granted a $350 license fee discount for a total cost for the license 
$450 until July 1, 2019.  An application fee of $150 must be paid in order to grant the $350 license fee 
discount.  The license fee discount is available to individuals who meet all application requirements for direct 
entry midwifery licensure under OAR 332-015-0030 and reside in Oregon. Only applicants who have not held 
a direct entry midwifery license in Oregon qualify for the discount.)   

 Submit one form of acceptable photographic identification as outlined in OAR 331-030-0000(10), 
which must include applicant’s current legal name: Front and back of legible (clear) photocopies if 
submitted by mail; driver license, state ID card, passport or military ID card; 

  Submit proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation for adults, neonates and infants; 

 Submit proof of having a high school diploma or General Education Degree (GED); 

 Submit a written plan for emergency transport for mother or newborn pursuant to OAR 332-025-0020;  

 Submit satisfactory evidence of having current CPM credential from NARM;  

 Submit documentation of satisfactory completion of required education in approved legend drugs and 
devices on a form prescribed by the HLO, if training was received within 12 months of application. If 
training was not received at time of application this information must be disclosed to each patient on 
the patient disclosure form required under OAR 332-025-0020; and 

 Submit documentation of satisfactory completion of the following minimum requirements on a form 
prescribed by the HLO: 

 Participation as an assistant at 25 deliveries 

 25 deliveries for which the applicant was the primary birth attendant 

 Participation in 100 prenatal care visits 

 25 newborn examinations 

 40 postnatal examinations 

The applicant must have provided continuity care for at least 10 of the primary birth attendant deliveries, including 
four prenatal visits, one newborn examination and one postpartum exam. Of these 50 births, at least 25 deliveries 
must have taken place in an out-of-hospital setting and 10 births must have occurred within the two years or 24 
months preceding the date of application. 

Note: When there is more than one birth attendant present at the same birth, the birth attendants must designate 
which birth attendant is primary. 

 


	1 Applicant Information: 
	APPLICANT NAME LAST FIRST MIDDLE INTIAL: 
	RESIDENTIAL PHYSICAL ADDRESS REQUIRED: 
	CITY: 
	STATE: 
	ZIP: 
	MAILING ADDRESS IF DIFFERENT FROM RESIDENTIAL ADDRESS: 
	CITY_2: 
	STATE_2: 
	ZIP_2: 
	PHONE HOME CELL: 
	undefined: Off
	undefined_2: Off
	BUSINESS TELEPHONE: 
	EMAIL: 
	GENDER: Off
	BIRTHDATE: 
	SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER REQUIRED: 
	Have you ever been known under any other name No Yes  If yes list full names: 
	undefined_3: Off
	undefined_4: Off
	No: Off
	Yes  If yes please list information below: Off
	State: 
	LicCertReg: 
	Expiration: 
	State_2: 
	LicCertReg_2: 
	Expiration_2: 
	State_3: 
	LicCertReg_3: 
	Expiration_3: 
	2 Complete This Section Only If Submitting Payment By Mail: 
	Cash: Off
	Check: Off
	Money order: Off
	Purchase order: Off
	Credit card see below: Off
	Visa: Off
	MasterCard: Off
	Discover Cardholder must either be the applicant or be present at the: Off
	Name on card: 
	Card number: 
	Exp: 
	Authorized amount: 
	License: 
	Do not write in this section  Official use only: Off
	Verified ID: Off
	Initials: 
	Type: 
	Are you now or have you ever been the subject of any active or inactive disciplinary action or voluntary resignation of a professional license certificate registration or permit imposed by a licensing or regulatory authority in this or any other state Disciplinary action includes but is not limited to probation suspension civil penalty or any other sanction limiting in any way a license certificate registration or permit Yes No If yes please explain attach additional pages if necessary: 
	any other sanction limiting in any way a license certificate registration or permit: Off
	Yes_2: Off
	No If yes please list: Off
	Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony Yes No If yes please list all convictions including the charges as stated in the court documents and year convicted attach additional pages if necessaryRow1: 
	Year ConvictedRow1: 
	Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony Yes No If yes please list all convictions including the charges as stated in the court documents and year convicted attach additional pages if necessaryRow2: 
	Year ConvictedRow2: 
	Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony Yes No If yes please list all convictions including the charges as stated in the court documents and year convicted attach additional pages if necessaryRow3: 
	Year ConvictedRow3: 
	Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony Yes No If yes please list all convictions including the charges as stated in the court documents and year convicted attach additional pages if necessaryRow4: 
	Year ConvictedRow4: 
	As of today are you on probation or parole: Off
	Applicant Signature: 
	Date: 
	Applicant Signature_2: 
	Date_2: 
	4 Affirmative Action  Voluntary Question: 
	Ethnic Background check only one: 
	undefined_5: 
	undefined_6: 
	undefined_7: 
	undefined_8: 
	Applicant Must: 
	undefined_9: 
	undefined_10: 
	undefined_11: 
	undefined_12: 
	undefined_13: 
	undefined_14: 
	undefined_15: 


