Oregon Health Authority Measure Summary SB 228
Radiation User-Fee Change

Concept: RPS programs are 100% user-fee supported and are used to recover the direct costs
of Radiation Protection Services (RPS) operations and administrative functions relating to the
regulation of radiation. RPS is requesting a fee adjustment through statute to increase X-ray and
tanning device registration fees and increase the radioactive material licensing fee cap.

Need for Policy Change: The RPS section needs to raise the current user-fee cap in statute
from $3,000 to $5,000 for each individual radiation source or facility. Thisis very important
because, without a cap increase, other licensing categories will have to pay a disproportionate
share of the burden to maintain this licensing program. To the best of our knowledge, the fee cap
of $3,000 has been in place for over 15 years.

The X-Ray program needs to increase fees in the X-ray program through statute by 25% and the
Tanning program by 50% in order for the programs to remain solvent for the 2015-2017 and
2017-2019 biennia

Impact if Not Approved: By failing to maintain fiscal solvency, this section envisions that
staff reductions could occur which, in turn, would lead the Oregon Health Authority to fail in
maintaining adequate radiation regulatory oversight.

Facts. The programs are dependent on user fees. The fees are in direct relationship with
services required to regul ate the radioactive material and device industry. Fees are assessed to
recover the cost of operations and administrative functions relating to the regulation of the
medical, academia, industrial, and research industries that use radioactive materials and devices
as part of their operations.

Other Supporters. Representatives from the Legacy Health Systems, Oregon State
University Radiation Center, Kaiser Permanente, Oregon Health Science University, Oregon
State University Radioactive Materials Program, University of Oregon Radiation Program, Suns
Up Tanning and TDY Wah Chang.

Fiscal Impact: $593,755 is the amount that will be raised from the fee increases.

Contact: RosaKlein, Legisative Coordinator, Public Health Division, Oregon Health
Authority, 503-803-4274, rosa.klein@state.or.us.
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