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Program Overview 
& Eligibility

The U.S. Department of the Treasury has allocated about $90 million to Oregon under the 
American Rescue Plan Act’s Homeowner Assistance Fund. Oregon Housing and Community 
Services (OHCS) will assist homeowners at risk of losing their homes by preventing foreclosures 
and displacements and curing delinquencies and defaults. Eligible homeowners are those who 
meet program income limit requirements and experienced a financial hardship after January 21, 
2020, due to the coronavirus pandemic. Other program requirements also apply.

Overview

Homeowners who are eligible may apply for the following programs:

Benefits and Eligibility

The Past-Due Payment Relief Program 
provides up to $50,000 to eliminate or 
reduce payments on past-due eligible 
housing costs, including:

•	forbearance plan
•	forward mortgages
•	reverse mortgages
•	loans secured by manufactured homes
•	land sale contracts
•	property taxes
•	homeowners’ insurance
•	homeowners’ association (HOA) dues 

Past-Due Payment Relief

The Ongoing Payment Relief Program has 
two tracks. Homeowners may participate 
in only one track and must be at or below 
100% Area Median Income for either one 
(see income limits chart on page 9). 

Ongoing Payment Relief

•	Hardship Track. Eligible homeowners 
who are experiencing ongoing financial 
hardship may receive up to 12 months 
of payment help, up to $15,000 per 
household, for eligible housing costs.

•	Stability Track. Eligible homeowners 
may receive up to three months 
of payment help, up to $3,750 per 
household, to increase long-term 
housing stability. Homeowners must 
have housing expenses that total 
43% or more of their household 
income.

Homeowners must be at or below 150% 
Area Median Income or 100% of the 
median income for the United States, 
whichever is greater (see income limits 
chart on page 9). Oregon Housing and 
Community Services will make payments 
directly to the servicer, county, HOA or 
other housing entity.

Please Note: Homeowners who are eligible for both programs may not receive more than 
$60,000 in total assistance.
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Program Overview 
& Eligibility

When can I apply for the Oregon Homeowner Assistance Fund?

•	 Homeowners in active 
foreclosure (sheriff’s sale date, 
judicial case, notice of default 
with sale date)

•	 Unemployed homeowners 
who have exhausted their 
unemployment benefits (or 
are unemployed and do not 
qualify for unemployment 
benefits) AND did not qualify 
for any servicer loss mitigation 
options (steps to avoid 
foreclosure) that would let 
them keep their home

•	 Homeowners with chattel 
loans (for manufactured 
homes) and land sale 
contracts in default and at risk 
of foreclosure

•	 Homeowners who are in 
the property tax foreclosure 
redemption period (the 
amount of time allowed to pay 
off back taxes, plus interest 
and fees, after a tax lien 
foreclosure) 

•	 Homeowners with loans in 
default where HUD is the 
beneficiary

•	 Homeowners traditionally 
underserved or less able to 
recover, including those who 
are:
•	Elderly (62+)
•	Living with a disability (with 

proof of benefits) 
•	Rural (determined by ZIP 

Code)
•	Socially Disadvantaged 

Individuals (defined by U.S. 
Treasury)

•	Limited English Proficiency
•	Recovering from natural 

disaster property damage or 
destruction

Phases 1 and 2: Open Now Phase 3: Open Now

Phase 4: TBD 2022*
•	 All eligible homeowners

* These are anticipated dates that are subject to change.

The Homeowner Assistance Fund is opening in phases, initially focusing on homeowners who are the 
most at risk of foreclosure or displacement. Refer to the chart below to see when you are eligible to 
apply.

•	 Homeowners who received 
an Oregon Foreclosure 
Avoidance program certificate 
of compliance. (A certificate 
of compliance is a form 
that allows your mortgage 
company to start foreclosure 
within one year.)

•	 Homeowners with private 
mortgages or Individual Tax 
Identification Number (ITIN) 
loans

•	 Homeowners receiving 
disaster unemployment 
benefits

•	 Seniors (62+) with reverse 
mortgages. These are 
sometimes but not always 
called Home Equity 
Conversion Mortgages, or 
HECMs
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In Phases 1 and 2, we are only accepting applications and homeowner referrals through 
housing counselors. Please make an appointment with a free housing counselor (www.bit.ly/
orhousingcounseling) for foreclosure avoidance counseling to review your situation, loan, and 
loss mitigation options. If you can work out a way to avoid foreclosure with your servicer, you 
cannot apply in Phases 1 or 2 because they are reserved for homeowners who face the greatest 
risk of foreclosure or displacement. 

Phase Eligibility
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In certain limited circumstances, you are not required to meet with a housing counselor before 
applying in Phases 1 or 2. One of these limited exceptions may apply to you if you can provide 
any of the documents from this list:

1.	 Judicial foreclosure, forfeiture or other action on your loan, HOA, or other housing payment. 
Documentation will include a filed court case number.

2.	 Nonjudicial foreclosure, notice of trustee sale, or a “danger notice” (https://dfr.oregon.gov/
business/licensing/financial/Documents/4795.pdf) with a scheduled sale date

3.	 Sheriff’s sale: If your home is on this sheriff’s sale list (https://oregonsheriffssales.org/) please 
direct us to the specific listing in your email.

4.	 A certificate of compliance (https://www.doj.state.or.us/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/
form_670.pdf) issued by the Oregon Foreclosure Avoidance program

5.	 A chattel loan in default and at risk of foreclosure. A chattel loan is a loan on a manufactured 
home that is considered personal property, not real property. 

6.	 A land sale contract in default and at risk of foreclosure or forfeiture. A land sale contract is a 
legally binding real estate purchase agreement between the seller and buyer where the seller 
agrees to finance the sale of the home.

7.	 Receipt of Disaster Unemployment Assistance benefits.
8.	 A senior’s (62+) reverse mortgage (not limited to a Home Equity Conversion Mortgage or 

HECM) in default and at risk of foreclosure.
9.	 Documentation from your county or the court showing that your property is in a post-

foreclosure tax lien redemption period. A tax redemption period is the time after a county tax 
lien foreclosure, typically two years. The redemption period allows the homeowner to pay the 
amounts due before losing the property.

https://www.oregon.gov/ohcs/pages/talk-with-a-housing-counselor.aspx
https://dfr.oregon.gov/business/licensing/financial/Documents/4795.pdf
https://oregonsheriffssales.org/
https://www.doj.state.or.us/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/form_670.pdf


The Oregon Homeowner Assistance Fund Past-Due Payment Relief Program provides up to 
$50,000 toward past-due eligible housing expenses including, but not limited to, first and second 
lien mortgages, reverse mortgages, manufactured home loans, land sale contracts, property 
taxes, insurance and homeowners’ association dues (HOAs). Oregon Housing and Community 
Services (OHCS) will make payments directly to the servicer, county, HOA or other housing entity.

You must be at least 30 days past due on your mortgage, property taxes, homeowners’ 
association dues, and/or other eligible housing expenses.

You must submit all required documentation. See the Document Checklist on page 8.

4

Past-Due 
Payment Relief

Eligible applicants include all individuals living at the property who are listed as borrowers 
on your mortgage or are owners of the property. If you are not listed as a borrower on the 
mortgage or an owner on the deed, you are not considered an applicant. 

To apply, you must meet the following requirements:

The total amount of assistance for past-due eligible housing expenses cannot be more 
than $50,000. Exceptions may apply. Total assistance between the Ongoing Payment Relief 
and the Past-Due Payment Relief cannot be more than $60,000.

Applicants do not have enough liquid assets to pay for at least nine (9) monthly mortgage 
payments, excluding retirement accounts and 529 College Plans. This is a combined total 
of all applicants’ liquid assets. 

1.	 You or your housing counselor attest that your mortgage and other housing cost 
payments are affordable based on your income.

2.	 Your current monthly housing expense-to-gross household income ratio is not more 
than 43%:
•	Your monthly housing expense divided by gross monthly income must not equal 

more than 0.43. For example, if your mortgage is $430, and your monthly income 
is $1,000, you would divide $430/$1,000 = 0.43.

•	Housing expenses include principal, interest, property tax, insurance, and 
homeowner or condominium association dues. These expenses are included in 
the ratio even if your mortgage company does not make it part of your mortgage 
payment (escrowed); OR

3.	  You qualify for the Ongoing Payment Relief.

You occupy your home, and it is your primary residence. It must be a single family, 
duplex, triplex, or fourplex (1-4 units). Condominiums, manufactured homes and floating 
homes are included. There are exceptions for homeowners who were displaced by a 
physical hazard event, casualty loss (sudden or unexpected event), or natural disaster. 

This program is being supported, in whole or in part, by the U.S. Department of the Treasury.

 
Eligibility Checklist
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Your original home loan amount must have been under the Federal Housing Finance 
Agency conforming loan limits on the date your loan originated. FHA, VA and USDA loans 
are all conforming. OHCS will verify whether your loan is conforming. 

Your mortgage cannot be an open home equity line of credit (HELOC). OHCS will verify 
whether your HELOC is open.

Your current annual household income cannot be more than the limits in the Income 
Limits Chart on page 9 (based on household size).

Your financial hardship must be related to the coronavirus pandemic and have either: 
1.	 Happened after January 21, 2020; OR
2.	 Happened on or before January 21, 2020, and continued after that date. 

Past-Due 
Payment Relief 

Eligibility Checklist
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The Homeowner Assistance Fund Ongoing Payment Relief Program provides reinstatement of 
past-due payments and monthly mortgage payments going forward. The total assistance for 
Ongoing Payment Relief and Past-Due Payment Relief cannot be more than $60,000. Oregon 
Housing and Community Services (OHCS) will make payments directly to the servicer, county, 
homeowners’ association dues or other housing entity.

The past-due amount on your mortgage is not more than $50,000. Exceptions may apply.

You must submit all required documentation. See the Document Checklist on page 8.

Ongoing Payment Relief
Eligibility Checklist

Hardship Track – If you qualify under the hardship track, you can get up to $15,000 or 12 
months of future mortgage payments, whichever comes first, as well as money to pay your 
past-due mortgage payments, if you have them. 
Stability Track – If you qualify under the stability track, you can get up to $3,750 or three 
months of future mortgage payments, whichever comes first, as well as money to pay your 
past-due mortgage payments, if you have them. 
Eligible applicants include all individuals living at the property who are listed as borrowers 
on your mortgage or are owners of the property. If you are not listed as a borrower on the 
mortgage or an owner on the deed, you are not considered an applicant. 

To apply, you must meet the following requirements in both tracks: 

Applicants do not have enough liquid assets to pay for at least nine (9) monthly mortgage 
payments, excluding retirement accounts and 529 College Plans. This is a combined total 
of all applicants’ liquid assets. 

1.	 Hardship Track: Your financial hardship related to the coronavirus pandemic is still 
ongoing; OR

2.	 Stability Track: Homeowners must also be “housing cost burdened” by paying more 
than 43% of their household income toward housing costs. Your current monthly 
housing expense-to-gross household income ratio is more than 43%:

•	Your monthly housing expense divided by gross monthly income must not equal 
more than 0.43. For example, if your mortgage is $430, and your monthly income is 
$1,000, you would divide $430/$1,000 = 0.43.

•	Housing expenses include principal, interest, property tax, insurance, and 
homeowner or condominium association dues. These expenses are included in 
the ratio, even if your mortgage company does not make it part of your mortgage 
payment (escrowed).

6 This program is being supported, in whole or in part, by the U.S. Department of the Treasury.
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Your original home loan amount must be under the Federal Housing Finance Agency 
conforming loan limits on the date your loan originated. FHA, VA and USDA loans are all 
conforming. OHCS will verify whether your loan is conforming.  

You occupy your home, and it is your primary residence. It must be a single family, 
duplex, triplex, fourplex (1-4 units). Condominiums, manufactured homes and floating 
homes are included. There are exceptions for homeowners who were displaced by a 
physical hazard event, casualty loss (sudden or unexpected event), or natural disaster. 

Your mortgage cannot be an open home equity line of credit (HELOC). OHCS will verify 
whether your HELOC is open.

Your current annual household income cannot be more than the limits in the Income 
Limits Chart on page 9 (based on household size).

Your financial hardship must be related to the coronavirus pandemic and have either: 
1.	 Happened after January 21, 2020; OR
2.	 Happened on or before January 21, 2020, and continued after that date. 

7 This program is being supported, in whole or in part, by the U.S. Department of the Treasury.

Ongoing Payment Relief
Eligibility Checklist
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Document Checklist
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Documents required of all applicants:

Additional documents required of some applicants:

*Please note: By applying, you agree to verify your stated income and hardship with additional documentation 
whenever requested. If, during the evaluation of your application, or after you have received the assistance, it is 
later determined that you provided false information in your application, false income or hardship documentation, 
or if you do not provide supporting information when later requested, your HAF loan will not be approved, or, if 
funded, will not be forgiven and you may be subject to criminal prosecution or civil action. You may submit income, 
hardship, or any other supporting documentation during the application process, even if not directly requested.*

Application (review the Program Overview & Eligibility Factsheet on page 1 to find out 
when you should apply; hard copies may be submitted through your local intake partners)

HAF COVID-19 Hardship Declaration (included with application)

HAF Third Party Authorization Form (included with application). All borrowers on your 
current loan(s) must sign and date, whether or not they are an applicant. 

Most recent mortgage statement for all mortgages on the property

Most recent property tax statement (please check with your county)

Most recent utility bill (any utility)

Most recent homeowners’ or condominium association dues statement, if applicable

Foreclosure documents, such as Notice of Sale, Notice of Default, or court papers, if applicable

Most recent homeowner insurance declaration page or statement, if homeowner 
insurance is not part of your mortgage payment

Divorce decree that describes ownership or award of the property or housing cost 
responsibility, in cases where an ex-spouse is still on the property title or mortgage 

Name change documentation – If the name on your mortgage statement is different from 
the name on application or identification, provide documentation demonstrating legal 
name change (e.g., marriage certificate, divorce decree, legal name change court order)

Mobile home title or ownership certificate, loan statement, and/or lot rental agreement

Floating home loan statement and/or moorage rental agreement

Land sale contract and payment statement

Private mortgage loan document and payment statement

OREGON HOUSING and
COMMUNITY SERVICES

Applicable documentation of phase eligibility on page 3



Income Limit 
Requirements

County 1 Person 2 People 3 People 4 People 5 People 6 People 7 People 8+ People

Ongoing

Past-Due

Baker $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$96,950

$90,000

$107,700

$90,000

$116,350

$90,000

$124,950

$90,000

$133,550

$94,800

$142,200
     Ongoing

Past-Due

Benton $90,000

$99,900

$90,000

$114,150

$90,000

$128,400

$95,100

$142,650

$114,900

$154,100

$110,350

$165,500

$117,950

$176,900

$125,550

$188,300
Ongoing

Past-Due

Clackamas $90,000

$111,850

$90,000

$127,800

$95,850

$143,800

$106,500

$159,750

$115,050

$172,550

$123,550

$185,350

$132,100

$198,100

$140,600

$210,900
Ongoing

Past-Due

Clatsop $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$95,800

$90,000

$107,750

$90,000

$119,700

$90,000

$129,300

$92,600

$138,900

$99,000

$148,450

$105,350

$158,050
Ongoing

Past-Due

Columbia $90,000

$111,850

$90,000

$127,800

$95,850

$143,800

$106,500

$159,750

$115,050

$172,550

$123,550

$185,350

$132,100

$198,100

$140,600

$210,900
Ongoing

Past-Due

Coos $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$96,950

$90,000

$107,700

$90,000

$116,350

$90,000

$124,950

$90,000

$133,550

$94,800

$142,200
Ongoing

Past-Due

Crook $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$96,950

$90,000

$107,700

$90,000

$116,350

$90,000

$124,950

$90,000

$133,550

$94,800

$142,200
Ongoing

Past-Due

Curry $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$96,950

$90,000

$107,700

$90,000

$116,350

$90,000

$124,950

$90,000

$133,550

$94,800

$142,200
Ongoing

Past-Due

Deschutes $90,000

$94,400

$90,000

$107,900

$90,000

$121,400

$90,000

$134,850

$97,100

$145,650

$104,300

$156,450

$111,500

$167,250

$118,700

$178,050
Ongoing

Past-Due

Douglas $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$96,950

$90,000

$107,700

$90,000

$116,350

$90,000

$124,950

$90,000

$133,550

$94,800

$142,200

9 This program is being supported, in whole or in part, by the U.S. Department of the Treasury.

Past-Due Payment Relief: Homeowners must have household income at or below 150% of 
the area median income (AMI) for household size or 100% of the median income for the United 
States, whichever is greater. The greater of the two is outlined in the chart below on the “Past-
Due” row.

Income Limits Chart

Ongoing Payment Relief has two different tracks. Homeowners can only apply for one track. 
To be eligible for either, homeowners must have household income at or below 100% of the 
AMI for household size or 100% of the median income for the United States, whichever is 
greater. The greater of the two is outlined in the chart below on the “Ongoing” row.

•	Hardship Track: Homeowners must also have a qualifying current and ongoing financial 
hardship.

•	Stability Track: Homeowners must also be “housing cost burdened” by paying more than 
43% of their household income toward housing costs.

OREGON HOUSING and
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Ongoing

Past-Due

Gilliam $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$96,950

$90,000

$107,700

$90,000

$116,350

$90,000

$124,950

$90,000

$133,550

$94,800

$142,200
Ongoing

Past-Due

Grant $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$96,950

$90,000

$107,700

$90,000

$116,350

$90,000

$124,950

$90,000

$133,550

$94,800

$142,200
Ongoing

Past-Due

Harney $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$96,950

$90,000

$107,700

$90,000

$116,350

$90,000

$124,950

$90,000

$133,550

$94,800

$142,200
Ongoing

Past-Due

Hood River $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$100,950

$90,000

$113,550

$90,000

$126,150

$90,850

$136,250

$97,600

$146,350

$104,300

$156,450

$111,050

$166,550
Ongoing

Past-Due

Jackson $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$91,700

$90,000

$103,150

$90,000

$114,600

$90,000

$123,800

$90,000

$132,950

$94,750

$142,150

$100,850

$151,300
Ongoing

Past-Due

Jefferson $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$96,950

$90,000

$107,700

$90,000

$116,350

$90,000

$124,950

$90,000

$133,550

$94,800

$142,200
Ongoing

Past-Due

Josephine $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$96,950

$90,000

$107,700

$90,000

$116,350

$90,000

$124,950

$90,000

$133,550

$94,800

$142,200
     Ongoing

Past-Due

Klamath $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$96,950

$90,000

$107,700

$90,000

$116,350

$90,000

$124,950

$90,000

$133,550

$94,800

$142,200
     Ongoing

Past-Due

Lake $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$96,950

$90,000

$107,700

$90,000

$116,350

$90,000

$124,950

$90,000

$133,550

$94,800

$142,200
     Ongoing

Past-Due

Lane $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$95,550

$90,000

$107,500

$90,000

$119,400

$90,000

$129,000

$92,350

$138,550

$98,750

$148,100

$105,100

$157,650
     Ongoing

Past-Due

Lincoln $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$96,950

$90,000

$107,700

$90,000

$116,350

$90,000

$124,950

$90,000

$133,550

$94,800

$142,200
     Ongoing

Past-Due

Linn $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,150

$90,000

$101,400

$90,000

$112,650

$90,000

$121,700

$90,000

$130,700

$93,150

$139,700

$99,150

$148,700
     Ongoing

Past-Due

Malheur $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$96,950

$90,000

$107,700

$90,000

$116,350

$90,000

$124,950

$90,000

$133,550

$94,800

$142,200
     Ongoing

Past-Due

Marion $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$94,950

$90,000

$106,800

$90,000

$118,650

$90,000

$128,150

$91,800

$137,650

$98,100

$147,150

$104,450

$156,650
Ongoing

Past-Due

Morrow $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$96,950

$90,000

$107,700

$90,000

$116,350

$90,000

$124,950

$90,000

$133,550

$94,800

$142,200

Income Limit 
Requirements

County 1 Person 2 People 3 People 4 People 5 People 6 People 7 People 8+ People

10 This program is being supported, in whole or in part, by the U.S. Department of the Treasury.

Income Limits Chart
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Ongoing

Past-Due

Multnomah $90,000

$111,850

$90,000

$127,800

$95,850

$143,800

$106,500

$159,750

$115,050

$172,550

$123,550

$185,350

$132,100

$198,100

$140,600

$210,900
Ongoing

Past-Due

Polk $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$94,950

$90,000

$106,800

$90,000

$118,650

$90,000

$128,150

$91,800

$137,650

$98,100

$147,150

$104,450

$156,650
Ongoing

Past-Due

Sherman $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$96,950

$90,000

$107,700

$90,000

$116,350

$90,000

$124,950

$90,000

$133,550

$94,800

$142,200
Ongoing

Past-Due

Tillamook $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$96,950

$90,000

$107,700

$90,000

$116,350

$90,000

$124,950

$90,000

$133,550

$94,800

$142,200
Ongoing

Past-Due

Umatilla $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$91,950

$90,000

$103,450

$90,000

$114,900

$90,000

$124,100

$90,000

$133,300

$95,000

$142,500

$101,150

$151,700
Ongoing

Past-Due

Union $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$96,950

$90,000

$107,700

$90,000

$116,350

$90,000

$124,950

$90,000

$133,550

$94,800

$142,200
Ongoing

Past-Due

Wallowa $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$99,250

$90,000

$110,250

$90,000

$119,100

$90,000

$127,900

$91,150

$136,750

$97,050

$145,550
Ongoing

Past-Due

Wasco $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$96,950

$90,000

$107,700

$90,000

$116,350

$90,000

$124,950

$90,000

$133,550

$94,800

$142,200
     Ongoing

Past-Due

Washington $90,000

$111,850

$90,000

$127,800

$95,850

$143,800

$106,500

$159,750

$115,050

$172,550

$123,550

$185,350

$132,100

$198,100

$140,600

$210,900
     Ongoing

Past-Due

Wheeler $90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$90,000

$96,950

$90,000

$107,700

$90,000

$116,350

$90,000

$124,950

$90,000

$133,550

$94,800

$142,200
     Ongoing

Past-Due

Yamhill $90,000

$111,850

$90,000

$127,800

$95,850

$143,800

$106,500

$159,750

$115,050

$172,550

$123,550

$185,350

$132,100

$198,100

$140,600

$210,900

Income Limit 
Requirements

County 1 Person 2 People 3 People 4 People 5 People 6 People 7 People 8+ People
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Income Limits Chart

OREGON HOUSING and
COMMUNITY SERVICES



Frequently 
Asked Questions
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About the Program

What is the Oregon Homeowner Assistance Fund?

The U.S. Department of the Treasury allocated $90 million to Oregon under the American Rescue 
Plan Act’s Homeowner Assistance Fund. Oregon Housing and Community Services (OHCS) will 
prevent foreclosures and displacements by providing financial assistance to homeowners at 
risk of losing their homes due to delinquencies and defaults. Eligible homeowners must meet 
income requirements and must have experienced financial hardship after January 21, 2020, due 
to the coronavirus pandemic. Homeowners may have also experienced hardship on or before 
that date, so long as they experienced a coronavirus pandemic-related hardship after that date. 
Other program requirements also apply.

How much money is available?

The state of Oregon has received about $90 million to launch the Oregon Homeowner 
Assistance Fund. This funding comes from the American Rescue Plan Act, which makes $9.961 
billion available throughout the United States to help homeowners who are unable to pay their 
housing expenses due to the coronavirus pandemic. For more information on the American 
Rescue Plan Act Homeowner Assistance Fund, visit the U.S. Department of the Treasury website 
(https://home.treasury.gov/policy-issues/coronavirus/assistance-for-state-local-and-tribal-
governments/homeowner-assistance-fund).

How will it be distributed among eligible applicants?

OHCS is opening the program in phases and is prioritizing applications from homeowners who 
are most at risk of foreclosure. Phases 1 and 2 include, for example: 

•	homeowners in active foreclosure
•	unemployed homeowners who have run out of their unemployment benefits and either: 1) have 

exhausted their COVID-19 forbearance options or 2) have no loss mitigation options
•	homeowners with chattel loans or private mortgages

See the Program Overview and Eligibility fact sheet on page 1 to find out when you are eligible 
to apply.
Applications are reviewed only in the correct phase and will be prioritized based on factors 
approved by the U.S. Treasury. It is not first-come, first-serve. Everyone who applies will have 
their application reviewed, and not everyone will receive assistance. For more information about 
how applications are prioritized, see the Prioritization Information page.

OREGON HOUSING and
COMMUNITY SERVICES

https://home.treasury.gov/policy-issues/coronavirus/assistance-for-state-local-and-tribal-governments/homeowner-assistance-fund


13 This program is being supported, in whole or in part, by the U.S. Department of the Treasury.

Eligibility and How to Apply

The program is opening in phases, first focusing on homeowners who are most at risk of 
foreclosure or displacement. Refer to the phase chart in Program Overview and Eligibility on 
page 1. Homeowners may only apply during the phase that they become eligible, or any phase 
after that. Your mortgage servicer must also participate in the program for your application to 
be processed. If your mortgage servicer is not participating, please have your mortgage servicer 
contact OHCS. Please review the list of currently enrolled servicers in English (www.bit.ly/
hafservicers) or Spanish (www.bit.ly/hafadministrador).

Your mortgage lender is the financial institution that loaned you the money. Your mortgage 
servicer is the company that sends you your mortgage statements. Your servicer also handles the 
day-to-day tasks for managing your loan. Please review the list of currently enrolled servicers in 
English (www.bit.ly/hafservicers) or Spanish (www.bit.ly/hafadministrador).

If you believe you fall within the open phase(s), please view page 3 to find out for which phase 
you are eligible. Because HAF is not the best long-term solution for many homeowners, we 
encourage you to seek personalized housing counseling about your situation. Please call a 
homeownership center (www.bit.ly/orhousingcounseling).

Your mortgage servicer typically processes your loan payments, responds to borrower inquiries, 
keeps track of principal and interest paid, manages your escrow account (if you have one). The 
loan servicer may initiate foreclosure under certain circumstances. Your servicer may or may not 
be the same company that originally gave you your loan.

No. Receiving this relief will not impact your eligibility for any federally funded program such 
as food stamps, Medicaid, Medicare, Social Security, or the Special Supplemental Nutrition 
Program for Women, Infant, and Children (WIC). If you receive a benefit that is not federally 
funded, please check with the benefit administrator.

No. Funding is limited and applying for the program does not guarantee your application will 
be approved.

How do I apply?

What’s the difference between a mortgage lender and a servicer?

If I apply for housing relief, is funding guaranteed? 

If I receive housing relief, will my other benefits like food stamps and 
housing assistance be impacted?

Frequently 
Asked Questions

OREGON HOUSING and
COMMUNITY SERVICES

http://www.bit.ly/hafservicers
http://www.bit.ly/hafadministrador
http://www.bit.ly/hafservicers
http://www.bit.ly/hafadministrador
https://bit.ly/orhousingcounseling
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No. If your mortgage servicer is not on the list of participating servicers, you are not eligible 
for assistance through this program. However, OHCS is enrolling new servicers all the time, and 
we will continue to update the list. Servicer participation in this program is voluntary, so some 
servicers may choose not to participate.

Applicants are all borrowers and all owners of the property who live on the property.

Household income includes the combined gross income of everyone living in the home ages 
18+ who contribute to the mortgage or other housing costs. The income of roommates paying 
rent is not included. 

If you are approved, you will receive an email to the email address on your application. If you 
submitted your application through one of our community/housing counseling partners, that 
organization will notify you and inform you of the next steps to receive support. 

If my mortgage servicer is not enrolled to participate in the program, 
can I still apply?

Who should I list as an applicant?

Can I apply if I am currently in a modification or forbearance? 

Yes, you may apply if you are in a modification or forbearance with your mortgage servicer. 
However, your servicer may not be willing to participate in the program due to the current or 
pending modification or forbearance. If you do not know whether you are a modification or 
forbearance, contact your servicer (contact information available on your mortgage statement). 
In addition, by participating in the Oregon Homeowner Assistance Fund you may become 
ineligible for modification or forbearance options that would be beneficial to your situation. 
OHCS encourages all homeowners to learn about their options from their servicers or a  
housing counselor (www.bit.ly/orhousingcounseling).

How will I be notified if I am approved or denied for the program?

How do I know if my income qualifies? What sources of income include 
household income? 

Frequently 
Asked Questions

OREGON HOUSING and
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https://bit.ly/orhousingcounseling


I just learned I was approved. What happens now?

The Oregon Homeowner Assistance Fund relief comes in the form of a five-year, no-interest, 
forgivable loan. There are no fees to get the loan. The loan is recorded with the county as a 
junior mortgage on your property. After five years, OHCS forgives the entire loan. If you sell 
your home or refinance it for cash within five years, you may have to repay the portion of the 
loan that has not yet been forgiven, plus the county title recording fees. 
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After your application is approved, you will need to review and sign the Oregon Homeowner 
Assistance Fund loan documents within seven days of receiving notice of approval in order to 
receive assistance. The community/housing counseling partner in your area can set up a time 
for you to sign your loan documents or you can arrange for an alternative opportunity to sign 
and notarize the loan documents. You may be able to sign your loan documents electronically. 
OHCS may be available to help you with online or in person signing opportunities. Contact a 
housing counselor (www.bit.ly/orhousingcounseling).

If you are denied, you will receive a notice in the mail from OHCS. Oregon Homeowner 
Assistance Fund. You will have 14 days to appeal the decision, if applicable. The appeal 
instructions are included in the denial notice. See Appeals FAQs below for more information. 

Yes. If you have experienced financial hardship, including inability to pay housing expenses, due 
to the coronavirus pandemic, you may be eligible. 

Payment

If you commit fraud, provide false information on your application, or fail to provide income or 
hardship documentation when requested, OHCS will not forgive your loan, and you must repay 
it when you sell or refinance your home. You may also be subject to criminal prosecution or civil 
penalties.

If I became ill with the coronavirus, can I still apply?

Do I have to pay back the money I receive through the Homeowner 
Assistance Fund?

Frequently 
Asked Questions

OREGON HOUSING and
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https://bit.ly/orhousingcounseling


The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) published guidance Revenue Procedure 2021-47 (www.irs.
gov/pub/irs-drop/rp-21-47.pdf) that says assistance payments made to homeowners under 
the American Rescue Plan Act Homeowner Assistance Fund (www.bit.ly/treasuryhaf) are 
not considered gross income for federal tax purposes, but instead qualify as disaster relief 
payments. The document also provides guidance on how to manage your mortgage interest 
deductions if you receive assistance. OHCS anticipates that the IRS will add this guidance to the 
Home Mortgage Interest Deduction and Tax Information for Homeowners publications for use 
in preparing 2021 and subsequent returns. 
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OHCS sends electronic payments directly to your mortgage servicer, property tax authority, 
homeowners’ association, or other housing entity.

Appeals

Please email the Appeals Team at haf.appeals@hcs.oregon.gov to get more information about 
why your application was denied, or withdrawn, or why the funding was terminated. You must 
request an appeal within 14 days from the date of your notice. See your notice for instructions 
on how to submit an appeal. 

Program participants are responsible for understanding the tax implications outlined in the 
guidance. OHCS cannot provide tax advice. For additional information, contact the IRS or a tax 
professional.

Who can I contact for more information about why my application was denied, 
withdrawn, or terminated? 

How is the housing relief paid? 

Is the assistance taxable? 

Frequently 
Asked Questions

OREGON HOUSING and
COMMUNITY SERVICES

http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-drop/rp-21-47.pdf
https://bit.ly/treasuryhaf
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Additional 
Resources
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If you need other types of assistance or have mortgage relief questions, please contact 211.
Website: www.211info.org
Phone Number (available 24/7): 2-1-1 or 866-698-6155
Text your ZIP Code to 898211 (TXT211)
E-mail: help@211info.org
Hours: 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday-Friday 

If you have additional questions, please contact us.
Website: www.OregonHomeownerAssistance.org
Phone Number: 833-604-0879 
E-mail (Preferred method): hcs.haf@hcs.oregon.gov  
Hours: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday-Friday

Get Assistance

More Mortgage Relief Options & Assistance

Homeowners! Sign up to receive Homeowner Assistance Fund updates every time a new 
application phase opens. Sign up today at www.bit.ly/oregonhaf.

OREGON HOUSING and
COMMUNITY SERVICES

The Oregon Homeowner Assistance Fund is not the only way to get mortgage relief or 
assistance. If you need other types of assistance or have mortgage relief questions, contact 
your mortgage servicer, 211, or an Oregon housing counselor for more options.

Find a housing counselor

Housing counselors are knowledgeable, dedicated and experienced professionals who are 
certified and specialized in helping homeowners in various stages of the housing experience. 
You can meet one on one with a free housing counselor to discuss your personal situation 
and your loss mitigation options (steps to avoid disclosure). The counselor also can advocate 
on your behalf with a mortgage servicer. Search our full list of housing counselors by county 
at www.bit.ly/orhousingcounseling (the nearest housing counselor may be in a neighboring 
county).

If you are a homeowner who needs help filling out and submitting your application for the 
phase in which you are eligible, email us at hcs.haf@hcs.oregon.gov so we can put you in 
contact with one of our application processing partners. 

https://www.211info.org/
mailto:help%40211info.org?subject=
http://www.OregonHomeownerAssistance.org
mailto:hcs.haf%40hcs.oregon.gov?subject=
http://bit.ly/oregonhaf
mailto:hcs.haf%40hcs.oregon.gov?subject=


Additional 
Resources
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If you suspect fraud or misrepresentation of the Oregon Homeowner Assistance Fund, 
report your concern to us for immediate review. We reserve the right to decline funding or 
participation if it is determined that fraud has occurred.  

Legal Aid

OREGON HOUSING and
COMMUNITY SERVICES

Report fraud to: 
•	The Homeowner Assistance Fund Incident Report Form in English (www.bit.ly/haf-fraud-

report) or Spanish (www.bit.ly/haf-reporte-fraude)
•	Oregon Housing and Community Services: Email hcs.haf@hcs.oregon.gov with the subject 

line “HAF Fraud Report,” or send a letter to 725 Summer St, STE B, Salem, OR 97302 
•	U.S. Department of the Treasury: Visit the Office of the Inspector General website for more 

information: www.oig.treasury.gov/report-fraud-waste-and-abuse

OHCS cannot advise on legal matters. For questions related to housing issues, please contact 
one of the following organizations: 

•	Oregon Legal Aid Offices by county at www.bit.ly/oregonlegalaid
•	Oregon State Bar at www.osbar.org/public/ris/

Report Fraud

Other legal resources

The Oregon Homeowner Legal Assistance (OHLA) project provides free or reduced-cost legal 
services to low- and moderate-income Oregonians who may be at risk of losing their homes 
due to economic factors caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. Homeowners can apply for legal 
assistance by calling OHLA toll free at 855-503-2598. Each applicant’s case will be screened 
for eligibility. Some eligible homeowners will receive services directly from OHLA, while others 
will be referred to attorneys who will offer a free initial consultation. Those attorneys will then 
provide legal services at a reduced cost as agreed to with the homeowner. OHLA conducts 
interviews for assistance between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and can assist 
borrowers in English and other languages using interpreters.

http://www.bit.ly/haf-fraud-report
https://bit.ly/haf-reporte-fraude
mailto:hcs.haf%40hcs.oregon.gov?subject=HAF%20Fraud%20Report
http://oig.treasury.gov/report-fraud-waste-and-abuse
http://bit.ly/oregonlegalaid
http://www.osbar.org/public/ris/



