

News Release

Oregon Liquor Control Commission 9079 SE McLoughlin Blvd., Portland, OR 97222-7355 1-800-452-6522

For more information:
Bryant Haley, Alcohol Program Spokesperson
Bryant.haley@oregon.gov 971-990-3254 (mobile)
www.oregon.gov/olcc

October 22, 2020

OLCC & Alcohol and Drug Policy Commissions Focus on Collaboration

Wine Industry discusses progress on stakeholder issues and wildfires Commissioners continue 50 cent Distilled Spirits Bottle Surcharge

PORTLAND, OR. – The Commission opened its regular monthly meeting on **October 15, 2020**, by receiving an update from the Alcohol and Drug Policy Commission (ADPC) on the collaboration between the two agencies. During this past summer, OLCC staff and Commissioners embarked on an effort to improve the collective effort of the two Commissions. Specifically, staff from OLCC and ADPC developed a public health impact statement to be incorporated in any new proposed OLCC rule that may affect public health.

The Commission also heard from representatives from Oregon's wine industry -- the Oregon Wine Association, Oregon Wine Council and the Oregon Wine Board -- on their efforts to collaborate and work through industry issues. Previously, during a statewide listening tour in the summer of 2019, the OLCC became aware of divisions within the industry. Oregon Solutions, a community focused problem solving organization, has been leading an effort to help the industry find common ground on policy issues. The industry stakeholder groups also discussed the effects of the recent wildfires. This included educating Commissioners on the direct and indirect impacts fire can have upon grapes and the overall industry.

The Commission also voted to continue the 50 cent surcharge through the 2021-2023 biennium on every bottle of distilled spirits sold in Oregon retail liquor stores. The surcharge is expected to generate \$41.1 million for the State General fund during the 2021-2023 biennium. Commissioners acknowledged that stakeholders representing the distilled spirits industry provided 38 comments against the proposed surcharge. The surcharge was first applied in 2009, and later extended through the end of the state of Oregon's 2019-2021 biennium.

The Commission also approved one alcohol stipulated settlement licensing agreement.

The Edge Nightclub and Patio (F-COM) in Medford, was associated with large groups of intoxicated patrons fighting in the street and neighboring parking lot at closing time. As part of the settlement, Licensee agrees to accept responsibility for two violations – the HSPP charge (Category I violation), and a charge of serving a visibly intoxicated patron (a Category III violation). The Licensee surrendered their license as well.

Licensee is The Edge Nightclub & Patio, LLC; Rob Barrett, Managing Member.

###

A copy of the Stipulated Settlement Agreements for Alcohol Violation Cases can be found on the <u>OLCC website</u>, on the Laws & Rules page under the <u>Final Orders</u> section.