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Parents Warned on Kids Drinking 
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New stickers and bottle hangers educate parents about the pitfalls to allowing teens to drink at 
home. 
 
Warning labels added to liquor store shelves 
 
The Oregon Department of Human Services with the support of Oregon Partnership and the Oregon 
Liquor Control Commission have kicked off a campaign to educate adults about the dangers of furnishing 
alcohol to minors. 
 
New stickers, bottle hangers and posters are being distributed at Oregon liquor stores to let parents know 
that allowing teens to drink at home is not okay. 
 
The campaign describes how kids frequently take alcohol from home supplies and reinforces the message 
that parental disapproval is the most important reason kids don't drink. 
 
It also drives home the fact that it's illegal for adults to host underage drinking parties - even in your home. 
 
A recent Oregon Healthy Teens Survey shows that about a third of 8th graders in the state have consumed 
alcohol in the past 30 days as have about half of 11th graders 
. 
The Survey also shows that 31 percent of 8th grade drinkers and 37 percent of 11th grade drinkers prefer 
hard liquor. 
 
"People who buy or provide alcohol for a minor could go to jail and pay a fine of $1,000 or more," said 
Steve Sander, OLCC training analyst and program coordinator. "Kids are 'shoulder tapping' - asking 
adults to buy alcohol for them. One way to reduce underage drinking is to educate the grownups who are 
buying it." 
 
The "Face it, Parents" campaign is managed by Oregon Partnership and designed to reduce underage 
drinking by targeting parents. 
 
For more about "Face It, Parents," visit faceitparents.com. 
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