BEFORE THE LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION
OF THE. STATE OF OREGON

In the Matter of the
Proposed Suspension of the
Package Store (PS) .
License held by: FINAL

FINDINGS OF FACT,
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW,

AND ORDER

Robert C. and Dolores M. Wester
KWIK GAS AND MART

1015 Pacific Avenue

Tillamook, Oregon 97141
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A hearing in the above matter was held on the 1llth day of
April, 1984, in Tillamook, Oregon, before Hearings Examiner
Jill Thompson. The Licensees appeared in person and were noﬁ
represented by legal counsel. The Commission was not repre-
sented by legal counsel. |

The Hearings Examiner, having considered the record of the
hearing, the applicable law and regulations and being fully ad-
vised, issued a Proposed Order dated July 19, 1984.

No Exceptions were filed to the Proposed Order within the
fifteen (15) day period specified in OAR 845-03-050.

RECORD OF PREVIOUS VIOLATIONS

NONE.
Now, therefore, the Commission hereby adopts the Proposed
Order of the Hearings Examiner as the Final Order of the Com-
mission, and enters the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

l. At all times relevant to the facts herein, Robert C.
& Dolores M. Wester held a Package Store (PS) license at KWIK

GAS AND MART, 1015 Pacific Avenue, Tillamook, Oregon.
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2. Licensees have been charged by the Commission with
violation of ORS 471.315(1)(g) (sale to a minor) and 471.130(1)
(failure to check ID or take statement of age). ‘

3. On February 17, 1984, at about 7:25 p.m., Licensees'®
clerk sold a half-case of beer to Richard Jenks.

4, At the time of the sale, Jenks was 18 years old; his
date of birth is November 15, 1965. At the hearing of this
matter, Jenks appeared to be 19 or 20 yeafs old.

5. Licensees' clerk did not request identification from
Jenks, Instead, she asked him, "You are 21, aren't you?".
Jenks responded that his date of birth was November 15, 1962
(which would have made him 21), and the clerk sold him the beer.

6. Inspector Hutton viewed the transaction. He cited
Jenks with being a minor in possession aﬁd the clerk with sale
to a minor; each either pled or was found guilty at their Jus-
tice Court hearings. '

7. Neither Licensee was on the premises.

8. The clerk who sold the beer to Jenks had recently
been told that because of a glaucoma condition she would even-
tually lose her sight. She was 63 years old at the time of the
sale. She resigned her employment with the Licensegg following
"issuance of the citation and notice of violation:" She had
worked as a clerk for Licensees for three years, and prior to
this sale had been extremely vigilant about requiring proper 1ID.

9. Licensees require each of their employees»ﬁo read an
OLCC publication containing statutes and rulesApertaining to

Licensees. Hand-printed on the front of this pubiication are
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the statemerts” "Please read immediately," and "Accept only
Oreg. Driver License with picture for I.D." Attached to the.
booklet is a sheet of paper carrying instructions to read the
booklet and ﬂinitial tﬁe paper. Due to the age and previous
handling of the publication, it is obvious that the statements
quoted above were not written immediately following the notice
of violation. A year ago Licensees fired an employee whom they

discovered had sold an alcoholic beverage to a minor.

DISCUSSION

Licensees did not contest that the violations had oc-
curred. They are anxious to conform to OLCC statutes and
rules, andrféel they make every effort they can to communicate
their concern to their employees. Nevertheless, they feel the
proposed pénalty (seven (7) days/$455) is too high for their
first violgtion in the five years they've been licensed, par-
ticularly considering that their employee's behavior was un-
characteristic due to her medical condition.

ULTiMATE FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Commission may cancel or suspend any
license if it finds or has a reasonable
ground to believe that the 1licensee has

- knpwingly sold alcoholic liquor to persons

under the age of 21 years. ORS
. 471.315(1)(g). The requirement of "knowl-
edge" is satisfied where there is a reason-
able ground to believe that the seller knew
the purchaser of alcoholic liquor was under
the. .age of 21 years. Plaid Pantries, Inc.
v. OLCC, 16 Or. App. 199, 203 (1974).

Licenéée§3'»employee sold beer, an alcoholic 1liquor, to

Richard Jenks, a minor. Jenks appears to be less than 21 years
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of age, which is reasonable ground for the clerk to have be-
lieved he was under 21. Additionally, she inquired ,as .to his
age, which suggests that she doubted whether he was an adult.

2. All licensees and permittees of the commis-
s@on, before selling or serving alcoholic "
liquor to any person about whom there is
any reasonable doubt of the person's having
reached 21 years of age, shall require such
person to produce the person's motor vehi-
cle operator's license or if the license
does not bear a photograph of the operator,
then an identification card issued .to the
person under ORS 482.900. However, if the
person has no motor vehicle operator's 1li-
cense or an identification card, the per-
mittee or, licensee shall require such per-
son to make a written statement of age and
furnish evidence of the person's true age
and identity. ORS 471.130(1). )

Licensees' clerk sold alcoholic liquor to a hdhorf about

whose majority there was réasonable doubt, without requiring
SN

proper identification. - Coah

ULTIMATE CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Licensegs' employee violated ORS 471.315(1)(9)7(}ale to a
minor) and ORS 471.130(1) - (failure to require ID). The circum-
stances noted in Findings of Fact 8 and 9 provide a basis for
some, but not substantial, mitigation. Although Licensees'
comﬁifﬁénf to operating; above the 1law is. comm@anble, they
should have taken steps to ensure that their employees' person-

al concerns did not affect their performance.
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ST FINAL ORDER

1t'7id "hereby ordered that the Package Store (PS) license

held by Rébert C. & Dolores M. Wester at Kwik Gas and Mart,
1015 PacificﬁAygdue, Tillamook, Oregon, be SUSPENDED for five
(5) days or’that Licensees pay a $325 fine in lieu of suspen-
sion. ' |

It is furthéi ordered that due notice of such action,
stating the reasons therefor, be given as provided by law.

If you choose to pay the fine it must be paid within ten
(10) days of:the date of this'Order; otherWiSe the suspension
must be served.

Dated this 8th day of August, 1984.

JlllVThomp§or'1Vv C. Dean Smith
Hearings Examin Administrator

Hearings DlVlSlon OREGON LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION

NOTICE: VYou are entitled to Judicial Review of this Order..
Judicial Review may be obtained by filing a Petition
for Review within 60 days from the service of this .
Order. . Judicial Review is pursuant to the Prov151ons

......

' of ORS’ Cnapter 183.
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