BEFORE THE LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION
OF THE STATE OF OREGON

In the Matter of the
Proposed Suspension of the
Package Store (PS)

License held by: F INAL
FINDINGS OF FACT,
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW,

AND ORDER

Keith and Pamela Moon
MOONSHINE MINI MART

1303 SW Emigrant
Pendleton, Oregon 97801

Nt St ot s Nt N Nt Nt ot N o

Umatilla County

A hearing in the above matter was held on the 31st day of
January, 1984, in Pendleton, Oregon, before Hearings Examiner
Douglas Crumme'. The Licensees appeared in person and was not
represented by legal counsel. The Commission was not repre-
sented by legal counéel. |

The Hearings Examiner, having considered the record of the
hearing, the applicable law and regulations and being fully ad-
viged, issued a Proposed Order dated February 22, 1984.

No Exceptions were filed to the Proposed Order within the
fifteen (15) day period specified in OAR 845-03-050.

RECORD OF PREVIdUS VIOLATIONS

NONE.

Now, therefore, the Commission hereby adopts the Proposed .

Order of the  Hearings Examiner as the Final Order of the Com-
mission, and enters the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Keith and Pamela Moon have held a Package Store (PS)

license at ‘the MOONSHINE MINI MART, 1303 SW Emigrant,
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Pendleton, Oregon, at all dates relevant to the Findings of
Fact below.

2. The Commission has charged the Licensees with the
violation of the folldwing:

a. ORS 471.315(1)(g) (knowing sale to a minor).

b. ORS 471.130(1) (failed to check identifica-

tion or take Statement of Age card before
selling alcoholic liquor to a person about
whom there was reasonable doubt of such
person being 21 years of age).

3. David Lazinka was born on March 2, 1965. Mr. Lazinka
was 18 years of age on September 16, 1983.

4. David Lazinka is six-foot:two-inches tall and weighs
150 pounds. Mr. Lazinka appears under 21 years of age because
of his slight build, youthful facial features, and youthful
mannerisms. .

5. Dévid Lazinka purchased 12 cans of Hamm's beer in the
Moonshine Mini Mart between 8:00 p.m. and 9:00 p.m. on
September 16, 1983. The clerk who sold the beer was Licensee
Keith Moon. The Licensee did not question Mr. Lazinka about
his age, did not require any identification, and did not re-
quire him to sign a Statement of Age form.

6. David tLazinka has a 23 year old brother who looks
like him. This brother has been to the Moonshine Mini Mart.
However, Mr. Moon is not personally acquainted with Mr,

Lazinka's brother and would not necessarily recognize him by

sight.
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7. The Licensees' standard practice is to requiré three
pieces of identification from any person purchasing alcoholic
beverages who appears under 21 years of age.

DISCUSSION

1. Licensee Keith Moon argued at the hearing that there
was only hearsay evidence against him. However, the sale in
question was evidenced by the testimony of David Lazinka. The
Commission found Mr. Lazinka's testimony to“be credible. Mr.
Lazinka's testimony constitutes direct, non-hearsay evidence of
the violation.

2. The Licensees pointed out thét their ability to put
on any defense was hampered because tihey were not served a
ticket by the Commission in connection with this matter until
October 10, 1983. The Licensees were not contacted prior to
October 10, 1983 by either the police'or the OLCC with notice
of the charges of a sale to a minor on September 16, 1983.

It is recognized that this sort of delayéd,notice.would
hamper Mr. and Mrs. Moon's ability to put on any evidence about
the sale to Mr. Lazinka. However, the Commission is not aware
of any requirement that a licensee receive notice sodner than
that involved here.

ULTIMATE FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

l. The Commission may cancel or suspend any
license if it finds or has a reasonable
ground to believe that the licensee, or his
or its agent, employee or representative,
has knowingly sold alcoholic liquor to a
person(s) under ‘the age of 21 years. ORS
471.315(1)(g). The requirement of
"knowledge" is satisfied where there 1is a
reasonable ground to believe that the
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seller knew the purchaser of alcoholic
liquor was wunder the age of 21 vyears.
Plaid Pantries, Inc. v. OLCC, 16 Or. App.
199, 203 (1974).

The Licensees violated ORS 471.315(1)(g) through the sale
of Hamm's beer to David Lazinka on September 16, 1983. There
is reasonable ground to believe Licensee Keith Moon knew Mr.
La21nka was under 21 years of age because Mr. Lazinka appeared
under 21 due to his youthful facial features, slight build and
youthful mannerisms. The Licensees did not ask Mr. Lazinka for
identification, for his age, or to sign a Statement of Age form.

Since Licensee Keith Moon was not acquainted by sight with
Mr. Lazinka's older brother, Mr. Moon did not have good grounds

to believe David Lazinka was the older Lazinka brother. Thus,

a violation is established.

2. All licensees, and their agents, repre-
sentatives and employees, and all service
permlttees of the Commission, before selling
or serving alcoholic 1liquor to any person
about whom there is any reasonable doubt of
the persons having reached 21 years of age,
shall require such person to produce the
person's motor vehicle operator's license or
if the license does not bear a photograph of
the operator, then an identification card
issued by the Oregon Department of Motor
Vehicles pursuant to ORS 482.900, et seq.
However, if the person has no motor vehicle
operator's license or identification card,
the licensee, or his agent, representative
or employee, or the service permittee shall
require such person to make a written state-
ment of age and furnish esvidence of the per-
son's true age and identity. Licensees,
permittees and employees of licensees must
examine all documents submitted as evidence
of age and identity by persons of question-
able age, shall be responsible for accu-
rately recording the information from any
such documents on statement of age forms,
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and shall refuse to sell or serve any alco-
holic 1liquor to any person offering any
altered, erased or falsely represented docu-
ment of age and identification. ORS
471.130(1), and OAR 845-06-035(5).
The Licensees violated ORS 471.130(1) through the sale of
12 cans of Hamm's beer to David Lazinka without requiring that
Mr. Lazinka furnish identification or sign a Statement of Age
form. There was reasonable ground to believe that Mr. Lazinka
was under 21 years of age at the time of the sale due to his
youthful facial features, slight build and youthful manner-
isms. The Licensees did not have any reasonable grounds to
conclude Mr. Lazinka was at least 21 years of age. Thus, the

violation was committed.

ULTIMATE CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

When there has been a vioclation of ORS
Chapter 471 or 472, or any rule adopted

thereunder, upon any premises licensed by

the Commission, the Commission may revoke

or suspend either the service permit of the

employee who violated the law or rule or

the 1license of the 1licensee upon whose

premises the violation occurred, or both

the permit and the license. ORS 471.385(3).
The Commission may cancel or suspend the Licensees' PS li-
cense for the violations of ORS 471.315(1)(g) (knowing sale to
a minor) and ORS 471.130(1) (failure to check identification or

require Statement of Age).

The Licensees' practice of customarily requiring three
pieces of identification, although notable and commendable, is

not mitigating under the facts in this case.
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FINAL ORDER

1t is hereby ordered that the Package Store (PS) license
held by Keith and Pamela Moon at the Moonshine Mini Mart, 1303 .Am%
SW Emigrant, Pendleton, Oregon, be SUSPENDED for séven (7) days.
or that the Licensees pay a fine of $455 in lieu of said sus-
pension. '

It is further .ordered that due notice of such action,
stating the reasons therefor, be given as provided by law.

If you choose to pay the fine it must be paid within ten
(10) days of the date of this Order, otherwise the suspension
must be served.

-

Dated this 12th day of March, 1984.

u}u%Lau4 /4 ‘Z£;wuﬂ-%%~é?é&uw£;uoé§
C. Dean Smith
Hearinfs Examiner Administrator

Hearings Division OREGON LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION

NOTICE: VYou are entitled to Judicial Review of this Order.
Judicial Review may be obtained by filing a Petition
for Review within 60 days from the service of this
Order. Judicial Review is pursuant to the Prov151ons
of ORS Chapter 183.
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