" BEFORE THE LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION
@w\ OF THE STATE OF OREGON

In the Matter of the
Proposed Suspension of the
Dispenser Class A (DA)
License held by: FINAL

FINDINGS OF FACT,
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW,

AND ORDER

Milton E. and Carol L. Korgan

THE SHRIMP BUCKET RESTAURANT

9242 SW Beaverton-Hillsdale Highway
Beaverton, Oregon 97005

Washington County
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A hearing in the above matter was held on the 16th and
18th days of August, 1983, in Portland, Oregon, before Hearings
Examiner Jill Thompson. The Licensees appeared in person and
were represented by Magar Magar, Attorney at Law, Portland.
The Commission was represented by legal counsel.

RECORD OF PREVIOUS VIOLATIONS

DATE OFFENSE : DISPOSITION

6-20-83 Maintaining lewd establishment; 27 days/$1,755
Permitting minor to consume;
Permitting minor to enter and remain
On October 22, 1984, the Commission considered the record
of the hearing, the applicable law and regulations, the Pro-
posed Order of the Hearings Examiner; and Exceptions to the
Proposed Order of the Hearings Examiner. Being fully advised,
the Commission makes the following:

-

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Milton and Carol Korgan held a Dispenser Class A (DA)

license at THE SHRIMP BUCKET RESTAURANT, 9242 SW. Beaverton-
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Hillsdale Highway, Beaverton, Oregon at all times relevant to
the facts herein.

2. The Commission staff charged Licensees with violation
of OAR 845-08-015(4) (failure to meet minimum food requirement)
and ORS 471.360(1)(b) (employee lacked service permit). At its
meefing of October 22, 1984, the Commission dismissed the
charge of viblation of OAR 845—08-d15(4).

3. OnA April 5, 1983, Inspector Wilkerson entered The
Shrimp Bucket at about 11:35 p.m. He went to the bar and or-
dered a drink from the bartender on duty, Rex Hurley.

4, After being served Wilkerson requested to see the
service permits of Licensees' employees. Hurley did not have
one. A check of OLCC service perﬁit files showed no record of
an application or permit for Hurley}

5. Hurley began working as a bartender, selling and
serving alcoholic liquor, for Licensees on November 3, 1982.
At the time he started work he filled out an application and
was told the application fee would be deducted from his pay-
check.

6. On November 5, 1982, Licensees submitted a $50.00
check with five service permit applications, none of which was
Hurleyfs.- The applications were dated 3/23/82, 5/15/82,
7/20/82, 8/19/82 and 10/14/82. i

| DISCUSSION

Licensees contended that they had submitted Hurley's serv-
ice permit application with the others mentioned in Finding of

Fact 6 but failed to send a fee, and that the OLCC mishandled
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it and failed fo notify Licensees or the applicant that it had
been received without a fee. There was Commission testimony
that service permit .applications received without the proper
fee were recorded and the applicant notified of the lapse; the
Commission has no record of receiving Hurley's application with
~or without a fee.

ULTIMATE FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

No Licensee of the Commission shall permit
any person to mix, sell or serve any alco-
holic 1liquor for consumption on licensed
premises unless such person has a valid
service permit issued by the Commission.
ORS 471.360(1)(b).

Licensees' employee, Rex Hurley, mixed, sold and served
alcoholic beverages without having a valid service permit. Li-
censees' argument that the application was transmitted without
a fee and misplaced by the Commission is not persuasive, par-
ticularly in light of their practice of holding completed ap-
plication forms for up to seven months before transmitting them
to the Commission.

ULTIMATE CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Licensees violated ORS 471.360(1)(b) (employee lacked
service permit). No mitigating circumstances are presented.

FINAL ORDER

It is hereby ordered that the Dispenser Class A (DA) 1li-
.cense held by Milton E. and Carol L. Korgan at The Shrimp
Bucket Restaurant, 9242 SW Beaverton-Hillsdale Highway, Beaver-
ton, Oregon, be SUSPENDED for ten days or that Licensees pay a

$650 fine in lieu of suspension; and,
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It is further ordered that the charge of violating OAR

845-08-015(4) (minimum food requirement) be DISMISSED.

It is 'further ordered that due notice of such action,
stating the reasons therefor, be given as provided by law.

If you choose to pay the fine it must be paid within ten
(10) days of the date of this Order, otherwise the suspension
must be served.

Dated this 26th day of October, 1984.

SRS .

C. Dean Smith
Administrator
OREGON LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION

NOTICE: VYou are entitled to Judicial Review of this Order. Ju- ~
dicial Review may be obtained by filing a Petition for
Review within 60 days from the service of this Order.
Judicial Review is pursuant to the Provisions of ORS
Chapter 183.
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