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BEFORE THE OREGON LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION 
STATE OF OREGON 

 
 

FINAL FINDING OF FACT 
CONCLUSION OF LAW  
AND ORDER 
 

In the Matter of the Application for a 
Service Permit Filed by: 
 
Stephanie M. Maneatis 

) 
) 
) 
) 
  

Agency Case No.: 
 
OLCC-13-SPR-017 

 
HISTORY OF THE CASE 

 
 On April 18, 2013, the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) received an 
application for a service permit from Stephanie M. Maneatis (Applicant). On May 28, 2013, the 
OLCC issued a Service Permit Denial Notice proposing to deny Applicant’s service permit 
pursuant to OAR 845-009-0020(4)(a)(A), because Applicant was convicted of a felony drug 
possession charge in the past 12 months.  
 

Applicant filed a timely request for hearing. The OLCC referred the request to the Office 
of Administrative Hearings (OAH) on July 12, 2013. The OAH assigned the case to Lynnette M. 
Turner, Administrative Law Judge (ALJ). ALJ Turner held a contested case hearing by telephone 
at 9:00 p.m. on September 26, 2013. Gwenn McNeal appeared on behalf of the OLCC and 
testified. Applicant appeared on her own behalf and testified. The hearing record closed at the 
conclusion of the hearing on September 26, 2013. 

 
The Administrative Law Judge considered the record of the hearing and the applicable 

law and issued a Proposed Order mailed November 5, 2013. 
 

No Exceptions to the Proposed Order were filed within the 15-day period specified in 
OAR 845-003-0590. 
 

The Commission adopts the Proposed Order of the Administrative Law Judge as the 
Final Order of the Commission and enters the following based on the preponderance of the 
evidence: 
 

ISSUES 
 

1. Whether Applicant’s application for a service permit should be denied because she was 
convicted of felony possession of a controlled substance within 12 months of the application. 
OAR 845-009-0020(4)(a)(A); ORS 471.380(1)(d).  
 

2. If the application should be denied because of Applicant’s conviction, whether 
Applicant has shown good cause to overcome the denial. OAR 845-009-0020(4)(b); OAR 845-
009-0020(3). 
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EVIDENTIARY RULINGS 
 

 Exhibits A1 and A2, offered by the OLCC, were admitted into the record without 
objection.  
 

FINDINGS OF FACT 
 

1. On or about November 1, 2011, Applicant Stephanie M. Maneatis committed the crime 
of Unlawful Possession of Methamphetamine. On July 12, 2012, Applicant entered a plea of No 
Contest to the charge. On October 18, 2012, Applicant was convicted of Unlawful Possession of 
Methamphetamine, a Class C Felony, in Linn County Circuit Court, Linn County, Oregon. The 
Court sentenced Applicant to 60 months supervised probation. (Ex. A2; test. of Applicant.) 

 
2. In January 2012, Applicant participated in a substance abuse evaluation through the 

state certified Linn County Alcohol and Drug Treatment Program (Linn County Program) and 
was diagnosed with a drug addiction disability. She immediately entered an intensive outpatient 
treatment program through the Linn County Program, which consisted of group therapy sessions 
four days per week. Applicant successfully completed the treatment program in September 2012. 
She is in compliance with the terms of her probation. Applicant has not used or consumed 
controlled substances since November 29, 2011. (Test. of Applicant.) 

 
3. On April 18, 2013, the OLCC received Applicant’s Service Permit Application. (Ex. 

A1; test. of McNeal.)   
 
4. Applicant is employed as a server at an Applebee’s restaurant. Her employer is aware 

of her conviction and treatment history. Applicant must have a service permit to continue her 
employment with Applebee’s. (Test. of Applicant.) 

 
CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 
1. Applicant’s application for a service permit should be denied because Applicant has a 

possession of a controlled substance felony conviction within 12 months of the application. OAR 
845-009-0020(4)(a)(A); ORS 471.380(1)(d).  

 
2. Applicant has not shown good cause to overcome the denial basis.  

 
OPINION 

 
1. Whether Applicant’s application for a service permit should be denied:    
 
ORS 471.380(1)(d) provides that the OLCC may refuse to issue a service permit if an 

applicant has been convicted of violating any of the alcoholic liquor laws of the state or has been 
convicted of a felony. The OLCC has adopted administrative rules to apply the statutory 
provision. In this case, the OLCC proposes to deny Applicant’s service permit application under 
the provisions of OAR 845-009-0020(4)(a)(A), which provides that the OLCC will deny a 
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service permit application if an applicant has had a felony conviction for possession of a 
controlled substance within 12 months.1   

 
The phrase “within 12 months” as used in the administrative rule means within 12 

months of the date the OLCC received the application. OAR 845-009-0020(2). Where a 
conviction of a crime is the basis for agency action, ORS 670.280 applies and the OLCC must 
show the relationship between the conviction and the applicant’s fitness to sell or serve alcoholic 
liquor.2  The OLCC has previously concluded that convictions involving controlled substances 
are relevant to an individual’s fitness to serve and sell alcoholic liquor. Michelle Haynes (OLCC 
Final Order, OLCC-06-SPR-022, December 2006). 

 
In the present case, Applicant was convicted of felony possession of a controlled 

substance on October 18, 2012, which was within 12 months of the date the OLCC received her 
application for a service permit. Therefore, under OAR 845-009-0020(4)(a)(A), the OLCC has 
the authority to deny her application for a service permit, unless she can show good cause to 
overcome the denial.  
 
 2. Whether Applicant has good cause to overcome the denial:  
 
 OAR 845-009-0020(3) and (4)(b) provide that an applicant may show good cause to 
overcome the service permit denial. OAR 845-009-0020(3) provides that in order to show good 
cause, an applicant must have had a drug addiction disability or an alcohol addiction disability at 
the time of the felony drug conviction. OAR 845-009-0020(4)(b) provides that in order to show 
good cause to overcome a denial, an applicant must provide a sworn statement that the applicant 
has not used or consumed controlled substances within 24 months, has successfully completed or 
is actively participating in a state certified drug treatment program, and has completed all parole 
or probation requirements.3 

                                                           
1 OAR 845-009-0020 provides, in relevant part: 
 

(4) Felony Drug Conviction: 
(a) The Commission will deny a service permit if the applicant has had: 
(A) A felony conviction within 12 months for possession of a controlled substance or any 
other drug related felony as described in ORS Chapter 475 or similar laws in other 
jurisdictions[.] 
 

2 ORS 670.280(2) provides: 
 

Except as provided in ORS 342.143(3) or 342.175(3), a licensing board, commission or 
agency may not deny, suspend or revoke an occupational or professional license solely 
for the reason that the applicant or licensee has been convicted of a crime, but it may 
consider the relationship of the facts which support the conviction and all intervening 
circumstances to the specific occupational or professional standards in determining the 
fitness of the person to receive or hold the license. 
 

3 OAR 845-009-0020(3) and (4)(b) provide, in relevant part:  
 

(3) To be qualified for good cause under the rule: 
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Although Applicant was diagnosed with a drug addiction disability in January 2012 and 
successfully completed a state certified drug treatment program in September 2012, she does not 
otherwise meet the criteria to establish good cause to overcome the denial. Applicant does not 
yet have 24 months of sobriety, and she will remain on probation until 2017. Because Applicant 
does not meet all of the criteria set forth in OAR 845-009-0020(4)(b), she cannot show good 
cause to overcome the denial. Consequently, her April 18, 2013 service permit application must 
be denied.    
 

FINAL ORDER 
 

 The Commission orders that the application for a service permit filed by Applicant 
Stephanie M. Maneatis and received by the OLCC on April 18, 2013 be DENIED. 
 
 It is further ordered that notice of this action, including the reasons for it, be given. 
 

Dated this 9th day of December, 2013 
 
 
 

 /s/ Steve Marks     
Steve Marks 
Executive Director 
OREGON LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION 

 
Mailed this 10th day of December, 2013 
 
THIS ORDER IS EFFECTIVE ON THE DATE MAILED.   
 
NOTICE: You are entitled to judicial review of this Order.  Judicial review may be obtained 

by filing a petition for judicial review within 60 days from the service of this Order. 
Judicial review is pursuant to the provisions of ORS Chapter 183. 

 

                                                                                                                                                                                           
(a) An applicant must have had a drug addiction disability or alcohol addiction disability 
at the time of: 


