BEFORE THE LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION
STATE OF OREGON

FINAL FINDING OF FACT
CONCLUSION OF LAW

In the Matter of the Application for a )
)
) AND ORDER
)

Service Permit Filed by:
Melanie A. Harshman
Agency Case No.. OLCC-13-SPR-012
HISTORY OF THE CASE

On April 1, 2013, the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) received an
application for a service permit from Melanie A. Harshman (Applicant). On May 3, 2013, the
OLCC issued a Service Permit Denial Notice proposing to deny Applicant’s service permit
pursuant to OAR 845-009-0020(4)(a)(B), because Applicant was convicted of a felony drug
delivery charge in the past two years.

Applicant filed a timely request for hearing. The OLCC referred the request to the Office
of Administrative Hearings (OAH) on July 12, 2013. The OAH assigned the case to Lynnette M.
Turner, Administrative Law Judge (ALJ). ALJ Turner held a contested case hearing by telephone
at 9:00 p.m. on October 11, 2013. Gwenn McNeal appeared on behalf of the OLCC and testified.
Applicant appeared and testified. The hearing record closed at the conclusion of the hearing on
October 11, 2013.

The Administrative Law Judge considered the record of the hearing and the applicable
law and issued a Proposed Order mailed December 12, 2013

No Exceptions to the Proposed Order were filed within the 15-day period specified in
OAR 845-003-0590.

The Commission adopts the Proposed Order of the Administrative Law Judge as the
Final Order of the Commission and enters the following based on the preponderance of the
evidence:

ISSUES
1. Whether Applicant’s application for a service permit should be denied because she was
convicted of felony manufacture, delivery, or distribution of a controlled substance within two
years of the application. OAR 845-009-0020(4)(a)(B); ORS 471.380(1)(d).
2. If the application should be denied because of Applicant’s conviction, whether

Applicant has shown good cause to overcome the denial. OAR 845-009-0020(4)(b); OAR 845-
009-0020(3).
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EVIDENTIARY RULINGS

Exhibits A1 and A2, offered by the OLCC, were admitted into the record without
objection.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. On or about April 27, 2011, Applicant Melanie A. Harshman committed the crime of
Unlawful Delivery of Marijuana Within 1000 Feet of a School. On January 4, 2012, Applicant
pled guilty and was convicted of the charge, a Class A Felony, in Baker County Circuit Court,
Baker County, Oregon. The Court sentenced Applicant to three years supervised probation. (Ex.
A2; test. of McNeal.)

2. 0On April 1, 2013, the OLCC received Applicant’s Service Permit Application. (EX.
Al; test. of McNeal.)

3. Applicant participated in a substance abuse evaluation and completed a 90-day
outpatient treatment program through a subsidiary of New Directions, a state certified treatment
program. Applicant has not been diagnosed as alcohol or drug dependent. She is in compliance
with her probation, and expects to be released from probation before her scheduled release date
of January 3, 2015. Applicant has not used or consumed controlled substances since August
2011. (Test. of Applicant.)

4. Applicant is employed as a cook, and has worked for her employer since May 2012.
She opens the restaurant three mornings per week and is the only employee on site for
approximately two hours. Because alcohol is served on the premises, although typically not
during this shift, she is required to have a service permit. Her employer is aware of her
conviction and treatment history. (Test. of Applicant.)

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Applicant’s application for a service permit should be denied because Applicant has a
conviction for felony manufacture, delivery, or distribution of a controlled substance within two
years of the application. OAR 845-009-0020(4)(a)(B); ORS 471.380(1)(d).

2. Applicant has not shown good cause to overcome the denial basis.

OPINION

1. Whether Applicant’s application for a service permit should be denied:

The OLCC proposes to deny Applicant’s service permit application on the basis ORS
471.380(1)(d), which states:

1) The Oregon Liquor Control Commission may refuse to grant a service permit if
it has reasonable grounds to believe any of the following to be true:
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(d) That the applicant has been convicted of violating any of the alcoholic liquor
laws of this state, general or local, or has been convicted at any time of a felony.

ORS 471.380(1)(d) provides that the OLCC may refuse to issue a service permit if an
applicant has been convicted of a felony. The OLCC has adopted administrative rules to apply
the statutory provision. In this case, the OLCC proposes to deny Applicant’s service permit
application under the provisions of OAR 845-009-0020(4)(a)(B), which provides that the OLCC
will deny a service permit application if an applicant has had a felony conviction for
manufacture, delivery or distribution of a controlled substance within two years." The phrase
“within two years” as used in the administrative rule means within two years of the date the
OLCC received the application. OAR 845-009-0020(2).

In cases in which an agency proposes to deny an individual’s application for a license
based on a conviction of a crime, ORS 670.280 requires the agency to show a relationship
between the conviction and the individual’s fitness to hold the license.? The OLCC has
previously held that a conviction involving abuse of a controlled substance was related to an
individual’s fitness to sell and serve alcoholic beverages because it indicated poor judgment with
respect to the controlled substance. John O. Myshak (OLCC Final Order, OLCC-88-V-002, May
1988). In the present case, Applicant was convicted of felony delivery of a controlled substance
on January 4, 2012, which was within two years of the date the OLCC received her application
for a service permit. Therefore, under OAR 845-009-0020(4)(a)(B), the OLCC has the authority
to deny her application for a service permit, unless she can show good cause to overcome the
denial.

2. Whether Applicant has good cause to overcome the denial:

OAR 845-009-0020(3) provides that an applicant may show good cause to overcome the
service permit denial. In order to show good cause, an applicant must have had a drug addiction

! OAR 845-009-0020 provides, in relevant part:

(4) Felony Drug Conviction:

(@) The Commission will deny a service permit if the applicant has had:

EE I I

(B) A felony conviction within two years for manufacture, delivery or distribution of a
controlled substance or any other drug related felony as described in ORS Chapter 475 or
similar laws in other jurisdictions (except possession of a controlled substance).

2 ORS 670.280(2) provides:

Except as provided in ORS 342.143 (3) or 342.175 (3), a licensing board, commission or
agency may not deny, suspend or revoke an occupational or professional license solely
for the reason that the applicant or licensee has been convicted of a crime, but it may
consider the relationship of the facts which support the conviction and all intervening
circumstances to the specific occupational or professional standards in determining the
fitness of the person to receive or hold the license.
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disability or an alcohol addiction disability at the time of the felony drug conviction. Applicant
has not been diagnosed with a drug or alcohol addiction and therefore cannot establish good
cause to overcome the denial pursuant to OAR 845-009-0020(3).
Applicant’s service permit application must therefore be denied.
FINAL ORDER

The Commission orders that the application for a service permit filed by Applicant
Melanie A. Harshman and received by the OLCC on April 1, 2013 be DENIED.

It is further ordered that notice of this action, including the reasons for it, be given.

Dated this 7th day of January, 2014

/sl Steve Marks

Steve Marks

Executive Director

OREGON LIQUOR CONTROL COMMISSION
Mailed this 8th day of January, 2014
THIS ORDER IS EFFECTIVE ON THE DATE MAILED.
NOTICE: You are entitled to judicial review of this Order. Judicial review may be obtained

by filing a petition for judicial review within 60 days from the service of this Order.
Judicial review is pursuant to the provisions of ORS Chapter 183.
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