
News Release  
 

Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
9079 SE McLoughlin Blvd., Portland, OR 97222-7355 

1-800-452-6522     www.oregon.gov/olcc 
For more information: 
Christie Scott, Public Affairs Specialist, (503) 872-5002 
Carl Lewis, Regional Enforcement Manager, (503) 872-5191 

For immediate release:  Wednesday, July 15, 2009 

 
Lake Oswego scores 100% in OLCC minor sales checks 

 
Portland, OR –.  One hundred percent of businesses in Lake Oswego passed Oregon Liquor Control 
Commission check for alcohol sales to minors.   
 
The Lake Oswego compliance check was performed on June 26 by OLCC and Lake Oswego Police Department.  
Ten Lake Oswego businesses were checked.  The 100% percent passing rate is well above the 2008 statewide 
average of 78 percent.    
 
“These are the kind of results we’re hoping to get each time we go out,” said Carl Lewis, OLCC Regional 
Enforcement Manager.  “Everything that our licensees can do to prevent minors from getting alcohol creates 
safer communities for Oregonian families.” 
 
The commission performs the minor sales checks in an effort to reduce drinking by minors, which is a serious 
problem throughout the state.  The OLCC tests about 1,800 licensed liquor businesses each year.  Licensees or 
their employees can be held liable for alcohol-related damages and injuries if they serve or sell alcohol to a minor. 
 
The following licensees were tested and passed the compliance check: Sur La Table, 390 N. State St. #120; 
Residence Inn, 15200 Bangy Rd.; Plaid Pantry #213, 4477 SW Lakeview Blvd.; New Seasons Market, 3 
Monroe Parkway; Mediterranean Market, 11830 SW Kerr Parkway; El Ranchito, 329 SW 2nd; Dang’s Thai 
Kitchen, 670 N. State St.; Jackson’s #558, 608 N. State St.; Firehouse Pub, 23 A Ave.; and Zeppo, 345 1st 
Bldg F #105. 
 
Servers, bartenders and licensees whose employees sell alcohol to the minor or do not verify the minor’s age, 
are subject to OLCC administrative penalties including fines or suspensions.  Store clerks who sell can be cited 
with criminal charges and a minimum $350 fine. 
 
Under Oregon law, businesses in cities with a population of 20,000 or more have an equal chance of being 
randomly selected for a minor decoy compliance check.  A business can also be selected for a compliance check 
if there is a documented complaint of sales to minors.  Businesses in cities with a population under 20,000 and 
unincorporated areas in counties are not subject to these selection requirements.   
 
The OLCC offers a free training course on how to check ID’s.  Participants learn how to identify false 
identification and the laws regarding minors and alcohol.  Additional training opportunities are available including 
classes for store clerks and service permit holders.  Interested persons can call the local OLCC office to 
schedule a training session. 
 
During the sales checks, a minor volunteer attempts to purchase alcohol from a licensed business to see if staff 
are checking ID’s correctly and refusing to sell alcohol to anyone under 21.  Commission inspectors or other law 
enforcement officers supervise the minor volunteers.  The volunteers carry their own legal ID and do not disguise 
their age or lie to encourage the sale of alcohol.  

## 
Promoting the public interest through responsible alcohol sales and service. 


