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Fourteen out of 15 Junction City businesses pass OLCC checks for alcohol 
sales to minors  

 
 

Junction City, OR – Ninety three percent of the businesses checked in Junction City for alcohol 
sales to minors passed by refusing to sell to the minor volunteers.  The compliance check was 
performed by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission Jan. 28.   
 
The 93 percent compliance rate was well above the 2008 statewide average of 78 percent.   
 
“It’s great to see licensees and their employees checking ID’s correctly,” said Pete O’Rourke, 
Eugene Regional Manager.  “Spending a little extra time looking at the ID could prevent many 
sales to minors.” 
 
Junction City (1/28/10) 
93% Passed 
THE TANKARD VIKING INN DARI-MART STORE #5 
330 HWY 99 SOUTH 1155 IVY STREET 975 IVY STREET 
JUNCTION CITY, OR JUNCTION CITY, OR JUNCTION CITY, OR 
IVY'S MINI MART EL CAMPECINO RESTAURANT BUGSY'S 
787 IVY STREET 565 IVY STREET 559 IVY STREET 
JUNCTION CITY, OR JUNCTION CITY, OR JUNCTION CITY, OR 

BAMBINO'S PIZZA & DELI RODEO STEAK HOUSE & GRILL 
THE RAVEN A PUB JUNCTION 
CITY 

520 GREENWOOD 495 HOLLY STREET 160 WEST 6TH AVENUE 
JUNCTION CITY, OR JUNCTION CITY, OR JUNCTION CITY, OR 
A TASTE GOURMET MARKET BI-MART #670 CENTER MARKET 
270 WEST 6TH AVENUE 110 EAST 6TH AVENUE 1610 IVY STREET 
JUNCTION CITY, OR JUNCTION CITY, OR JUNCTION CITY, OR 

SAFEWAY STORE #386 
ABBY'S PIZZA INN OF 
JUNCTION CITY   

1755 IVY STREET 1425 IVY STREET    
JUNCTION CITY, OR JUNCTION CITY, OR   
  
7% Failed 
TIN SING RESTAURANT     
1181 IVY STREET     
JUNCTION CITY, OR     

 
 



The commission performs the minor sales checks in an effort to reduce drinking by minors, which 
is a serious problem throughout the state.  The OLCC tests about 1,800 licensed liquor 
businesses each year.  Licensees or their employees can be held liable for alcohol-related 
damages and injuries if they serve or sell alcohol to a minor. 
 
The OLCC offers a free training course on how to check ID’s.  Participants learn how to identify 
false identification and the laws regarding minors and alcohol.  Additional training opportunities 
are available including classes for store clerks and service permit holders.  Interested persons 
can call the local OLCC office to schedule a training session.  (Samples of OR Driver Licenses for 
minor and adult attached) 
 
During the sales checks, a minor volunteer attempts to purchase alcohol from a licensed 
business to see if staff are checking ID’s correctly and refusing to sell alcohol to anyone under 21.  
Commission inspectors or other law enforcement officers supervise the minor volunteers.  The 
volunteers carry their own legal ID that identifies them as under 21 and do not disguise their age 
or lie to encourage the sale of alcohol.  
 
Under Oregon law, businesses in cities with a population of 20,000 or more have an equal 
chance of being randomly selected for a minor decoy compliance check.  A business can also be 
selected for a compliance check if there is a documented complaint of sales to minors.  
Businesses in cities with a population under 20,000 and unincorporated areas in counties are not 
subject to these selection requirements.   
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