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Six out of nine Newport businesses pass OLCC and Newport Police 
Department check for alcohol sales to minors  

 
Newport, OR – Sixty-seven percent of Newport businesses that were checked for alcohol sales 
to minors passed by refusing to sell to underage volunteers.  The compliance check was 
performed by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission and Newport Police Department May 20.   
 
The sales check resulted in a 67 percent compliance rate, which is lower than the statewide 
average of 78 percent.   
 
“Preventing alcohol sales to minors is a priority for the OLCC,” said Pete O’Rourke, Eugene 
Regional Manager.  “We ask anyone who sells or serves alcohol to take an extra 30 seconds to 
look at the ID to make sure the person isn’t a minor.” 
 
Newport (5/20/10)  
67% Passed 
6 out of 9 Businesses Passed    
L & P HOOVER PUB & GRILL SANDBAR & GRILL ROGUE ALES PUBLIC HOUSE 
3539 SW HWY 101 722 NW BEACH DRIVE 748 SW BAY BLVD 
NEWPORT, OR NEWPORT, OR NEWPORT, OR 
SHELL #503 US MARKET #104 SAFEWAY STORE #378 
22 NORTH COAST HWY 1445 N COAST HWY 101 2220 NORTH COAST HWY 
NEWPORT, OR NEWPORT, OR NEWPORT, OR 
  
33% Failed 
3 out of 9 Businesses Failed    

SHILO RESTAURANT & LOUNGE 
APOLLOS RESTAURANT & 
NIGHTCLUB WAL-MART STORE #1925 

538 SW ELIZABETH STREET 836 SW BAY BLVD 160 NW 25TH STREET 
NEWPORT, OR NEWPORT, OR NEWPORT, OR 

 
 
 
The commission performs the minor sales checks in an effort to reduce drinking by minors, which 
is a serious problem throughout the state.  The OLCC tests about 1,800 licensed liquor 
businesses each year.  Licensees or their employees can be held liable for alcohol-related 
damages and injuries if they serve or sell alcohol to a minor. 
 
The OLCC offers a free training course on how to check ID’s.  Participants learn how to identify 
false identification and the laws regarding minors and alcohol.  Additional training opportunities 
are available including classes for store clerks and service permit holders.  Interested persons 



can call the local OLCC office to schedule a training session.  (Samples of OR Driver Licenses for 
minor and adult attached) 
 
During the sales checks, a minor volunteer attempts to purchase alcohol from a licensed 
business to see if staff are checking ID’s correctly and refusing to sell alcohol to anyone under 21.  
Commission inspectors or other law enforcement officers supervise the minor volunteers.  The 
volunteers carry their own legal ID that identifies them as under 21 and do not disguise their age 
or lie to encourage the sale of alcohol.  
 
Under Oregon law, businesses in cities with a population of 20,000 or more have an equal 
chance of being randomly selected for a minor decoy compliance check.  A business can also be 
selected for a compliance check if there is a documented complaint of sales to minors.  
Businesses in cities with a population under 20,000 and unincorporated areas in counties are not 
subject to these selection requirements.   
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“Promoting Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service” 

 
 
 
 
 

 


