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Nine out of 12 West Linn businesses pass OLCC check for alcohol sales to 
minors  

 
West Linn, OR – Seventy-five percent of West Linn businesses that were checked for alcohol 
sales to minors passed by refusing to sell to underage volunteers.  The compliance check was 
performed by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission on July 23.   
 
The sales check resulted in a 75 percent compliance rate, which is slightly lower than the 
statewide average of 78 percent.   
 
“These type of compliance checks are a good way for business owners to recognize employees 
who check ID correctly, as well as identify potential training needs,”  said Janice Kindrick, West 
Metro Enforcement Unit Manager.  “Our job is to work with business owners to make sure 
employees are educated about the laws and responsibilities involved in legally selling alcoholic 
beverages.”   
 
West Linn (7/23/10) 
75% Passed 
9 out of 12 Businesses Passed    
THAI ORCHID RESTAURANT PINE GARDEN RESTAURANT LINN CITY PUB 
18740 WILLAMETTE DR 21550 SALAMO RD 19389 WILLAMETTE DR 
WEST LINN, OR WEST LINN, OR WEST LINN, OR 
PHILADELPHIA'S STEAKS & 
HOAGIES ROUND TABLE PIZZA ALBERTSON'S #506 
18625 WILLAMETTE DR 19121 WILLAMETTE DR 1855 BLANKENSHIP 
WEST LINN, OR WEST LINN, OR WEST LINN, OR 
WILLAMETTE CHEVRON SUNSET MARKET SHARI'S OF WEST LINN 
2115 8TH CT 4480 CORNWALL ST 2180 EIGHTH CT 
WEST LINN, OR WEST LINN, OR WEST LINN, OR 
  
25% Failed 
3 out of 12 Businesses Failed    
WEST LINN SOUTH LIQUOR 
STORE 

LIL' COOPERSTOWN PUB & 
GRILL WILLAMETTE GENERAL STORE 

21130 S SALAMO RD 1817 WILLAMETTE FALLS DR 1720 WILLAMETTE FALLS DR 
WEST LINN, OR WEST LINN, OR WEST LINN, OR 

 
 
 
The commission performs the minor sales checks in an effort to reduce drinking by minors, which 
is a serious problem throughout the state.  The OLCC tests about 1,800 licensed liquor 



businesses each year.  Licensees or their employees can be held liable for alcohol-related 
damages and injuries if they serve or sell alcohol to a minor. 
 
The OLCC offers a free training course on how to check ID’s.  Participants learn how to identify 
false identification and the laws regarding minors and alcohol.  Additional training opportunities 
are available including classes for store clerks and service permit holders.  Interested persons 
can call the local OLCC office to schedule a training session.  (Samples of OR Driver Licenses for 
minor and adult attached) 
 
During the sales checks, a minor volunteer attempts to purchase alcohol from a licensed 
business to see if staff are checking ID’s correctly and refusing to sell alcohol to anyone under 21.  
Commission inspectors or other law enforcement officers supervise the minor volunteers.  The 
volunteers carry their own legal ID that identifies them as under 21 and do not disguise their age 
or lie to encourage the sale of alcohol.  
 
Under Oregon law, businesses in cities with a population of 20,000 or more have an equal 
chance of being randomly selected for a minor decoy compliance check.  A business can also be 
selected for a compliance check if there is a documented complaint of sales to minors.  
Businesses in cities with a population under 20,000 and unincorporated areas in counties are not 
subject to these selection requirements.   
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“Promoting Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service” 

 
 
 
 
 

 


