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Prineville County businesses pass OLCC check for alcohol sales to minors

Bend, OR - Fifteen out of 19 businesses in Prineville passed a check for alcohol sales to minors by
refusing to sell alcohol to a minor volunteer. The sales check was performed January 21 by the
Oregon Liquor Control Commission and Prineville Police Department. The minor sales check was
supported by Crook County Reduce Under-aged Drinking Task force (RUDI).

The 79 percent compliance rate was slightly below the 2010 statewide average of 80 percent.

“An extra 30 seconds can make a world of difference when checking ID,” said Katy Boyce, Bend
Regional Manager. “Taking a little extra time to get a good look at the ID being presented can prevent
a lot of alcohol sales to minors. We offer a free ID checking class for folks who want to learn more, or
just need a refresher.”

The commission performs the minor sales checks in an effort to reduce drinking by minors, which is a
serious problem throughout the state. The OLCC tests about 1,800 licensed liquor businesses each
year. Licensees or their employees can be held liable for alcohol-related damages and injuries if they
serve or sell alcohol to a minor.

The OLCC offers a free training course on how to check ID’s. Participants learn how to identify false
identification and the laws regarding minors and alcohol. Additional training opportunities are available
including classes for store clerks and service permit holders. Interested persons can call the local
OLCC office to schedule a training session. (Samples of OR Driver Licenses for minor and adult
http://www.flickr.com/photos/oregonliquorcontrolcommission/sets/72157624623539267/)

During the sales checks, a minor volunteer attempts to purchase alcohol from a licensed business to
see if staff are checking ID’s correctly and refusing to sell alcohol to anyone under 21. Commission
inspectors or other law enforcement officers supervise the minor volunteers. The volunteers carry their
own legal ID that identifies them as under 21 and do not disguise their age or lie to encourage the sale
of alcohol.

Under Oregon law, businesses in cities with a population of 20,000 or more have an equal chance of
being randomly selected for a minor decoy compliance check. A business can also be selected for a
compliance check if there is a documented complaint of sales to minors. Businesses in cities with a
population under 20,000 and unincorporated areas in counties are not subject to these selection
requirements.



Crook County - Prineville

19 premises visited: 15 No Sales, 4 Sales — Compliance rate of 79%

NO SALES: NO SALES: NO SALES:
7-ELEVEN #2363-20376G BROTHERS FAMILY DINER MAIN STREET SALOON
405 E3RD ST 1053 MADRAS HWY 234 N MAIN ST #C
PRINEVILLE PRINEVILLE PRINEVILLE
CINNABAR CROSS STREET STATION MORELIA GRILL
121 NE 3RD ST 1717 NE 3RD ST 901 NW MADRAS HWY
PRINEVILLE PRINEVILLE PRINEVILLE
DILLON’S GRILL ERICKSON'’S THRIFTWAY MAIN STATION EXPRESS
145 NE 5TH 315 W 3RD ST 999 N MAIN ST
PRINEVILLE PRINEVILLE PRINEVILLE
HORSESHOE SALOON LAMONTA ROAD HOUSE PANDA RESTAURANT
410 N MAIN 1265 NW LAMONTA RD 555 NW MAIN ST
PRINEVILLE PRINEVILLE PRINEVILLE
LUCKY 7 RITE AID #5393 WAGNER’S PRICE SLASHER
610 N MADRAS HWY 1575 NE 3RD ST 930 N MAIN ST
PRINEVILLE PRINEVILLE PRINEVILLE
SALES: SALES: SALES:
DEBBIE SUE’'S CAFE GEE'S FAMILY RESTAURANT PRINEVILLE 76
1555 NE 3RD 987 W SECOND 550 W 3RD ST
PRINEVILLE PRINEVILLE PRINEVILLE
PRINEVILLE CHEVRON
398 NW 3RD
PRINEVILLE
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“Promoting Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service”

Did you know that in the last two years, the OLCC distributed more than $343 million to Oregon's General
Fund, Cities, Counties, and Drug and Alcohol Abuse Programs? See the distribution of dollars on OLCC's

Website.




