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OLCC Commissioners Grant Liquor License to Cartlandia and  

Approve a Trial Program for Liquor Stores to Sell Beer/Wine and Corporations to Sell Liquor 
 

PORTLAND, Ore. – At their monthly meeting on March 16, the Commissioners of the Oregon Liquor Control 
Commission voted to approve the liquor license for Cartlandia, 8145 SE 82nd Ave., Portland with six 
restrictions.  A violation of a license restriction can result in cancellation of the liquor license.  The licensees 
are Roger Goldingay and Carol Otis.  

 
The six restrictions address:  

• A designated area where alcohol consumption can take place  
• Requiring food service in addition to alcohol service  
• Monitoring customer activity inside and outside the designated consumption area  
• Limiting the hours of alcohol service from 10:00 am – 10:00 pm Mon. – Thurs. and 10:00 am – 

11:00 pm Fri. – Sun.  
• Prohibiting entertainment in the designated consumption area between 10:00 pm and 10:00 am the 

following day. 
• Enclosure of the property within fencing 

 
The Commissioners also approved a rule change to allow corporations to be retail sales agents and build 
more flexibility into the retail store classification process which will allow some liquor stores to sell beer 
and wine.  This rule change is an effort to update and modernize the current distilled spirits retail system.  
The Commissioners have directed staff to proceed with a limited pool of four agents and four corporations, 
as a way to test and gather information. 

 
 
The Commissioners appointed Distillery Retail Outlet contract to the following Distillery Retail Sales agent: 

Big Bottom Whiskey, Ted Pappas  
 21420 NW Nicholas Ct,  Suite D-9 
 Hillsboro Oregon 97124 

 Distillery retail agents have the ability to allow sales of their own distilled spirits products at the 
 location of their distillery.  

 

The Commissioners ratified the following sanctions based on stipulated settlements: 

Gee’s Family Restaurant, 987 W. Second, Prineville; will pay a fine of $825 and serve a 48-day 
liquor license suspension for three violations.  The first violation was for failing to verify the age of a 
minor before allowing him to buy or be served an alcoholic beverage.  The second violation was for 
permitting an employee to mix, sell, or serve alcoholic beverages, or supervise those who do, 
without a valid service permit.  The third violation was for an employee taking an order, serving or 
selling alcohol when she was under 18 years of age.  Licensee is Zhu Brothers, Inc.; Ying Poy Chu 
and Gen Bung Chu, corporate principals. 

Gary’s Bakery & Bistro, 8615 SE Division Suite 101, Portland; will pay a fine of $9,900 and serve 
a three-day liquor license suspension for three violations.  The first violation was for permitting four 
minors to drink alcoholic beverages on the licensed premises.  The second violation was for 
permitting four minors to be on the licensed premises or an area of the licensed premises prohibited 



to minors.  The third violation was also for permitting a minor to be on the licensed premises or an 
area of the licensed premises prohibited to minors. Licensee is Gary’s Bakery & Bistro, LLC; Guo 
“Gary” Yu and Bing Xie, members.  

 

The Commissioners ratified the following stipulated settlements for failing to verify the age of a minor before 
allowing him or her to buy or be served an alcoholic beverage when he or she reasonably appeared to be 
under 26 years of age: 

Rite Aid #5730, 2336 N. Coast Hwy, Newport; will pay a fine of $1,485 or serve a nine-day liquor 
license suspension.  Licensee is Thrifty Payless, Inc.; Kenneth Black, Gerald Cardinale, Matthew 
Schroeder, Michael Podgurski and Rite Aid Corporation, corporate principals. 

Jefferson Grocery, 159 S. Main Street, Jefferson; will pay a fine of $1,485 or serve a nine-day 
liquor license suspension.  Licensee will be removed from the Responsible Vendor Program. 
Licensee is Thomas Shelby. 

The Village Pizza Ristorante, 210 E. Charles St., Mt. Angel; will pay a fine of $1,485 or serve a 
nine-day liquor license suspension.  Licensee is Embers Creek Company, Diane Sparks, corporate 
principal. 

Aurora Colony Market, 21637 Hwy 99E, Aurora; has paid a fine of $1,815.  Licensee will be 
removed from the Responsible Vendor Program.  Licensee is Kwan Ahn. 

Sierra Restaurant & Market, 302 Highway 22, Gates; will pay a fine of $1,485 or serve a nine-day 
liquor license suspension.  Licnesee is Sierra Restaruant, Inc.; Jorge Martinez and Maria Martinez, 
corporate principals.  

Salem Gas Foodmart and Espresso, 1491 Lancaster Dr. SE, Salem; has paid a fine of $330.  
Licensee will install age verification equipment and will use the equipment to verify the age of every 
customer purchasing alcohol who reasonably appears under 26 years old.  Licensee is Salem is 
Salem Gas Foodmart and Espresso, Inc.; Tesfu Sefa, corporate principal.  

T & G Market, 1621 NW 9th Street, Corvallis; will pay a fine of $3,795 or serve a 23-day liquor 
license suspension.  Licensee is T & S & G Market, Inc.; Kulwinder Singh, Mukhtiar Singh Tiwana, 
and Harlal Singh Gahlla, corporate principals.  

Wassabi, 1861 NW 188th Ave., Hillsboro; will pay a fine of $1,485 or serve a nine-day liquor license 
suspension.  Licensee is Wassabi, LLC; Vanh Chanchaleune aka Sengdavanh Chanchaleune and 
Sith Chanchaleune, members. 

 
 

The Commissioners ratified the following stipulated settlements for permitting an employee(s) to mix, sell, or 
serve alcohol or supervise those who do without a service permit: 

Los Baez, 2920 Commercial Street SE, Salem; will pay a fine of $1,485 or serve a nine-day liquor 
license suspension.  Licensee is Los Baez, Inc.; Raul Baez, Angel Baez, and Alberto Baez, 
corporate principals. 

Golden Crown Restaurant, 10655 SW Beaverton-Hillsdale Hwy, Beaverton; will pay a fine of 
$2,145 or serve a 13-day liquor license suspension.  Licensee is Mok-Lee, Inc.; Ting Mok and 
Connie Lee. 

The five citizen commissioners are the policy-making body of the OLCC.  They meet monthly for one or two days to make decisions on 
liquor licenses, rules, contested case hearings and appointments of liquor store agents.  Commission meetings are held every other 
month at OLCC's main office, 9079 SE McLoughlin Blvd., Room 103A in Portland.  Subsequent months, the meetings are held via 
phone.  Agenda items can be obtained on-line at http://www.oregon.gov/OLCC/public_meetings.shtml  

Did you know that in the last two years, the OLCC distributed more than $350 million to Oregon's General Fund, Cities, 
Counties, and Drug and Alcohol Abuse Programs? See the distribution of dollars on OLCC's Website. 
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