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80% of businesses checked in Beaverton pass OLCC check for alcohol 

sales to minors  
 
 
 
Portland, OR – Eight out of 10 businesses visited in Beaverton passed a check for 
alcohol sales to minors by refusing to sell alcohol to a minor volunteer.  The sales 
checks were performed June 27, 2013 by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission in 
conjunction with Washington County Sheriff’s Office and KPTV News.   
 
The sales check resulted in a compliance rate of 80 percent which is below the 2012 
statewide average of 81 percent.    
 
The commission performs the minor sales checks in an effort to reduce drinking by 
minors, which is a serious problem throughout the state.  The OLCC tests licensed liquor 
businesses throughout the year.  Licensees or their employees could be held liable for 
alcohol-related damages and injuries if they serve or sell alcohol to a minor. 
 
The OLCC offers a free training course on how to check ID’s.  Participants learn how to 
identify false identification and the laws regarding minors and alcohol.  Additional training 
opportunities are available including classes for store clerks and service permit holders.  
Interested persons can call the local OLCC office to schedule a training session.  
(Samples of OR Driver Licenses for minor and adult 
http://www.flickr.com/photos/oregonliquorcontrolcommission/sets/72157624623539267/) 
 
During the sales checks, a minor volunteer attempts to purchase alcohol from a licensed 
business to see if staff are checking ID’s correctly and refusing to sell alcohol to anyone 
under 21.  Commission inspectors or other law enforcement officers supervise the minor 
volunteers.  The volunteers carry their own legal ID that identifies them as under 21 and 
do not disguise their age or lie to encourage the sale of alcohol.   The Oregon Driver 
license for a minor carries a red border around the picture with the words “Minor Until” 
followed by the date of his/her 21st birthday. 
 
Under Oregon law, businesses in cities with a population of 20,000 or more have an 
equal chance of being randomly selected for a minor decoy compliance check.  A 
business can also be selected for a compliance check if there is a documented 
complaint of sales to minors.  Businesses in cities with a population under 20,000 and 
unincorporated areas in counties are not subject to these selection requirements.   
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Minor Decoy Operation 
June 27, 2013 

Beaverton 
10 premises visited: 8 No Sales, 2 Sales – Compliance rate of 80% 

NO SALES 
PLAID PANTRY #227 
9460 SW ALLEN BLVD 
BEAVERTON 
 
SUSHI TRACK RESTAURANT 
11635 SW BEAVERTON-HILLSDALE HWY C-
17 
BEAVERTON 
 
WALMART MARKET #3097 
8235 SW APPLE WAY 
BEAVERTON 
 
WINTERHAWKS SKATING CENTER 
9250 SW BEAVERTON-HILLSDALE HWY 
BEAVERTON 

NO SALES 
AM PM 
11925 SW ALLEN 
BEAVERTON 
 
PHO VAN 
11651 SW BEAVERTON-HILLSDALE HWY 
BEAVERTON 
 
AVA ROASTERIA 
4655 SW HALL BLVD 
BEAVERTON 
 
RALEIGH HILLS PIZZA SCHMIZZA 
9206 SW BEAVERTON-HILLSDALE HWY 
BEAVERTON 
 

SALES 
MCCORMICK’S FISH HOUSE 
9945 SW BEAVERTON-HILLSDALE HWY 
BEAVERTON 
 

SALES 
CENTER MARKET #15 
14295 SW ALLEN BLVD 
BEAVERTON 

 “Promoting Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service” 
 

Did you know that in the last two years, the OLCC distributed $397 million to Oregon's General Fund, Cities, 
Counties, and Drug and Alcohol Abuse Programs? 

 See the distribution of dollars on OLCC's Website. 
 


