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OLCC Commissioners appoint liquor store owners and approve sanctions  
 

Portland, OR – At their monthly commission meeting, December 18, 2014; the Commissioners of the Oregon 
Liquor Control Commission appointed three liquor agents at the following liquor stores: 

Grants Pass Downtown, Store #1076; Pat Voris 
Portland West Slope, Store #1216, William Halleran 
Medford East, Store #1217, Charles Horton 
 
Retail liquor agents are private, independent contractors; they are not state employees.  The Retail Services Division of 
the OLCC works closely with liquor agents to help them understand and follow liquor regulations and store operating 
procedures. 

 
 
In other business, Executive Director Steven Marks provided an informational update on the agency’s work 
regarding implementation of recreational marijuana.  The update included approval from the legislative 
Emergency Board to borrow $583,000 from the Liquor Fund to hire four initial employees and pay for support 
services.  The loan will be repaid by the end of the 2015-2017 biennium.  Executive Director Marks spoke to the 
Commissioners about planning efforts for a statewide listening tour that will be scheduled in mid-late January.  
The listening tour is an effort to learn about Oregonians’ views of marijuana to prior to entering the rule-making 
process.  
 
“The agency is committed to a transparent and public process, which will involve gathering significant input from 
Oregonians,” said Rob Patridge, OLCC Commission Chair.  “There are many policy questions to consider as we 
implement Oregon’s recreational marijuana law.  We will take a measured approach that protects children, 
promotes safety, and brings the marijuana industry into the regulated market.” 
  
 
The Commissioners approved the following temporary liquor license application with restrictions: 

Refuge PDX, 116 SE Yamhill Street, Portland; will accept two restrictions on the temporary sales license.  
The first restriction does not allow Maria Toth to be on the licensed premises for the following dates: 
December 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 27, and 31. The second restriction prohibits Maria Toth from taking part in 
the management of or providing services to the business.  Licensee is Strong Vine, LLC/Sweet 
Masterpiece, Crystal Pyatt, managing member.   

 
 
The Commissioners ratified the following fines and liquor license suspensions based on stipulated settlement: 
  

EB Smokey’s, 8503 SW Warm Springs Road, Tualatin; will pay a fine of $4,290 or serve a 26-day liquor 
license suspension for four violations.  The first violation is for permitting disorderly activity on the licensed 
premises when the licensee’s employee permitted a customer to harass another customer, and use a pint 
glass as a weapon, causing serious injury to the defending customer’s face. The second violation is for failing 
to eject a customer when he had engaged in disorderly activities by harassing another customer. The third 
violation is for permitting a minor into an area of the licensed premises that is prohibited to minors. The fourth 
violation is for permitting a minor to drink alcoholic beverages on the premises.  Licensee is The Smokin’ Q, 
LLC; Joanne Haney, member.  
 
Pizza Hut, 1425 Mount Hood, Woodburn; will pay a fine of $7,590 or serve a 46-day liquor license 
suspension for two violations.  The first violation is for failing to verify the age of a minor before allowing her to 



be served an alcoholic beverage when she reasonably appeared to be under 26 years old.  The second 
violation is for permitting an employee to mix, sell, or serve alcohol or supervise those who do without a 
service permit.  Licensee is Pizza Hut of Southeast Kansas, Inc.; James Larry Fugate, corporate principal.  

 
 Casa de Tamales, 1426 Commercial Street, Astoria; will serve a 30-day liquor license suspension for failing 

to maintain liquor liability insurance or a bond with a corporate surety of $300,000 or more.  Licensee is Casa 
de Tamales, LLC; Brandon Maes, member.   

 
 Casa de Tamales, 10605 SE Main Street, Milwaukie; will serve a 30-day liquor license suspension for failing 

to maintain liquor liability insurance or a bond with a corporate surety of $300,000 or more.  Licensee is Casa 
de Tamales, LLC; Brandon Maes, member.   

 
 Amadeus Manor, 2122 SE Sparrow Street, Milwaukie; will pay a fine of $1,650 or serve a 10-day liquor 

license suspension for failing to maintain liquor liability insurance or a bond with a corporate surety of 
$300,000 or more.  Licensee is Amadeus Manor, Inc.; Christiane Poppmeier, corporate principal.   

 
 Bungalo, 4205 N. Mississippi Ave., Portland; will serve a 3-day liquor license suspension and pay a fine of 

$4,950 or serve a 33-day liquor license suspension for permitting noisy activities when the music was played 
at an extremely loud level, and patrons of the premises were yelling outside on the patio.  Licensee is 
Bungalo Bar, LLC; Christopher Broderick and Julie Broderick, members.   

  
 
The Commissioners ratified the following stipulated settlements for failing to verify the age of a minor before 
allowing him or her to buy or be served an alcoholic beverage when he or she reasonably appeared to be under 
26 years of age: 
  
 Airport Food Mart, 6340 NE Portland Highway, Portland; will pay a fine of $4,125 or serve a 25-day liquor 

license suspension.  Licensee is Hanbo Corporation; In Sook Han, Seong-Kyu Han, and Jae Hi Han, 
corporate principals.  

  
 Bierhaus, 315 N. Main Street, Mt. Angel; will serve a 23-day liquor license suspension.  The licensee will also 

be removed from the Responsible Vendor Program.  Licensee is All Tap, LLC; Benjamin Rash and Ryan 
Gengler, members.  

 
  
 

The five citizen commissioners are the policy-making body of the OLCC.  They meet monthly for one or two days to make decisions on liquor 
licenses, rules, contested case hearings and appointments of liquor store agents.  Commission meetings are held every other month at OLCC's 
main office, 9079 SE McLoughlin Blvd., Room 103A in Portland.  Subsequent months, the meetings are held via phone.  Agenda items can be 
obtained on-line at http://www.oregon.gov/OLCC/public_meetings.shtml  
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