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64% of businesses checked in Troutdale pass OLCC check for alcohol
sales to minors

PORTLAND, OR — Seven out of 11 businesses visited in Troutdale passed a check for
alcohol sales to minors by refusing to sell alcohol to a minor volunteer. The sales
checks were performed April 12, 2014 by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission in
conjunction with the Troutdale Police Department.

The sales check resulted in a compliance rate of 64 percent which is below the 2013
statewide average of 84 percent.

“Good ID checking habits not only prevent alcohol sales to minors, but they also help
protect the server or clerk from legal liabilities down the road,” says Shannon Hoffeditz,
OLCC Portland Regional Manager. “We teach a free ID-checking class to give folks the
tools they need to make sure they don’t sell alcohol to minors.”

The commission performs the minor sales checks in an effort to reduce drinking by
minors, which is a serious problem throughout the state. The OLCC tests licensed liquor
businesses throughout the year. Licensees or their employees could be held liable for
alcohol-related damages and injuries if they serve or sell alcohol to a minor.

The OLCC offers a free training course on how to check ID’s. Participants learn how to
identify false identification and the laws regarding minors and alcohol. Additional training
opportunities are available including classes for store clerks and service permit holders.
Interested persons can call the local OLCC office to schedule a training session.
(Samples of OR Driver Licenses for minor and adult
http://www.flickr.com/photos/oregonliguorcontrolcommission/sets/72157624623539267/)

During the sales checks, a minor volunteer attempts to purchase alcohol from a licensed
business to see if staff are checking ID’s correctly and refusing to sell alcohol to anyone
under 21. Commission inspectors or other law enforcement officers supervise the minor
volunteers. The volunteers carry their own legal ID that identifies them as under 21 and
do not disguise their age or lie to encourage the sale of alcohol. The Oregon Driver
license for a minor carries a red border around the picture with the words “Minor Until”
followed by the date of his/her 21* birthday.



Under Oregon law, businesses in cities with a population of 20,000 or more have an
equal chance of being randomly selected for a minor decoy compliance check. A
business can also be selected for a compliance check if there is a documented
complaint of sales to minors. Businesses in cities with a population under 20,000 and
unincorporated areas in counties are not subject to these selection requirements.

Minor Decoy Operation

April 12, 2014
Troutdale
11 premises visited: 7 No Sales, 4 Sales — Compliance rate of 64%
NO SALES NO SALES
A SHOT IN THE DARK LLC TROUTINI

2517 SW CHERRY PARK RD
TROUTDALE

GODFATHER’S PIZZA
SW CHERRY PARK RD
TROUTDALE

RISTORANTE DI POMPELLO
177 E COLUMBIA RIVER HWY
TROUTDALE

SIAM SUSHI RESTAURANT
E HISTORIC COLUMBIA RIVER HWY
TROUTDALE

101 W HISTORIC COLUMBIA RIVER HWY
TROUTDALE

WU’S GARDEN
2507 SW CHERRY PARK RD 3C
TROUTDALE

YE OLDE PUB
202 W HISTORIC COLUMBIA RIVER HWY
TROUTDALE

SALES

BREWLIGANS

275 E COLUMBIA RIVER HWY
TROUTDALE

EL TAPATIO MEXICAN RESTAURANT VII
2441 SW CHERRY PARK RD
TROUTDALE

SALES

GARDEN VILLAGE CHINESE RESTAURANT
24697 SE STARK

TROUTDALE

LA COSTITA RESTAURANT
25627 SE STARK ST
TROUTDALE

“Promoting Responsible Alcohol Sales and Service”

Did you know that in the last two years, the OLCC distributed more than $397 millio

Fund, Cities, Counties, and Drug and Alcohol Abuse Programs?
See the distribution of dollars on OLCC's Website.
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http://www.oregon.gov/OLCC/pages/allocation_of_liquor_revenue.aspx

