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OLCC Commissioners make improvements to liquor stores daily reporting and approve sanctions
for liquor law violations

Portland, OR — At their monthly meeting Thursday, August 21, 2014, the Commissioners of the Oregon Liquor
Control Commission required liquor store agents who use a point-of-sale system to submit daily sales and
inventory to Commission staff by November 1, 2014. In addition, the Commissioners required liquor store agents
who do not use a point-of-sale system to submit daily sales and inventory to Commission staff as soon as OLCC
has completed an IT solution through the OLCC Liquor Agent Services (OLAS) system that will enable liquor
store agents to submit sales and inventory data nightly at the close of business. The expected timeline for the
OLAS implementation is July 1, 2015.

OLCC staff use the data collected from daily sales and inventory reports in a variety of ways. The consumer
demographics and buying patterns help Oregon liquor store agents provide a quality selection to their specific
customer base. OLCC staff can track merchandise movement better, which helps both OLCC and liquor stores
get the right product to the right store at the right time. Making informed decisions on product ordering and
elimination of slow moving products, allows OLCC staff a more timely process in choosing new products.

Daily sales and inventory reporting also has an impact on the shopping experience for customers. The data is
used to populate the search engine on www.OregonLiquorSearch.com. Oregonliquorsearch.com provides ease
of shopping and an enhanced customer experience. Consumers can find items online and know if they are in
stock at a participating liquor store before leaving home. When manufactures have demographic and marketing
information about their products, they are able to identify what sells in different geographic regions which will
ensure that customers in specific areas have easy access to their preferred products at their neighborhood liquor
store. The data can be shared with stakeholders, such as distilled spirits suppliers and industry representatives to
help them make better informed business decisions.

“l am very appreciative of the efforts from our liquor store agents who started this project back in 2007,” says
OLCC Executive Director, Steven Marks. “We have had very positive feedback from customers regarding
OregonLiquorSearch.com and we look forward to providing them even better data to improve their shopping
experience.”

The Commissioners approved the liquor license applications for the following:
Perfect Pizza Company, 8145 SE Nyberg Street, Tualatin; Licensees are Perfect Pizza of Oregon, Inc.;
Dana Taylor and Allan Winston, corporate principals; and Death Star Construction Group.
Perfect Pizza Company, 9460 SW Wilsonville Road #100, Wilsonville; Licensees are Perfect Pizza of
Oregon, Inc.; Dana Taylor and Allan Winston, corporate principals; and Death Star Construction Group.

The Commissioners approved the following sanctions based on stipulated settlement:
Swift, 1932 NE Broadway, Portland; will pay a fine of $1,485 or serve a nine-day liquor license suspension for
permitting unlawful activity when employees provided private security services without being certified to do so.
Licensee is Swift, LLC; Robert Thomas, member.



Labor Temple Diner & Bar, 934 Duane Street, Astoria; will pay a fine of $1,155 or serve a seven-day liquor
license suspension for permitting a minor to be in an area of the licensed premises that is prohibited to minors.
Licensee is LT Diner, LLC; David Warner and Christina Warner, members.

Café Nell, 1987 NW Kearney, Portland; will pay a fine of $2,970 or serve and 18-day liquor license
suspension for two violations. The first violation is for permitting an employee to mix, sell, or serve alcohol or
supervise those who do without a service permit. The second violation is for permitting unlawful activity when
an employee possessed cocaine in on the licensed premises or in an area that the licensee controls that is
adjacent to or outside the premises. Licensee is Oketa Nell, LLC; Vanessa Preston, managing member.

Houndog’s Bar and Grille, 4463 SE Milwaukie Ave., Portland; will pay a fine of $2,310 or serve a 14-day
liquor license suspension for two violations. The first violation is for failing to evict a customer from the
business when the licensee knew the customer had engaged in disorderly activities. The second violation is
for permitting an employee to mix, sell, or serve alcohol or supervise those who do without a service permit.
Licensee is 1205, LLC; Janet Jorgensen and Timothy Jorgensen, members.

Hawthorne Theatre, 1507 SE Cesar Chavez Blvd, Portland; will pay a fine of $2,970 or serve an 18-day
liquor license suspension for two violations. The first violation is for permitting disorderly activity on the
licensed premises when an employee threatened an OLCC inspector with an extended knife and resisted
being restrained. The second violation is for permitting unlawful activity when employees provided private
security services without being certified to do so. Licensee is Hawthorne Entertainment, Inc.; Michael
Thrasher, corporate principal.

Wranglers Western Bar and Grill, 22842 S. Highway 99E, Canby; will pay a fine of $4,950 or serve a 30-
day liquor license suspension for failing to maintain liquor liability insurance or a bond with a corporate surety
in the amount of $300,000 or more. Licensee is JK Enterprises NW, Inc.; Katharine Kemmerer and Jeffery
Haight, corporate principals.

Rotture/Branx, 315 SE 3™ Ave., Portland; will pay a fine of $2,640 or serve a 16-day liquor license
suspension for eight counts of paying for distilled spirits with checks that were returned for non-sufficient
funds. Licensee is Loveland, LLC; Michael Wolfson, member.

Black Book, 20 NW 3™ Ave., Portland; will pay a fine of $990 or serve a six-day liquor license suspension for
three counts of paying for distilled spirits with checks that were returned for non-sufficient funds. License is
MWI, LLC; Michael Wolfson and Peter Webb, members.

The Commissioners ratified the following stipulated settlements for failing to verify the age of a minor before
allowing him or her to buy or be served an alcoholic beverage when he or she reasonably appeared to be under
26 years of age:

Thai Beer Restaurant, 1130 SE Lancaster Dr. SE, Salem; will pay a fine of $1,485 or serve a nine-day liquor
license suspension. Licensees are Parichat Dhevaphalin and Pradit Junthakerd.

Lighthouse, 16056 SE 82" Drive, Clackamas; will pay a fine of $1,485 or serve a nine-day liguor license
suspension. Licensee is Beacon Light, Inc.; Thomas Scheible, Joseph Danna, and Gerald Danna, corporate
principals.

The Commissioners ratified the following stipulated settlements for permitting an employee(s) to mix, sell, or
serve alcohol or supervise those who do without a service permit:

Nookies Restaurant & Brewery/Hermiston Brewing Company, 125 N. 1* Street, Hermiston; will pay a fine
of $1,480 or serve a nine-day liquor license suspension. Licensee is Petal Pusher & More, LLC; Mitchell
Myers and Deborah Westwood, members.



Merry Time Restaurant & Lounge; 995 Marine Drive, Astoria; will pay a fine of $1,155 or serve a seven-day
liquor license suspension. Licensee is Merry Time Museum & Tavern, Inc.; Fred VanHorn, Jr. and Christell
VanHorn, corporate principals.

McGrew’s, 33105 Redwood Hwy, O'Brien; will pay a fine of $1,485 or serve a nine-day liquor license
suspension. Licensees are Stephen Culver and Suzanne Culver.

The Commissioners amended 845-001-0007, 845-003-0200, 845-003-0210, 845-003-0220, 845-003-0270, 845-
003-0331, 845-003-0460, 845-003-0590, 845-003-0670; adopted 845-003-0345; and repealed 845-003-0340,
effective October 1, 2014.

This rules package includes the Commission’s procedural rules for rulemaking and contested case hearings.
Prior amendments to the rules in this package were deficient. The proposed amendments correct these
deficiencies, recommend substantive changes to some rules, remove redundancies, and would also adopt, by
reference, procedural rules for orders in other than contested case hearings. Rulemaking documents can be
found on OLCC's webpage: http://www.oregon.gov/olcc/Pages/laws and_rules.aspx#Recent Rule Changes

The five citizen commissioners are the policy-making body of the OLCC. They meet monthly for one or two days to make decisions on liquor
licenses, rules, contested case hearings and appointments of liquor store agents. Commission meetings are held every other month at OLCC's
main office, 9079 SE McLoughlin Blvd., Room 103A in Portland. Subsequent months, the meetings are held via phone. Agenda items can be
obtained on-line at http://www.oregon.gov/OLCC/public_meetings.shtml
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