A: As of July 1, 2015,
Oregonians are allowed to grow up to four plants on their property, possess up
to eight ounces of usable marijuana in their homes and up to one ounce on their
person. Recreational marijuana cannot be sold or smoked in public. For more
information go to: www.whatslegaloregon.com.
Q: Where and when can
I buy marijuana?
A: You may purchase marijuana items at an OLCC licensed retail
Q: Where can I buy recreational
marijuana if the retail locations will not be licensed until Fall 2016?
Medical dispensaries participating in early start recreational sales are able to
continue selling limited amounts of recreational marijuana until December 31,
2016. You may continue to purchase marijuana from those locations.
Q: Where and when can
I buy edibles and extracts?
Q: How much marijuana
can I have?
A: As of July 1, 2015,
recreational marijuana users can possess up to eight ounces of useable marijuana
and four plants per residence in Oregon. An individual can carry up to one ounce
Q: What is meant by
A: Useable marijuana
refers to dried marijuana flowers or leaves. In other words, marijuana that is
ready to smoke.
Q: Can I grow
marijuana at home and when?
A: Yes, with limits. As
of July 1, 2015, Oregonians can home grow of up to four plants per residence,
regardless of how many people live in the residence. Four adults in one
residence does not mean 16 plants. The limit is four per
Q: Where can I obtain
marijuana seeds or starts after July 1, 2015?
The OLCC can provide no guidance on that issue.
Q: Is synthetic marijuana legal?
A: No, the Oregon Board of Pharmacy has voted to
ban sale and possession of synthetic marijuana. Synthetic marijuana is
comprised of a number of different chemicals, none of which are derived from the
plant Cannabis family Cannabaceae, any part of the plant Cannabis family
Cannabaceae and the seeds of the plant Cannabis family Cannabaceae. The
chemicals contained in synthetic marijuana have been added to the Oregon Board
of Pharmacy’s list of controlled substances.
Q. Can a landlord tell
tenants not to grow recreational marijuana or smoke in rental
A. Measure 91 does not
affect existing landlord/tenant laws.
Q: What if an employer
requires drug testing?
A: Measure 91 does not
affect existing employment law. Employers who require drug testing can continue
to do so.
Q: Can I smoke
marijuana in a bar/restaurant?
A: No. Marijuana cannot be
smoked or used in a public place. The OLCC considers any establishment with a
state liquor license to be public, including patios or decks set aside for
smokers. Allowing marijuana use may put an establishment’s liquor license in
jeopardy. In addition, smoking and vaping in most businesses is limited by the
Indoor Clean Air Act.
Q: What is the
definition of a public place?
A: Measure 91 defines a
public place as “a place to which the general public has access and includes,
but is not limited to, hallways, lobbies, and other parts of apartment houses
and hotels not constituting rooms or apartments designed for actual residence,
and highways, streets, schools, places of amusement, parks, playgrounds and
premises used in connection with public passenger transportation.”
Q: Who can smoke
recreational marijuana? What is the minimum age?
A: As of July 1, 2015,
anyone at least 21 years of age can consume recreational marijuana in Oregon.
Marijuana use or possession of recreational marijuana by anyone under 21 years
of age is illegal. That includes home consumption.
Q: Who will enforce
recreational marijuana laws?
A: Enforcement of the
home grow/personal possession provisions of Measure 91 will be at the discretion
of local jurisdictions, the state police and possibly other law enforcement
agencies. The OLCC is responsible for enforcement actions against businesses
that the OLCC licenses to grow, process, wholesale and sell recreational
marijuana and related products.
Q: How much will
recreational marijuana cost?
A: The retail price of
recreational marijuana will be determined through a competitive
Q: Can Oregon
recreational marijuana be taken to the state of Washington where it is also
A: No. Taking marijuana
across state lines is a federal offense.
Q: How will children
be protected from recreational marijuana and marijuana
A: Measure 91 prohibits
the sale of recreational marijuana to anyone under the age of 21. The act also
gives OLCC authority to regulate or prohibit advertising. In writing the rules
necessary to implement the new law, the OLCC may also regulate packages and
labels to ensure public safety and prevent appeal to minors.
Q: Can I get a DUII
while under the influence of marijuana?
A: Yes. Current laws
for DUII have not changed. Driving under the influence of intoxicants (DUII)
refers to operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated or drugged, including
impairment from the use of marijuana. In addition, Measure 91 requires OLCC to
examine, research and present a report to the Legislature on driving under the
influence of marijuana. The OLCC will do this in conjunction with the Department
of Justice Criminal Investigation Division and Oregon State
Q: Can I lose my job
for using marijuana?
A: That depends on who
you work for and what your employer says about the use of marijuana by
employees. Passage of Measure 91 does not change existing employment law in
Q: Where will
marijuana stores be located?
A: Marijuana retailers
may not be located within 1000 feet of a school. All licensed businesses must be
located in an area that is appropriately zoned. Also, local jurisdictions have
authority to adopt reasonable regulations regarding the location of marijuana
businesses, including regulations requiring that the businesses be located no
more than 1000 feet from one another. To keep up to date, click
Q. What impact does the new
recreational marijuana law have on the current Medical Marijuana
A: Beginning in 2016 medical marijuana
growers may apply for an OLCC license to sell their excess product into the
recreational market. Medical dispensaries can currently sell a one quarter
ounce of marijuana flower to any adult over the age of 21.
Visit the Oregon Health Authority website
for participating dispensaries.
This provision sunsets on December 31, 2016.
Q: Who collects the tax on
A: Taxes on recreational marijuana
will be collected by the Oregon Department of Revenue at the retail
Q: How is Washington
state’s recreational marijuana law different than
A: See Oregon/Washington/Colorado
Is it legal to possess or use recreational marijuana on Federal or Tribal land
A: Measure 91 and HB 3400 do not
address the possession or use of recreational marijuana on the land of Federally
Recognized Tribes in Oregon. This is an issue between the Federal Government
and Tribal Governments