Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

FAQs: Taxes
 

Q:  How much are the taxes on recreational marijuana?
A:  The legislature set the base tax rate at 17 percent, however, they made provisions under certain circumstances for cities and counties to add up to an additional 3 percent tax. The retailer can retain 2 percent of the tax to cover their expenses.
 
Q:  How do I find out what forms I need to submit with my tax payments?
A:  The Oregon Department of Revenue is responsible for tax collection, please visit their website at http://www.oregon.gov/DOR/programs/businesses/Pages/marijuana.aspx for information on Marijuana Taxes.  
 
Q:  Where will the tax money go?
A:   Measure 91 provides distribution of revenue after costs to the following: 
  • 40 percent to Common School Fund
  • 20 percent to Mental Health Alcoholism and Drug Services
  • 15 percent to State Police
  • 10 percent to Cities for enforcement of the measure
  • 10 percent to Counties for enforcement of the measure
  • 5 percent to Oregon Health Authority for alcohol and drug abuse prevention