About Alcohol Server Education (ASE)
|General Information and Facts|
General Information and Facts |
- Server education has trained more than 430,000 students since 1987.
- More than 29,000 students take server education each year.
- More than 128,000 servers and over 6,000 businesses that sell alcohol by the drink are licensed by the OLCC.
- 38 instructors working for 24 providers teach classes across the state.
- Over 2,300 classes are taught each year.
- Instructors are evaluated annually.
- Classes are also available in Chinese and Spanish.
|The First of Its Kind|
|In 1985, Oregon became the first state in the country to require training for all of its alcohol servers. The idea did not come from government -- it came from the hospitality industry itself. |
Oregon's restaurant association sponsored legislation which established mandatory server education for owners and employees of licensed businesses that serve alcohol by the drink.
The law now requires alcohol servers to take and pass a class in responsible alcohol service every 5 years.
Oregon's server education course has become a model for other states seeking to promote responsible alcohol use.
|The Goals of the Course|
|The course became effective in 1987 and is based on the concept of server intervention: |
People who serve alcohol as a profession can be a positive force in reducing alcohol-related problems.
Server training enhances public health and safety by:
- Reducing the number of drunk drivers
- Reducing illegal alcohol sales to minors
- Reducing alcohol abuse
- Promoting responsible consumption
- Providing information to servers to protect them from third party liability lawsuits
- Educating licensees and servers about Oregon liquor laws.
|What Students Learn|
|The intent of server education is to help servers develop the knowledge and skills that support responsible alcohol service. By law, classes must cover the following topics: |
At the end of each class, students take a 50 question multiple-choice test. Students need a score of 70% to pass. More than 98% of students pass the test the first time they take it. Students who fail may retake the exam two times before they have to retake the class. The exam is designed to reinforce the learning process. It is not used to exclude students from the alcohol industry.
- The effects of alcohol on the body and behavior, including the interaction of alcohol with other drugs,
- Oregon's alcohol sale and service laws, including drunk driving laws,
- Intervention techniques for dealing with intoxicated and underage customers,
- Responsible advertising, marketing, and management procedures.
|How the Class is Taught|
|How The Class Is Taught |
The Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) administers the course by certifying community colleges and private trainers (called providers) to teach the server education classes. The OLCC designs, reviews, and updates the model curriculum and grades the tests. To assure accurate, quality instruction, the OLCC regularly evaluates the instructors who teach the class.
On average, providers charge each student $25 to $40 for the class.
|What You Will Learn |
In Oregon, there are only 4 types of ID you can accept alone as proof of age. Do you know what they are?
In class, you will learn what they are, what to do if a customer doesn't have one of the 4 forms of ID, and how to detect false or altered ID.
|Alcohol Server Education and Service Permits|
|Oregon law requires servers to have a service permit if they mix, serve, or sell alcohol by the drink in a licensed business. Managers who supervise employees who mix, serve, or sell alcohol must also have a service permit. One of the qualifications for a service permit is to take and pass a server education class. For more information, click on Get a Service Permit. |
|How to Find a Class|
|The OLCC does not teach, schedule, or register students for server education classes. Providers are private trainers who schedule their own classes, have their own enrollment policies, and set their own fees. To take a class, you must deal directly with the provider. |
There are several ways to find out about classes:
Service Permit Application
The back of the yellow page of the service permit application contains a list of providers, the counties they teach in, and their phone numbers.
OLCC Web page
The OLCC posts these schedules as a service to students based on the information we receive from providers. The schedules are updated weekly and are subject to change. You must confirm class information with the provider.
Click here for the current class schedules and list of providers.
Many providers mail schedules to licensed businesses. Check with your employer.
When you find a class to attend, be sure to confirm the location and exact starting time with the provider. The law requires you to attend the entire class, and if you arrive late you may be turned away.
|What You Will Learn |
Coffee, food and a cold shower reduce intoxication: myth or fact?
In class, you will learn what factors affect intoxication as well as what can reduce it.
The law requires alcohol servers to pass a class in responsible alcohol service every 5 years. If you are a licensee or server who has to renew your service permit or server education requirement, you now have two options. You can repeat the initial class or you can take a shorter renewal course if you qualify.
Who qualifies to take a renewal class? There's only one qualification: if you passed a server education class within the past 7 (seven) years, you can take a renewal class. It doesn't matter whether your permit has expired or whether you've been out of the industry for a few years. If you passed your initial class within 7 years, you qualify. If it's been 7 years + 1 day, you don't qualify – no exceptions!
Not sure if you qualify? Call the OLCC and we'll look up your record.
Call 503-872-5114 in the Portland metro area
or 1-800-452-6522 ext. 5114.
Does that mean my service permit is good for 7 years? NO! Your service permit must be renewed every 5 years, and if you're a licensee, your server education requirement must be renewed every 5 years. The 7 year period applies only to whether you're qualified to take a renewal class.
Check the expiration date on your service permit. Service permits expire five years from the date the Alcohol Server Education class was taken. Remember: you must not mix, serve, or sell alcohol, or manage people who do, without a valid service permit.
What about the test? There's some risk in choosing the shorter renewal class. The passing exam score for the initial class is 70%. If you fail the initial class exam, you may retake the exam up to two times before you have to retake the class. The passing score for a renewal class is higher – 80%. If you fail the renewal exam, you may NOT retake the exam. Instead, you must retake the initial class.
Who's certified to teach renewal classes? Currently, four providers have requested and received approval to teach renewal classes. Contact Oregon Counseling & Educational Services, the Oregon Restaurant Education Foundation, Action Server Education and ABC Online Education for more information about fees, dates, and locations. Click here for the current list of providers.
What about availability? Click on the link at the top of the page titled: ASE Calendar of Classes and Provider List to look for renewal classes (they're highlighted with an "R") or contact the provider directly. Server education extensions cannot be granted because of the lack of renewal courses in your area. If renewal classes are not offered in your area, you must take the initial class.
How short is shorter? Like the initial class, there's no minimum required instruction time for the renewal class. We expect renewal classes to take between 2 and 3 hours, but that may vary from class to class. Contact the provider for more information about class length. The law still requires that the renewal class cover specified subjects, be interactive, and involve student participation.
|Seller and Clerk Training Program|
Clerk Training Program Information
If a clerk sells alcohol to a minor, or fails to properly verify a customer's age, the clerk must complete an approved training program. All employees working for grocery stores, convenience stores, and liquor stores are covered by this rule, OAR 845-009-0145.
Seller Training Program Information
Effective January 1, 2010, those who sell alcohol to minors may receive a reduced criminal penalty in court if they have completed an OLCC-approved seller training program or hold a valid service permit.
Approved seller training programs include all OLCC Alcohol Server Education (ASE) classes as well as other available courses.
|For More Information|
|OLCC Alcohol Server Education |
9079 SE McLoughlin Blvd.
Portland, OR 97222-7355
503-872-5133 in Portland
1-800-452-6522, ext. 5133, elsewhere in Oregon