2016/2017 License Renewals
renewals for physicians, podiatric physicians, and physician assistants who
hold valid one-year and two-year licenses begins October 7, 2015. Current licenses
expire December 31, 2015. A $195 late fee will be assessed for any renewals not
submitted and paid for prior to this date.
A license not
renewed by December 31, 2015, will lapse, and the licensee may not practice.
Practicing medicine with a lapsed license is considered practicing medicine
without a license, a felony offense and grounds for disciplinary
requests license renewals be complete by December 1, 2015 to ensure Board staff
have time to review and process them. As the Board no longer provides the
option to complete a paper renewal, staff will be available for assistance both
over the phone and in-person.
Continuing Education Audits
At the time of
renewal, the Oregon Medical Board will conduct a random audit of Continuing
Medical Education (CME) compliance for practitioners. Hours must be relevant to
the licensee's practice and be completed within the 2014/2015 licensing period.
Licensees may use ongoing participation in maintenance of certification.
Staff will verify certification status directly through the accepted certifying
licensees will receive initial notification during the renewal application
process. Board staff will provide follow-up notification about the audit by
e-mail and letter. Licensees must respond to the request within 60 days with
documentation of completed CME.
information regarding CME requirements, including the number of hours required,
acceptable CME providers, possible exemptions and penalties for failure to
comply, please review the Oregon Administrative Rule on
Please review our license statuses to determine which status is most appropriate for you.
Licensees who currently have a non-practicing license status and would like to practice in Oregon must complete the reactivation process.
Licensees Outside of Oregon or Ending Oregon Practice
Planning to Renew
Choose Inactive status if you do not plan to work in Oregon at this time. This status reflects the fact that you are not currently practicing medicine in Oregon.
Choose Locum Tenens status if you plan to work in Oregon intermittently but reside out of state. Locum Tenens licensees must notify the Board in writing and in advance of the date and location of any Oregon practice.
Not Planning to Renew
You may choose to allow your license to lapse or you may surrender or retire your license if you do not plan to return to practice in Oregon. To let your license lapse, you need take no further action. A license will lapse automatically if you fail to complete the registration form and pay the registration fee. The Board will notify you that your license has lapsed.
To surrender your license, you must notify the OMB in writing that you want to surrender your license. Use the term "surrender" in your letter. You must still complete your license renewal form. Return any and all certificates, licenses and wallet cards issued to you by the OMB.
Once your license renewal has been reviewed and approved, your certificate of registration will be sent to your mailing address on file. For this reason, it is crucial that you review all personal information in your file, including addresses, to be sure the information is current.
A renewal notification is not required for you to renew your license.
You may use our online system to renew your license and, if necessary, update your address in our records.
For inquiries, Call Center hours open from 9 AM to 12 PM and 1 PM to 3 PM (Pacific Standard Time).