Oregon Medical Board Revenue
The Oregon Medical Board (“OMB” or “Board”) receives no General Fund revenue. The Board is entirely self-supported. Approximately 98% of Board revenue comes from license and registration fees for medical doctors (MD), doctors of osteopathic medicine (DO), podiatrists (DPM), physician assistants (PA), and acupuncturists (LAc). About 2% of Board revenue comes from sales of lists, directories or labels, fees for license verification, and disciplinary fines.
The cost of healthcare licensure includes “pass-through fees” added by the Oregon Legislature. The following fees are collected by the Board but remitted to other state agencies:
||MD, DO, DPM, PA
||Oregon Healthcare Workforce Information Database
|MD, DO, DPM, PA
||Statewide Prescription Monitoring Database
||$25 per year|
||MD and DO
||Oregon Health Sciences University Library
||$10 per year|
License and renewal fees pay for Board functions. These functions include:
- License application processing with thorough background review
- Legal expenses
- Medical consultants
- Telephone and Internet license verifications
- Educational outreach
- Public information services
- A diversion program through the Oregon Health Authority
- Staffing to support agency functions
- Technology and equipment
- Office space and supplies
The Board strives to balance the need to provide low-cost or free information with reasonable fees to licensees. The Board works diligently to reduce fees where possible.
General inflation and increased service expectations from licensees, the medical community, and the public have necessitated a change in renewal fees.
With the Board’s 2013-15 budget, the Legislature has approved a 9% renewal fee increase for each license type. For a complete list of license renewal fees, click here.
Criminal Records Check
In 2006, the Board implemented fingerprint criminal records checks for all license
applicants. The checks were instituted without raising fees to assess the costs; however, the agency can no longer absorb this expense. OMB application fees have not increased in 15 years.
With the Board’s 2013-15 budget, the Legislature has approved a cost-recovery fee for criminal records checks. This is a pass-through fee only. The fee reflects the actual cost of the checks performed by the Oregon State Police.
As of July 1, 2013, the fee is $52 for each fingerprint criminal records check.
Physician Assistant Fees
New legislation in 2011 and 2012 made significant changes to physician assistant regulations. No funding was provided with the new legislation; however, the Board incurred substantial costs to implement the necessary changes.
With the Board’s 2013-15 budget, the Legislature has approved one-time fees to recover the initial and ongoing costs.
- Physicians who apply to supervise a physician assistant for the first time since January 1, 2012, will pay a one-time, $100 application fee.
- Physician assistants will pay a one-time, $65 surcharge for the 2014-2015 license registration period.