2014-2015 License Renewals
Online license renewals for physicians and physician assistants begins October 7, 2013. Current licenses expire December 31. A $195 late fee will be assessed for any renewals not submitted and paid for prior to this date or the license will lapse.
A licensee may not practice with a lapsed license. Practicing medicine with a lapsed license is considered practicing medicine without a license, a felony offense. This may be grounds for disciplinary action.
The OMB requests license renewals to be complete by December 1 to ensure that Board staff have time to review and process them.
As a new service from the Board, licensees may visit the Board office to complete the renewal process on a designated Board computer with staff assistance.
Call Center hours will be open from 8 AM to 12 PM and 1 PM to 4 PM (Pacific Standard Time) through January 31st to accommodate inquires about late license renewal.
In January 2014, the Oregon Medical Board will conduct a random audit of Continuing Medical Education (CME) compliance for physicians and physician assistants. Hours must be relevant to the licensee's practice and be completed within the 2012-2013 licensing biennium. Licensees who have completed the six hours of CME on pain management or end-of-life care offered by the Department of Human Services can apply these courses to the total hours required by the Board.
Licensees can use ongoing participation in specialty board recertification to fulfill the Oregon CME requirements. However, lifetime certification will not satisfy these requirements. Staff will verify certification status directly through the certifying board.
Board staff will notify audited licensees in January 2014 by e-mail and letter. Licensees must respond to the request within 60 days with documentation of completed CME.
Please review our license statuses
to determine which status is most appropriate for you.
Licensees who currently have a non-practicing license status and would like to practice in Oregon must complete the reactivation process
Licensees Outside of Oregon or Ending Oregon Practice
Planning to renew
Choose Inactive status if you do not plan to work in Oregon at this time. This status reflects the fact that you are not currently practicing medicine in Oregon.
Choose Locum Tenens status if you plan to work in Oregon intermittently but reside out of state. Locum Tenens licensees must notify the Board in writing and in advance of the date and location of any Oregon practice.
Choose a telemedicine status if you reside outside of Oregon and practice on Oregon patients across state lines by transmission of patient data via electronic or other means.
Not planning to renew
You may choose to allow your license to lapse or you may surrender or retire your license if you do not plan to return to practice in Oregon. To let your license lapse, you need take no further action. A license will lapse automatically if you fail to complete the registration form and pay the registration fee. The Board will notify you that your license has lapsed.
To surrender your license, you must notify the OMB in writing that you want to surrender your license. Use the term "surrender" in your letter. You must still complete your license renewal form. Return any and all certificates, licenses and wallet cards issued to you by the OMB.
Once your license renewal has been reviewed and approved, your certificate of registration will be sent to your mailing address on file. For this reason, it is crucial that you review all personal information in your file, including addresses, to be sure the information is current.
Due to the high volume of renewal applications received, it may take 2 to 4 weeks to receive your renewed certificate of registration.
A renewal notification is not required for you to renew your license.
You may use our online system to renew your license and, if necessary, update your addresses in our records.
Register as a dispensing physician if you provide patients with prescription medications and bill for those drugs. In-office treatment, parenterals, writing prescriptions and handing out manufacturer-packaged drug samples are not dispensing.
Register as a dispensing physician by answering “yes” to the dispensing question on your renewal application. This registration is free. Unregistered dispensing physicians may be fined.
Dispensing physicians must comply with rules of the DEA, the Oregon Board of Pharmacy, and the Oregon Medical Board. Some of these rules are listed on page 2 of our Dispensing Physician Application form, which can be electronically accessed through our forms page