Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
ATV Safety Institute (ASI)-ATV RiderCourse
 

The ATV Safety Institute is a division of the Specialty Vehicle Institute of America (SVIA). ASI offers training for Class I ATVs (quads).  You have three options for pre-registering for a course in your area:
 
1. Call 1-800-887-2887
 
2. Contact Oregon Instructors Directly 
 
3. Sign up On-Line
 
You must possess a DOT approved helmet, goggles, boots, gloves, your own ATV and a willingness to learn about safe and responsible operation of ATVs. Arrangement may be able to be made if you don´t have an ATV or equipment.
 
In order to help you find training near you, Oregon Parks & Recreation Department now has a locator page which displays training events sent to us from some of Oregon's ASI  instructors. 
  
Click here to access hands-on training courses provided by ASI.
 
NOTE: Because this is a relatively new feature, many training events may not show yet. Therefore we encourage you to also utilize the enrollment process for the course you want to sign up for to find additional training opportunities.

Quad (Class I) Training
ATV Training class
 
The ASI ATV RiderCoursesm is a 4 to 5 hour hands-on learning experience, with particular emphasis on the safety implications relating to each lesson.  The course also covers protective gear, environmental concerns, Oregon laws and safety techniques.  The training includes pre-ride inspections, starting and stopping, turning (gradual and quick), hills (stopping, u-turns, traversing), emergency stopping and swerving and riding over obstacles.

OHV Safety Subsidy for Kids
Are you an Oregon resident between the ages of 6 and 15?
Do you ride your ATV on any of Oregon's public lands?
Have you never taken an ASI Safety Class?
 
If you answered yes to these three questions, the ATV Program will pay $40 of the $55 cost for you to take his training course; leaving $15.00 out of pocket cost to your parent.

You must possess a DOT approved helmet, goggles, boots, gloves, your own ATV and a willingness to learn about safe and responsible operation of ATVs. Some instructors have loaner equipment available.


If the student you are signing up is between 6 and 15, remember to inform the ASI  call center operator that they are an Oregon resident and eligible for the subsidy provided by Oregon Parks and Recreation Department.