Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF)-DirtBike School

The Motorcycle Safety Foundation is a division of the Specialty Vehicle Institute of America (SVIA), and offers training for Class III ATVs. To pre-register for a course in your area, call 1-877-288-7093 or  Contact Oregon Coaches Directly.
                  
 
You must possess a DOT approved helmet, goggles, boots, gloves, your own motorcycle and a willingness to learn about safe and responsible operation of  Dirtbikes. Arrangement may be able to be made if you don´t have a motorcycle or equipment.
 
In order to help you find training near you, Oregon Parks & Recreation Department now has a locator page which displays training events sent to us from some of Oregon's MSF instructors. 
  
Click HERE to access hands-on training courses provided by MSF.

 
NOTE: Because this is a relatively new feature, many training events may not show yet. Therefore we encourage you to also utilize the enrollment process for the course you want to sign up for to find additional training opportunities.

Motorcycle training
DirtBike School
 
www.dirtbikeschool.com/
 
The MSF DirtBike Schoolsm begins with the basics: sitting on the motorcycle, locating and operating the controls, straight-line riding.  As students progress, they learn how to ride in circles, make sharp turns and negotiate hills.  There are supplemental exercises for more experienced riders.  In addition to learning new skills, students also discuss responsible riding practices, including risk management and environmental awareness.  There is a section on Oregon laws as well.  At  the end of the day, students should have a solid understanding of the techniques an off-highway rider must use to stay safe, act responsibly and most important: have fun.

OHV Safety Subsidy for Kids
 
Are you an Oregon resident between the ages of 6 and 15?
Do you ride your motorcycle on any of Oregon’s public lands?
Have you never taken an MSF Safety Class?
 
If you answered yes to these three questions, the ATV Program will pay $40 of the $75 cost for you to take this training course; leaving $35.00 out of pocket cost to your parent.

You must possess a DOT approved helmet, goggles, boots, gloves, your own ATV and a willingness to learn about safe and responsible operation of ATVs. Some instructors have loaner equipment available.


If the student you are signing up is between 6 and 15, remember to inform the MSF call center operator that they are an Oregon resident and eligible for the subsidy provided by Oregon Parks and Recreation Department.