Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
Oregon Heritage Commission

David Lewis, Chair 
David Lewis is an anthropologist, archivist, ethno-historian, educator and an adjunct professor at Oregon State University. He is the former tribal historian and museum director of the Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde.

Jon Tullis, Vice Chair
Jon Tullis is the director of public affairs for Timberline Lodge and Ski Area.  He is a board member of the Mt. Hood Museum and Cultural Center, and past president of the Mt. Hood Chamber of Commerce. He previously worked in the arts and antique auction business.
Carole Astley (advisory)
Carole Astley is the industry relations manager for the Oregon Tourism Commission, dba Travel Oregon. In her role with Travel Oregon she oversees the tourism matching grants program, state welcome centers, Q care customer service training program and Oregon Governor's Conference on Tourism.
Constance Beaumont (advisory)
Constance Beaumont manages education and outreach for the Oregon Transportation and Growth Management Program, a partnership of the Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development and the Oregon Department of  Transportation. 

David Brauner (advisory)
David Brauner is an anthropology professor at Oregon State University who has represented the Oregon University System. 
Dan Cantrall (advisory)
Dan Cantrall is the deputy coordinator of the Oregon State Historic Records Advisory Board.
Chrissy Curran (advisory)
Chrissy Curran is the deputy state historic preservation officer.

MaryKay Dahlgreen (advisory)
MaryKay Dahlgreen became the Oregon State Librarian in March 2012. Prior to her appointment she had worked at the State Library for 16 years, seven as the Program Manager for Library Development and nine as the Youth Services Consultant. Dahlgreen began her professional career after earning her MLIS from the University of Washington in 1984.

MariLou Diamond
MariLou Diamond is a professional interior architect specializing in both commercial and residential design.  She is the founding president of the Hellenic-American Cultural Center & Museum.  Mari Lou has served on the boards of numerous civic, professional, cultural and philanthropic organizations.

Kimberly Jensen
Kimberly Jensen is a professor of history at Western Oregon University. Besides award-winning teaching at the university, Jensen served on the steering committee for the Oregon Woman Suffrage Centennial, the editorial board of the Oregon Encyclopedia project, and the editorial advisory board for the Oregon Historical Society. A book she wrote on American women in the First World War that was a finalist for a 2008 Oregon Book Award. 

Todd Kepple
Todd Kepple is the director of the Klamath County Museums.

Sarah LeCompte
Sarah LeCompte is manager of the National Historic Oregon Trail Interpretive Center in Baker City. She also serves on the Baker City Historic District Design Review Board, and has assisted the Baker County Cultural Coalition and the Oregon Museums Association.
Eric Martin
Eric Martin is a a graduate of the University of Vermont's historic preservation program and worked at Historic Boston Inc., a historic preservation revolving fund and advocacy organization. He is an associate of Stoel Rives LLP in Portland.
Carol Michael
Carol Michael has been involved in community activities in Morrow County for more than 20 years. The activities include the North Morrow Community Foundation, the Morrow County Historical Society, the Boardman Chamber of Commerce, the OSU Extension Service, and the Morrow County Cultural Coalition. 
Andrea Morgan (advisory)
Andrea Morgan is the social sciences curriculum specialist for the Oregon Department of Education. In her work, she has facilitated the development of the current Oregon Social Sciences Standards, and she provides assistance to districts, schools, and teachers with history and other social sciences curriculum and instruction issues. Previously, she taught high school history and economics in the Silver Falls School District. She has a masters degree in interdisciplinary studies from Western Oregon University.

Jerry Ostermiller
Jerry Ostermiller With over 25 years of museum administration experience, his has served as an administrator for a number of major programs. Prior to being executive director at the Columbia River Maritime Museum, Ostermiller was Historic Sites Administrator for the State of Idaho. He was also a member of the Idaho Historic Preservation Council and served as its president in 1988. Ostermiller is past president of the Council of American Maritime Museums and a member of the board of the United States Lifesaving Service Heritage Association.

Layne Sawyer (advisory)
Layne Sawyer has worked at the Oregon State Archives since 1986. Before coming to work for the State Archives she worked as manuscripts curator at the Oregon Historical Society. She earned her undergraduate degree in American history from Washington State University and a master in library science degree from the University of Denver. She is a member of the Academy of Certified Archivists, Northwest Archivists, and other heritage organizations.

Kerry Tymchuk (advisory)
Kerry Tymchuk, an author and a historian, is the executive director of the Oregon Historical Society. He chaired the 2012 Legislative Task Force on Heritage Vitality.




The Heritage Commission conducts quarterly meetings at sites around Oregon. These meetings often include a business session as well as a tour of heritage sites and organizations in the region.
Upcoming Heritage Commission meetings (and their anticipated locations) are: 


Feb. 2           Oregon City.  Agenda
April 23        2 p.m. North Bend. During the Oregon Heritage Conference.
June 5          Phone meeting.
Sept. 14        Location to be determined.
Nov. 2           Location to be determined.

These dates, times and locations are subject to change.

For current information about the exact time and locations, or about agendas, contact the Commission coordinator at (503) 986-0673 or heritage.info@oregon.gov The services, programs and activities of the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department are covered by the Americans with Disabilities Act.  If you need special accommodations to participate in an Oregon Heritage Commission meeting, please contact the Heritage Programs ADA Coordinator at (503) 986-0690 at least 72 hours prior to the start of the meeting.




Feb. 2          Forthcoming


January 21     Minutes
March 7          Minutes
April 23          Minutes
May 28           Minutes
Sept. 8           Minutes
Dec. 16          Minutes


January 28     Minutes
May 9            Minutes
July 22          Minutes
Nov. 4           Minutes

February 6     Minutes
April 26         Minutes
May 21          Minutes
June 20         Minutes
October 22    Minutes
February 14    Minutes 
April 7            Minutes 
July 18            Minutes 
Nov. 7            Minutes 
Dec. 9            Minutes 
February 1       Minutes 
May 13            Minutes 
June 9              Minutes 
September 27  Minutes 
November 8     Minutes 
February 13    Minutes 
April 16          Minutes 
July 27            Minutes 
November 2    Minutes 
December 18  Minutes 
January 26      Minutes
May 6             Minutes
August 4         Minutes 
November 10  Minutes 
February 5      Minutes
February 26    Minutes
May 3             Minutes
August 6         Minutes
November 5   Minutes