OAR 736-015, Changes to facilitate contracting (markup) 	7/13/2016
DIVISION 15 
RATES
736-015-0006
Definitions
As used in this division, unless the context requires otherwise:
(1) "Adoptive Foster Families” means one or more persons who have adopted one or more foster children pursuant to ORS 418.285. At least one of the children must currently be under 18 years of age and living with the Adoptive Foster Family.
(2) “Commission" means the Oregon State Parks and Recreation Commission.
(3) "Department" means the Oregon State Parks and Recreation Department.
(4) "Director" means the director of the department.
(5) "Enforcement Officer" means a peace officer or park employee specifically designated by the director under ORS 390.050 to investigate observed or reported violations, and to issue oral or written warnings or citations to enforce park area rules.
(6) "Foster Families" means persons with their foster children, who currently maintain:
(a) A Foster Home, a Relative Home for Children or a Foster Home for Children with Developmental Disabilities, as described in ORS 418.625 or 443.830;
(b) A Foster Home certified by the Oregon youth Authority under OAR chapter 416, division 530;
(c) A Foster Home certified by any of the nine federally-recognized tribal governments as listed in ORS 172.110; or
(d) A therapeutic Foster Home for Children with Developmental Disabilities provided through a third party provider that has been certified by the Department of Human Services.
(7) "In Kind Services" means a group or person who provides, at the direction of park staff, materials or services whose value to the park area equals or is greater than the normal fees.
(8) "Marketing and Promotion" generally are agency-sponsored events that are of regional or statewide significance promoting tourism or partnerships with local communities, other agencies or economic development.
(9) “Motor Vehicle” as defined in ORS 801.360 means a vehicle that is self-propelled or designed for self-propulsion. ORS 801.590 further defines “vehicle” as “any device in, upon or by which any person or property is or may be transported or drawn upon a public highway and includes vehicles that are propelled or powered by any means.”
(10) "Non-Profit Entity" means a group having a 501c(3) exempt status filed with the US Department of Internal Revenue Service.
(11) "Park Area" means any state park, wayside, corridor, monument, historic, or recreation area, except portions of ocean shore recreation areas not abutting a state park or wayside, under the jurisdiction of the department.
(12) "Park Employee" means an employee of the department.
(13) "Park Facility" includes but is not limited to individual and group campsites, day use areas and shelters, cabins, yurts, tepees, camper wagons, meeting halls, lodges, pavilions, and other amenities of the department.
(14) "Park Manager" means the supervisor or designated park employee in charge of a park area.
(15) "Peace Officer" means a sheriff, constable, marshal, municipal police officer, member of the Oregon State Police, and other persons as may be designated by law.
(16) "Person" includes individuals, a public or private corporation, an unincorporated association, a partnership, a government or a governmental instrumentality.
(17) "Reduced Service Level" means a reduction in the normal level of service that a person may reasonably expect due to the department's action/inaction or park facility failure lasting longer than 24 hours.
(18) "Reservation Cancellation" means the person requests an existing reservation be ended without the creation of a new reservation.
(19) "Reservation Change" means a modification to an existing reservation by a person that changes the arrival or departure dates, a complete change to reservation dates, or changes the type of site from the original request.
(20) "Special Events" may be an activity sponsored or co-sponsored by the department, an event that provides entertainment to park visitors, or other activities that promote the mission of the department or Oregon tourism.
 (21) "Split Reservation" means a stay at a park area for one person for one continuous date range that requires a mid-stay move from one site to another.
(2221) "Traditional Tribal Activities" generally means traditional, spiritual, natural and cultural resource practices that would have been or which still are conducted by a federally recognized tribe or its members.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 390.124
Stats. Implemented: ORS 390.050, 390.111, 390.121 & 390.124

736-015-0015
Reservations
(1) Purpose: Based on the department's goal to promote outdoor recreation in Oregon, the department established a reservation program to increase use of park areas and facilities. The director may designate specific park facilities to offer for reservation through a centralized call center and through the Internet. 
(2) General Regulations: 
(a) Reservations will be accepted and processed for designated park facilities through the Oregon State Parks Reservation Center and the Internet. 
(b) A person may make a reservation a minimum of one day and a maximum of nine months prior to the arrival date. 
(c) A person must be 18 years of age or older to make a reservation. 
(d) A person who qualifies under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) may reserve accessible campsites. 
(e) A person may not make reservations for multiple park areas for the same date range. 
(f) A person reserving a boat slip (where available) must also reserve another facility at the same park area. 
(g) Reservations and registrations for horse camping sites shall be made only for people camping with their horses or similar large animals unless otherwise specified by the park manager. 
 (h) Split reservations are allowed to accommodate persons. Only one split reservation shall be allowed per reservation. The department may waive one reservation fee for every reservation fee paid. A split reservation may only be made through the Oregon State Parks Reservation Center. Reservations made on the Internet are not eligible for this fee waiver.
(ih) Only the person whose name appears on the original reservation, or their designee (as documented in the reservation records) or the primary occupant may change or cancel an existing reservation or access information associated with a reservation. 
(ji) Customer information may be made available upon written request in compliance with ORS chapter 192 and department policy. 
(kj) Specific information regarding a confirmed reservation will not be released to the public as provided in ORS 192.501 and 192.502. 
(3) Transaction Fees and Deposits: 
(a) The department will charge an $8 non-refundable transaction fee for each reservation made through the centralized call center or the Internet. 
(b) Reservations require a facility deposit equal to the full amount charged for use of the facility during the reservation period. 
(c) All fees are due at the time the person makes the reservation. 
(4) Payment Methods: 
(a) A person may use a valid credit card (VISA or MasterCard) or bank debit card with a VISA or MasterCard logo. 
(b) A person may pay for reservations made through the Oregon State Parks Reservation Center by personal check, money order, certified check, department issued gift certificates or travelers check (in U.S. funds) if the person’s arrival date is ten or more days from the time the reservation is made. These forms of payment are not accepted for reservations made on the Internet.
(c) The department must receive payment within five calendar days of the date the person makes the reservation. If payment is not received within this time frame, the department will cancel the reservation. The person remains responsible for the $8 transaction fee for each reservation request. 
(d) If a banking institution returns a check to the department for any reason or if a credit or debit card is declined, the department will attempt to contact the person. Inability to resolve the payment dispute will result in a reservation cancellation. The person will remain responsible for the $8 transaction fee for each reservation. 
(e) Government agencies and non-profit entities may request to be invoiced for services. Reservations should be made at least 30 days prior to arrival. The department must receive payment within 25 days of the date the reservation is made. If payment is not received within this time frame, the department will cancel the reservation. The government agency or non-profit entity remains responsible for the $8 transaction fee for each reservation request.If payment is not received the department will cancel the reservation. The department will bill for the $8 transaction fee for each reservation. 
(f) A person must pay all outstanding account balances prior to making future reservations. 
(5) Reservation Cancellations: 
(a) A person may cancel their reservation prior to the day of arrival by using the internet or by calling the Oregon State Parks Reservation Center. An automated reservation cancellation voice mail system is available seven days a week, 24 hours a day. 
(b) A person may also cancel their reservation prior to the day of arrival using Internet or E-mail. The department will post detailed instructions for cancelling a reservation on the department's web site which is available seven days a week, 24 hours a day. 
(c) A To cancel a reservation on the day of arrival a person may contact the specific park where their reservation is held to cancel reservations on the scheduled day of arrival. 
(d) In order to receive a refund of all use fees, a person must cancel the reservation for individual campsites, deluxe and rustic cabins, deluxe and rustic yurts, horse camps, tepees, and boat moorages three or more days prior to the arrival date. If the cancellation is received less than three days in advance of the arrival date, a fee equal to one overnight rental fee for the facility will be forfeited. 
(e) In order to receive a refund of all use fees for group camps, day use areas, meeting halls, lodges, Silver Falls Youth Camp, Silver Falls Ranch, Shore Acres Garden House, Pavilions, RV Group Areas and other special facilities as designated by the department, a person must cancel the reservation at least one month prior to arrival. If the cancellation request is received less than one month in advance of the arrival date, a fee equal to one night’s or one day’s rental for the facility will be forfeited. 
(6) Reservation Changes: 
(a) The department will charge an $8 non-refundable transaction fee for each reservation change. 
(b) A person may request to change a confirmed reservation by calling the Oregon State Parks Reservation Center during normal business hours Monday through Friday. 
(c) A person may not make any date changes to reservations more than eight months in advance of the arrival date. 
(d) Reservations made for six or more consecutive nights that are later shortened will be charged the nightly rate for each night removed in addition to an $8 transaction fee for the change. 
(e) A person must request a reservation change for campsites, deluxe and rustic cabins, deluxe and rustic yurts, tepees, and boat moorages three or more days in advance of the arrival date. Changes are not permitted within three days of the arrival date. 
(f) A person requesting a reservation change for group camps, day use areas, meeting halls, lodges, Silver Falls Youth Camp, Silver Falls Ranch House, Shore Acres Garden House, Pavilions, RV Group Areas, and other special facilities as designated by the department must request the change at least one month prior to arrival date. Changes are not permitted within one month of the arrival date. 
(7) Claiming Reservations 
(a) Customers with confirmed reservations must arrive before 1:00 p.m. the day following the first scheduled day of their reservation. 
(b) The reserved site must remain occupied each night during the entire length of stay. 
(c) In emergency situations, customers may request Park park Manager manager approval for late arrivals not to exceed 6:00 p.m. of the second day of the reservation. Site fees for the first night will be charged regardless of the arrival time. 
(d) Customers, including those that have pre-registered, who do not check in at the park or notify park staff that they will be delayed prior to 1:00 p.m. of the second day of the reservation will be considered a “no show” and the entire reservation will be cancelled. The first night fee and any transaction fees previously collected for the reservation will be retained. Any remaining nightly fees paid to confirm the reservation will be refunded. 
(8) Reservations to Accommodate Organized Groups: 
(a) General: To accommodate group use when 20 or more sites are booked by the same group in campgrounds designed primarily for individual camping, the following rules apply and to bring efficiencies to the group reservation process, the director may offer group camping to persons reserving multiple individual camping sites. 
(b) The department will require full payment for all sites at the time the reservation is made and charge a non-refundable reservation fee of $8 for each site. An $8 non-refundable transaction fee will be charged for any date or site change made to a reservation included in the group. 
(c) A person must reserve a minimumgroup is considered any reservation of at least 20 individual overnight campsites made in one person’s name through the Oregon State Parks Reservation Center or on the Internet for their group to qualify for group camping reservations. 
 (d) The department will charge a non-refundable reservation fee of $8 for each site. An $8 non-refundable transaction fee will be charged for any date or site change made to a reservation included in the group. 
(ed) Reservations Group reservations made on the Internet for a group of 20 or more sites are not eligible for group camping. 
(f) A person may reserve a meeting hall (where available) for one day's free use when the minimum number of sites are reserved and used. The person may reserve the meeting hall for additional days at the normal rental rate. 
(ge) Special fFacilities such as lodges, Silver Falls Youth Camp, Silver Falls Ranches, and other special facilities as designated by the department are not included in the group camping program benefit. 
(f) To promote the safety and enjoyment of all park users, the department may contact the reservation holder of any group reservation and ask for individual camper information prior to arrival. In such cases, the department will provide ample notice and request that information be received no sooner than two months and no later than one week before the group’s arrival.
 (h) A person must make reservations at least two months prior to arrival date to qualify for group camping benefits. 
(9) When only a portion of a specific type of facility in a park is designated as ADA compliant, the department will hold the facility designated as ADA compliant for use by individuals with disabilities until all other facilities of that type have been reserved and the accessible facility is the only remaining facility of that type available in the park. 
Stat. Auth.: ORS 390.124
Stats. Implemented: ORS 390.111, 390.121 & 390.124
736-015-0026
Group Day Use
(1) At designated park areas, a person may reserve a group picnic area(s) by calling the Oregon State Parks Reservation Center during normal business hours. The park manager will determine the maximum group size for each park facility.
(2) The department will charge group picnic rental rates to offset additional park administration and maintenance costs: 
(a) Base rate (0–50 people) — $50; 
(b) Charges for persons in excess of the 50 person base rate will be $1 per person 
(3) The park manager may make advance arrangements with the group leader for parking, supervision, cleanup, checkout time, and other pertinent details. 
(4) Upon arrival, the group leader will check in with the park manager staff who will direct the group to the reserved area. 
(5) The group must have adult supervision at all times. 
(6) Pursuant to ORS 105.672 to 105.696, group day use rental charges under this rule are for use of the assigned area or park facility of the state park land for picnicking and not for any other recreational purpose or area of state park land. The immunities provided under ORS 105.682 apply to use of state park land for any other recreational purpose.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 390.124
Stats. Implemented: ORS 390.111, 390.121, 390.124 & HB 3673 (2010) 


736-015-0030
Day Use Parking Permit
(1) Purpose: Based on the department's goal to manage increased use of park areas, the director may require a motor vehicle day use parking permit at selected park areas. This charge is a parking fee and not a charge for recreational purposes under ORS 105.672 to ORS 105.696. The immunities provided under ORS 105.682 apply to use of state park land for recreational purpose.
(2) General Regulations:
(a) Parking permits are to be clearly displayed through the windshield of motor vehicles with the expiration date visible;
(b) Persons with motorcycles or other motor vehicles, such as convertibles, where the permits could be subject to theft, may keep the permit with them and must show it to an enforcement officer or park employee upon request.
(3) Day Use Parking Permit Fees:
(a) Daily Motor Vehicle — $5;
(b) 12-month Permit — $30;
(c) 24-month Permit — $50;
(4) The department may enter into a written agreement with privately owned commercial vendors and non-profit cooperative associations affiliated with the department under ORS 390.143 to sell 12-month and 24-month permits:
(a) The director shall establish a minimumA maximum allowable fee of $1 for may be added to the cost of the permit by vendors who sell the 12-month and 24-month permits;
(b) Non-profit cooperative associations affiliated with the department may by agreement retain fees in excess of the minimum vendor fee for use in funding interpretive programs in park areas;
(c) The vendor's fee will be included in the price of the permit;
(d) Only a park employee may issue replacement permits in the event an original permit is lost, stolen, or mutilated.
(5) Daily Access Exceptions: The director may grant exceptions to the day-use permit requirement under the following circumstances:
(a) Emergency vehicles;
(b) Government vehicles on official business;
(c) Business and delivery vehicles on official business;
(d) A person who is currently a registered camper at a park area and clearly displays the overnight rental receipt;
(e) Park concessionaires and their employees;
(f) A person entering the park to engage in specially permitted non-recreation activities;
(g) Park volunteers on duty in the park;
(h) A person with a permit issued by another entity with which the department has a written agreement to honor their passes;
(i) Other persons as designated by the director.
(6) Park Areas Subject to Day-Use Fees: Park areas at which a day use fee shall be charged include: Fort Stevens State Park, Cape Lookout State Park, Ecola State Park, Nehalem Bay State Park, Honeyman Memorial State Park (West side), L.L. "Stub" Stewart Memorial State Park, Heceta Head Lighthouse, Shore Acres State Park, Milo McIver State Park, Viento State Park, Benson State Recreation Area, Dabney State Recreation Area, Historic Columbia River Highway State Trail, Mayer State Park, Rooster Rock State Park, Champoeg State Heritage Area, Detroit Lake State Recreation Area, Fall Creek State Recreation Area (Winberry), Silver Falls State Park, Jasper State Recreation Site, Mongold Day-use Area, Willamette Mission State Park, Tou Velle State Recreation Site, The Cove Palisades State Park, Tumalo State Park, Smith Rock State Park, Farewell Bend State Recreation Area.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 390.124
Stats. Implemented: ORS 390.111, 390.121 & HB 3673 (2010)

736-015-0035
Fee Waivers and Refunds 
(1) The director, at the direction of the commission, may waive, reduce or exempt fees established in this division under the following conditions: 
(a) A person or group provides in-kind services or materials equal to or greater than the value of the applicable rate, as determined by criteria approved by the director; 
(b) Marketing or promotional considerations, including but not limited to special events and commercial filming, that promote the use of park areas and Oregon tourism; 
(c) Traditional tribal activities in accordance with policy adopted by the Commission; 
(d) Reduced service levels at a park, campsite or other facility as determined by the Park park Managermanager. 
(2) Reservation Facility Deposit Fee Waivers for individual primitive, tent, electric, full hook-up or horse camp campsites only: 
(a) The facility deposit fee is waived for reservations on State Parks Day (first Saturday of June). All other fees apply. 
(b) The facility deposit fee is waived for foster families and adoptive foster families as defined in OAR 736-015-0006. The fee waiver is limited to the first two campsites, and an adult care provider must be present with the foster children. All other fees apply. 
(c) The facility deposit fee is waived for U.S. veterans with a service connected disability or active duty U.S. military personnel as provided in ORS 390.124. All other fees apply. 
(d) The person making the reservation must pay the $8 non-refundable transaction fee at the time the reservation is made. This fee is not included in the fee waiver. 
(3) Overnight Rental Fee Waivers for individual primitive, tent, electric, full hook-up or horse camp campsites only: 
(a) The overnight rental fee, including any extra vehicle fees, is waived for all persons on the night of State Parks Day (first Saturday of June). All other fees apply. 
(b) The overnight rental fee is waived for foster families and adoptive foster families as defined in OAR 736-015-0006. The fee waiver is limited to the first two campsites, and an adult care provider with one or more foster children must be present. The overnight rental fee waiver is limited to no more than fourteen nights total in a 30-day period. All other fees and rules apply. 
(c) The overnight rental fee is waived for U.S. veterans with a service connected disability or active duty U.S. military personnel on leave as provided in ORS 390.124. The overnight rental fee waiver is limited to no more than ten nights total in a 30-day period. The qualifying veteran or active duty military personnel on leave must be present in the site to qualify for the waiver. All other fees and rules apply. 
(d) The director may waive the overnight rental fee for volunteer hosts traveling to or from an assignment at a park area. 
(4) Day Use Parking Fee Waivers: 
(a) The day use parking fee is waived for all persons on State Parks Day (first Saturday of June). 
(b) The day use parking fee is waived for U.S. veterans with a service connected disability or active duty U.S. military personnel on leave as provided in ORS 390.124. 
(c) The day use parking fee is waived for foster families and adoptive foster families as defined in OAR 736-015-0006. The waiver shall be valid until the expiration date of the Certificate of Approval to Provide Foster Care or the adopted foster child turns 18 years of age. 
(d) All other fees apply. 
(5) At those parks offering showers to non-campers, the shower use fee is waived for individuals with an OPRD Special Access Pass. 
(6) Proof of Eligibility for Fee Waivers 
(a) The department will issue Veterans and Foster families who have provided the department valid proof of eligibility an OPRD Special Access Pass. Pass holders must use the pass to identify themselves as a qualified recipient of fee waivers at state park campgrounds and day use areas. They must also provide valid government-issued picture identification that matches the name on the pass.  Proof of eligibility must be provided through an application process outlined on the OPRD web site at www.oregonstateparks.org or by calling the OPRD Information Center at 1-800-551-6949 for instructions. 
(b) The department will accept the following forms of proof to qualify for fee waivers as a U.S. veteran with a service connected disability: 
(A) Disabled Veteran's license plate issued by the Oregon DMV; 
(B) A current Disabled Veteran Permanent Hunting/Angling License issued by the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife; 
(C) A Washington State Parks Disabled Veteran's ID card; 
(D) A United States Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) photo identification card bearing the words "service connected"; 
(E) A letter issued by the VA stating eligibility for any of the above programs, or bearing the words "service-connected disability.” 
(c) The department will accept the following forms of proof to qualify for fee waivers as an adoptive foster family, as defined in OAR 736-015-0006, with an adopted foster child under 18 years of age or a foster family, as defined in OAR 736-015-0006: 
(A) Certificate of Approval to Maintain a Foster Home for Children with Developmental Disabilities; 
(B) Certificate of Approval to Maintain a Foster Home for Children; 
(C) Certificate of Approval to Maintain a Relative Home for Children; 
(D) Written certification from Department of Human Services identifying the applicant as an adoptive or guardian foster family. 
(d) The department will not issue an Active Duty Military on official leave a Special Access Pass. Such customers must pay any applicable fee and may contact the department after their visit may to request a refund. The department may request supporting documentation in the form of by sending a letter from their commanding officer on official letterhead stating that the person was they were on leave for the dates they camped and their camping receipt. Refund requests must be rceived to the Oregon State Parks Reservation Center within 30 days after departure date of the stay. A refund of applicable fees will be sent within three weeks of the receipt of their valid request. 
(7) There will be no charge for issuing a Special Access Pass or renewing an expired pass. There will be a processing fee of $5.00 for replacement of a lost pass that is still valid. 
(8) The department may revoke or temporarily suspend an OPRD Special Access Pass issued under section (6) if: 
(a) The pass is used to waive fees beyond the allowable limits in a 30-day period; 
(b) The pass holder does not occupy a site when fees have been waived under authority of their pass; or 
(c) The pass holder transfers their pass to another person to use. 
[bookmark: _GoBack](9) Pass holders must cancel their reservation three days prior to arrival to avoid a penalty. Cancellations made within the three day period will reduce the benefit by one night in the applicable 30-day benefit period. be charged a penalty equal to one nights facility fee for the type of site reserved. 
(10) Pass holders who make a reservation and do not check in at the park or notify park staff that they will be delayed, prior to 1:00 p.m. of the second day of the reservation, will be considered a “no show” and the entire reservation will be cancelled. The pass holder’s benefit will be reduced by one night in the applicable 30-day benefit period A penalty equal to one overnight rental fee for the type of site reserved will be charged. 
(11) If a pass holder vacates their site one or more days prior to checkout without notifying park staff, any days remaining on the reservation will be counted against their monthly waiver limit. 
(12) A person may request a refund under the following circumstances. 
(a) The Oregon State Parks Reservation Center may refund a reservation fee when the department has made a reservation error. 
(b) The Oregon State Parks Reservation Center may refund a facility deposit and may waive the cancellation or change rules when requested by the person due to the following emergency situations: 
(A) Emergency vehicle repair creates a late arrival or complete reservation cancellation; 
(B) A medical emergency or death of a family member creates a late arrival or complete reservation cancellation; 
(C) Acts of Nature nature create dangerous travel conditions; or 
(D) Deployment of military or emergency service personnel creates a late arrival or complete reservation cancellation. 
(c) The director or his/her designee may approve a refund under other special circumstances. 
(d) The department will accept refund requests via phone through the Oregon State Parks Reservation Center, All requests for refunds under this section must be sent in writing to the Oregon State Parks Reservation Center via email, fax or surface mail to be considered for a refund. The department may ask for supporting documentation to help determine if a refund is warranted.
(e) The department will issue refunds for specific site or park area closures and no written customer request is required. 
(f) The park manager may only issue a refund at the park due to the person leaving earlier than expected, and while the person is present and has signed for the refund. Once the person has left the park, refund requests must be sent to the Oregon State Parks Reservation Centerdepartment for processing.
Stat. Auth.: ORS 390.124 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 390.111, 390.121 & 390.124 
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