Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

Oregon Library Laws - Revised Statutes - Other Statutes: State Library
Oregon Revised Statutes
Chapter 244 - Government Standards and Practices
 
REPORTING
 
244.050 Persons required to file statement of economic interest; filing deadline; civil penalty.
(1) On or before April 15 of each year the following persons shall file with the Oregon Government Standards and Practices Commission a verified statement of economic interest as required under this chapter:
. . . .
 
(g) The following state officers:
. . . .
 
(M) State Librarian.
 
. . . .
. . . .
(2) By April 15 next after the date an appointment takes effect, every appointed public official on a board or commission listed in subsection (1) of this section shall file with the commission a statement of economic interest as required under ORS 244.060, 244.070 and 244.090.
 
(3) By April 15 next after the filing deadline for the primary election, each candidate for elective public office described in subsection (1) of this section shall file with the commission a statement of economic interest as required under ORS 244.060, 244.070 and 244.090.
 
(4) Within 30 days after the filing deadline for the general election, each candidate for elective public office described in subsection (1) of this section who was not a candidate in the preceding primary election, or who was nominated for elective public office described in subsection (1) of this section at the preceding primary election by write-in votes, shall file with the commission a statement of economic interest as required under ORS 244.060, 244.070 and 244.090.
 
(5) The Legislative Assembly shall maintain a continuing review of the operation of this chapter.
 
(6) Subsections (1) to (5) of this section apply only to persons who are incumbent, elected or appointed officials as of April 15 and to persons who are candidates for office on April 15. Those sections also apply to persons who do not become candidates until 30 days after the filing deadline for the statewide general election.
 
(7)
(a) Failure to file the statement required by this section subjects a person to a civil penalty that may be imposed as specified in ORS 183.745, but the enforcement of this subsection does not require the Oregon Government Standards and Practices Commission to follow the procedures in ORS 244.260 before finding that a violation of this section has occurred.
 
(b) Failure to file the required statement in timely fashion shall be prima facie evidence of a violation of this section.
 
(c) If within five days after the date on which the statement is to be filed under this section the statement has not been received by the commission, the commission shall notify the public official and give the public official not less than 15 days to comply with the requirements of this section. If the public official fails to comply by the date set by the commission, the commission may impose a civil penalty of $5 for each day the statement is late beyond the date fixed by the commission. The maximum penalty that may be accrued under this section is $1,000.
 
(d) A civil penalty imposed under this subsection is in addition to and not in lieu of sanctions that may be imposed under ORS 244.380.