











Preliminary Fee Increase Discussion



Problems Trying To Solve

 OG program expenditures continue to exceed revenues

2021-23 Revenues:	\$756,795
2021-23 Budget:	<u>\$840,827</u>

(\$84,032)

2023-25 Budget:

\$892,892

- OSP Outfitter & Guide Enforcement Contract for 2021-23 and 2023-25 has not changed at \$342,025
- OSP estimating \$501,881 for Current Service Level for 2025-27

Barriers To Fee Changes

- Fee changes requires revisions to statute (legislation)
- Current non-resident Outfitter & Guide fee structure (reciprocity) does not align with interstate commerce laws
- Outfitter & Guide registration is an occupational license
- Difference in nonresident vs resident fees must be validated in showing actual burden (charging more to nonresidents for occupational license)

Reciprocity & Nonresident Fees

• **ORS 704.020(4)(b)**.... distinctions in fees or charges based on the type of outfitter and guide service performed.... apply those same distinctions and require the nonresident applicants to pay the corresponding fees or charges

• Oregon OG Fees:

•	Resident	\$150
•	California	\$652*
•	Washington (Fishing Below Longview Bridge)	\$2,575
٠	Washington (Fishing Above Longview Bridge)	\$1,490
٠	Washington (Fishing Non-Navigable)	\$760
•	Washington (All other services)	\$150
٠	Arizona (Hunting & Fishing)	\$300
٠	Nevada (Hunting & Fishing)	\$250
٠	Nevada (Other services)	\$150
•	Other states not listed (any service)	\$150

Nonresident Reciprocity Equals Budget Majority

2021

- 6.9% (95) guides paid more than \$150
- 44% of total OG income (\$152,869)

2022

- 6.8% (100) guides paid more than \$150
- 44% of total OG income (\$162,458)

2023

- 6.8% (104) guides paid more than \$150
- 42% of total OG income (\$166,195)

Solutions That Overcome Interstate Commerce Barrier

- Oregon Resident and Non-Resident Outfitter Guide registration fee the same amount
- Add fee for Outfitter Guide employees (currently is \$0)
- Non-Resident Hunt Tag Program fee increases for application and renewal and adding per unit certification fee (currently \$0)
- Civil Penalties, double fines (currently \$200 to \$500)
- Marine Board staff are working with the Governor's Office to refine this as a policy option package

Process

- In the past, agencies submitted ideas in the spring and then waited until late summer or early fall to find out whether they were approved
- By working with the Governor's Office throughout the development cycle, we can ensure better alignment with what might be approved to move forward
- The 2025-27 budget biennium will likely be tighter financially than the last few biennia. This will impact how fee bills are viewed for approval
- The Marine Board is aware of this policy option package and has concerns about its viability. They have asked staff to work with GAC and come back in July with more information for them to consider













Guide Advisory

Committee

Website: https://www.oregon.gov/osmb/Pages/GAC.aspx

