Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
Oregon State Police Foundation 2013 Superintendents Salute Award Recipients
August 24, 2013

On Saturday, August 24, 2013, the Oregon State Police Foundation Board of Trustees and Superintendent Richard Evans hosted the 6th Superintendents Salute event at the Evergreen Aviation & Space Museum in McMinnville. Approximately 1800 people attended the event including employees, their families, retirees, and invited guests; making this year the highest attendance for the Superintendents Salute to date.
Following a day of playing in the Wings & Waves Waterpark, touring the gorgeous grounds and museums, playing on the kids’ playground, and enjoying catered meal by Bon Appetit, several awards were presented by Superintendent Evans and Foundation board members.
Oregon State Police Partnership in Service Award: This award recognizes a person, group, or organization that supports, enhances and/or augments the mission, goals and objectives of the Oregon State Police.
Recipient: Kevin Campbell – Oregon Association Chiefs of Police (OACP) Executive Director
The OACP is a partner of the Oregon State Police in promoting the professional development of and information sharing between law enforcement agencies in Oregon. As Executive Director, Kevin is extremely busy attending to the daily operations of the OACP. Despite his busy schedule, Kevin takes the time to assist and support OSP with respect to several issues. He also offers timely advice on legislative matters and has collaborated with the Department on public safety policies. His willingness to assist and collaborate with the Department demonstrates that he is a true partner to the OSP.
Oregon State Police Employee of the Year: This award recognizes one sworn or professional employee who demonstrates exemplary work towards the achievement of their division’s purpose and the Department’s mission.
Recipient: Mariana Ruiz-Temple – Office of State Fire Marshal
Mariana Ruiz-Temple is the Assistant Chief Deputy and Emergency Response Services Branch Director for the Office of State Fire Marshal (OSFM). Mariana is recognized as an integral part of the OSP/OSFM team and is responsible for the effectiveness of the Emergency Response Services Branch including the State Fire Marshals Emergency Response Teams and the Agency Operations Center. These teams respond to HazMat, Urban Search and Rescue and all hazard incidents. Mariana is one of the original founders of OSFM’s Positive Action Committee, promoting a positive work environment for all OSFM employees.
Oregon State Police Foundation Vivian McLain Kirby Award: This award, named after Vivian Kirby, one of the original professional staff employees of the Department, is intended to recognize one employee who serves in a professional staff role.
Recipient: Mariah Rawlins – Office of State Fire Marshal
Mariah Rawlins is responsible for administrative support for 13 Regional Hazardous Materials Response Teams and 3 Incident Management Teams, in all providing administrative support to over 380 firefighters around the state and more than 8 statewide fire committees. Mariah also services on the Incident Management Teams (IMT) as a Resource Unit Leader for the Blue IMT.
Oregon State Police Foundation A. W. “Bill” Sweet Award for Compassion and Caring in Service
Recipient: Trooper Brent Ocheskey – The Dalles Area Command Office / Patrol Services Division
One winter morning, when the weather was a fine 15 degrees, a Greyhound bus became disabled about 4:30 a.m. with no power or heat along Interstate 84. Trooper Ocheskey arrived about two hours later to find a bus full of angry passengers, including an infant. The spare bus that was headed to pick up the passengers broke down and it was going to be several hours before another bus could get to the scene. The only trooper on duty at the time in that area, Trooper Ocheskey calmed the bus occupants, listened to their concerns, and made a food snack run (including infant formula) for the stranded passengers. He stayed with the stranded passengers for 4 hours until another bus arrived and transferred the passengers.
Oregon State Police Foundation Gerry Frank Employee of the Year
Recipient: Sergeant Chris Ashenfelter – Springfield Area Command Office / Fish & Wildlife Division
During the last two years of his career, Sergeant Ashenfelter was a driving force as the Department swiftly moved to implementing a much-needed new Records Management System. Sergeant Ashenfelter was identified as taking a lead role in the system’s development, becoming deeply involved in dealing with how the system would work for our employees and with developing policies, procedures, and forms. He devoted many hours, on and off duty, learning about the system, working directly with the vendor and other Department staff involved with the project. He was the lead trainer for over 2 months as the Department helped employees move into using the new Records Management System. As the new system began working, he is often looked at by troopers and supervisors as the ‘go-to guy’ to answer questions and troubleshoot problems.
Superintendent’s Special Recognition Award
Recipients: The Integrated Business Operations and Technology Transformation (IBOTT) Team (employees recognized at the Salute for this award was Ann Andrews, Information Technology Section Manager; Patricia Bauer, LERMS System Administrator; Becki David, Central Records Division Manager; Albert Gauthier, Chief Information Officer; Lieutenant Gregg Hastings; Public Information Officer; Jerry Martin; Information Technology Section; Marti Russell; Information Technology Section; Randy Whitehouse, Computer Services Section Manager; and, Captain Tom Worthy, Information Technology Implementation Division.
The IBOTT Program was the Department’s initiative to implement new and upgraded technologies to enhance the effectiveness of its operations. The key pieces of technology implemented during the IBOTT Program included a new Records Management System (RMS), Computer-Aided Dispatch (CAD) system, and Mobile Data Terminals (MDT). These are top-of-the-line technology systems that impact everyone on the Department. In addition to their regular duties, the involved employees served on the Integrated Coordination Group (ICG) which was responsible for coordinating the technical developments, training, business processes, and operations of the Department in order to successfully adopt the myriad of new technologies rolled out under IBOTT. Without the work of many employees and the ICG, successfully integrating these technologies with existing process would have been impossible.
The ICG efforts were so successful that the Department received the Gold Chief Information Officer Award in 2012 from the State of Oregon, and was recognized as the second place winner in the National Association of State Chief Information Officers competition.