Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
News
OSP Troopers Report Over 50 DUII Arrests During New Year's Eve
01/01/2009
Lieutenant Gregg Hastings
Public Information Officer
Office: (503) 731-3020 ext. 247

 Preliminary reporting of DUII arrests by Oregon State Police shows troopers arrested 52 DUII drivers December 31st through 8:00 a.m., January 1st. Troopers reported 81 DUII arrests during last year's 78-hour official reporting period. Updated holiday-related fatal traffic crash, DUII arrests, and other enforcement related statistics over this year's 102-hour national reporting period will be provided by Monday afternoon, January 5th.

 
OSP, county sheriff departments, city police agencies and ODOT continue to stress to drive safely and not impaired during the extended New Year's holiday weekend running through 11:59 p.m., Sunday, January 4th. During last year's 78-hour New Year's holiday period, four people died in four separate traffic crashes on Oregon roads. An average of more than five fatalities has happened each year over this holiday period during the last ten years. Troopers did not investigate any fatal traffic crashes over New Year's Eve night.

 
A NHTSA national study released last year showed the daily death toll from impaired driving crashes during the Christmas and New Year's holiday periods is significantly more than for the rest of the year. The report showed from 2001 - 2005, an average of 36 fatalities occurred per day on America's roadways as a result of crashes involving an alcohol-impaired driver. That number increased to 45 per day during the Christmas period and to 54 per day over the New Year's holiday.

 
Oregon law enforcement agencies and ODOT urge holiday travelers to remember these tips:
  • Don't drink and drive ("Buzzed driving is drunk driving"), and don't ride with anyone who has had too much to drink.
  • Never use illegal drugs.
  • Volunteer to be a designated driver.
  • If someone who's been drinking insists on driving, take his/her keys.
  • If hosting a gathering, provide non-alcoholic beverages.
  • Use public transit or local drive-home services provided by taxis and other companies.
  • Always use safety restraints.
  • Avoid travel after midnight, especially on weekends or holidays.
  • Drive defensively at all times.
  • Report any suspected impaired driving by calling 1-800-24DRUNK (800-243-7865) or
          9-1-1.

 
Oregon public safety responders ask everyone to think of the safety of emergency responders working everyday and to remember we have a "Move Over Law." It states if you are driving up behind any type of police car or emergency vehicle pulled over on the roadside with emergency lights flashing, you must:
  • Move over into another lane.
  • If you can't safely change lanes, slow down.
  • In all cases, the driver must try to provide as much room as possible for the emergency vehicle.
 
Road and weather condition are changing, sometimes without little warning, so keep up on current information at ODOT's website www.TripCheck.com.  TripCheck is a one-stop shop for information on traveling in Oregon, with the latest conditions via road cameras, continuous winter travel updates, year-round highway construction details, and other valuable tips to get you to and from your favorite places in Oregon via air, bus, rail, or ride share.