Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image
News
OSP Reports 1st Month Enforcement Effort for Cell Phone Law Violations
02/05/2010
Lieutenant Gregg Hastings
Public Information Officer
(503) 731-3020 ext. 247

Photograph link valid for 30 days - Source: Oregon State Police
http://www.flashalertnewswire.net/images/news/2010-02/1002/CellPhoneLaw.Message.JPG
 
During the first month of enforcing Oregon's new cell phone law banning most uses of mobile communication devices while driving a motor vehicle, Oregon State Police (OSP) troopers statewide reported citing 41 drivers and warning over 250 others.
 
Effective January 1, 2010, with some exceptions, it is unlawful in Oregon for a driver to use a cell phone without using a hands-free accessory while operating a motor vehicle. Violation of the cell phone law is a primary offense, meaning that a police officer may stop a driver solely for observing the violation, is a class D traffic violation with a minimum base fine of $142.
 
Additional information about this law is available on our website at:
 
http://www.oregon.gov/OSP/docs/OSP_Cell_law.pdf